We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but canteen food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Mirage Marrakech
Ranked #373 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel but canteen food.”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed here on a 4 night city break and the location is very good. It is an easy walk to the centre ( about 30 minutes at a steady pace) and the open top bus stops right outside the hotel.
We had no problems at reception and found the staff to be friendly and helpful and we were in our room at 12 although check-in wasn't officially until 3pm.

All the staff were polite and friendly and a tip to the bar staff ensured an endless supply of olives, pistachios and other snacks.

We were on half board basis and the breakfast was very good really for the price - fresh bread and pastries, freshly cooked omelettes and eggs etc and we only had 1 or 2 people at most in the queue for this.

Dinner was not so good as it was very much a canteen buffet style with little choice and as people kept leaving the lids off the containers, it wasn't very warm either. There was the inevitable tagine dish with a fish dish and one other main and a few vegetables to choose from.However, there was a reasonable salad counter and desserts were fair.

The room was large and spacious and extremely clean.

The pool area was clean and spacious and sunbeds readily available. Pool towels were free with no deposit required and very nice quality.

There is a small local shop around the corner which was well stocked and very cheap and we had no problems taking small bottles of water and snacks in handbags back into the hotel although there are clear notices saying you can't do this!

Overall it was good value for money and if we were to return to Marrakech I would stay here again but on a B & B basis and eat out.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frecklebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    167
    127
    49
    60
See reviews for
94
218
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Hotel reception service very poor with attitude. Staff could benefit from basic etiquite training and customer service.

Rooms very old and tired; furnished to a very low standard. Reception staff not bothered about issues as seemingly not trained to undertake any customer service activities.

Cleaning staff friendly but difficult job for them as rooms not furnished well.

Overall, below average hotel.... pay that little extra and find something better....

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ac1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We had arrived here on 24th oct 2012 at around 11.00, our check in time was 16.00 but they still let us go to our room once we had filled out the checking in form. Some of the staff were friendly, but some were more interseted in flirting with other staff!! The hotel itself is very nice, loads of open spaces and the food was very good and a good selection of food to choose from. The hotel room was clean and tidy and very spacious with two double beds. Out and about, it was very close to the Menara gardens, which was dissapointing to walk round, not much there!! The main market square Jemma El Fina was about a mile away, but a short taxi ride for a cost of 50 Dirhams £3.75 was a good choice of transport. Just as you come through the front door to the right is a desk where you can book up excursions, which we did ie Quad bike, Camel trip, 4x4 to the Atlas mountings and a tour around the market, all good value for money. Our experience at this hotel was excellent and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed 7 nights from 23 - 30 Sept 2012.
At check-in my booking could not be "found". After 5 hours, managed to check in by providing a credit card. Phone call next day (Monday) to my tour operator solved problem.
Rooms large and cleaned on a daily basis. Towels also changed on a daily basis. (A small gratuity for the cleaning staff appears to be much appreciated - on a daily basis.)
Breakfast and evening meal were fine.
Pool was great, plenty of towels and deck chairs.
Staff were friendly and polite. The ladies at reception could be a little more motivated!
All in all for the price I paid, very good value for money.
ps. I used the bus to go in to town - a 20 minute walk or 35 cent bus ride!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daillyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We spent a very memorable four nights' half board at this hotel last year in May 2011. On arrival in the evening we were given the keys to a room which we initially could not find due to the size of this hotel. When we eventually found the corridor on which our room was located we had to use a torch as the lights in the corridor were not working. Our allocated room was on the ground floor so we went into the room and phoned reception to ask for another room on a higher level. After about half an hour a member of staff arrived and took us to a room on the third floor. The room itself was clean and there was a balcony overlooking a swimming pool and restaurant. We had a small fridge, kettle, coffee, tea and milk sachets. Every evening we heard music coming from the entertainment area and it was quite loud but we were in a room directly facing the pool area so this was to be expected. We did not use the pool area or the evening entertainment.

In the morning we made our way to the breakfast area. It was about a five minute walk from our room. When we eventually arrived at the breakfast area we were surprised to see small birds (similar to sparrows), flying in and out of the breakfast room. The staff seemed to be oblivious to these small birds who were perched on the tables, running around on the floor and to our horror landing on the food plates and picking what they liked from each plate. Needless to say we used the inner breakfast area the next day as the birds only accessed the area nearest to the main entrance. Breakfast selection was quite wide ranging and also offered omelettes with fillings of your choice. Fresh fruit and dates were also on offer with Morrocan mint tea an added extra.

The evening meal selection was again quite wide ranging with couscous, lamb tagine and chips, pizza and omelette for anyone not happy with Moroccan food choices. All desserts offered had a very high sugar content but again fresh fruit was available.

Generally the service was not of a very high standard as the majority of the waitresses could not even speak English so we felt that they were only there to clear away the tables,

Overall it was a pleasant stay and good value for money but we wouldn't choose to stay there again. The hotel is in quite a good location and fifteen minutes away from the airport on a local bus so if you are not too fussed about service and having a few birds eating breakfast with you then I'm sure you will enjoy your stay there. I would recommend this hotel for a family who are on a tight budget.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the poolside would be a better option for a family with young children or an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aishasohna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I stayed at the Albatros Hotel for 3 nights 20Sep2012 - 23Sep2012 on a holiday with some friends.

The good points of this Hotel:
- It's a large property with lovely swimming pool (smaller pool at the back) with plenty of deck-chairs to go around.
- The restuarant is good for breakfast, so-so for lunch.
- The rooms are very large with balconies and clean and spacious.

The not so good points:
-Service at the Hotel is terrible. It took 1 hour just to check-in. The staff seem to be doing 10 things at once and not achieving any of them very well
- On the last two days of the trip they decided to close the pool for maintenance with no warning whatsoever.
Luckily there was another pool at the back which we could use but was much smaller and very busy. We had to move deck chairs from the front of the hotel to the back
- towels are not always readily available, always seem to be with laundry. if you get one. Keep hold of it.
- Evening dinner very average indeed.
- Room safe was not working. I had to wait more than 1 hour for someone to take a look. It took 3 guys to come and fix the problem (change the battery)

This hotel has the potential of being a top-class hotel if they just addressed these items.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Just came back after 5 night stay in this hotel in September 2012. Its location is very convenient and it is easliy accessible from the airport- just 4 km- though taxi drivers at Airport started asking for 20 Euros ( 200 dirhams) but thanks to tripadvisor reviews- we managed to get taxi to the hotel in 50 dirhams.

Check in was swift after filling the necessary forms, though we were sent to the rooms with the door keys and we had to find our own way to the rooms in that big hotel ( a complex of four hotels). The safe in the room was initially locked, but they sent someone pretty quickly to get that fixed.
Room was big and spacious with balcony. It had seperate toilet and bathroom. Everything was cleaned on daily basis and towels were changed.
All staff were friendly and polite ( other than guys at security)
Pool area was great. Lots of sun beds and free towels were provided. Although the music being played was repetitive and definately needs to be changed.
Good environment for famillies and couples.
It had good selection of the breakfats and dinner food. Particularly tasty were freshly made omelletes and pancakes ( parathas).

The minuses were:
1: The hotel needs to behave bit more as a five star hotel as we were harrassed by the security person for bringning in the bottled water from outside. I have travelled to almost all of the world but have not seen such behaviour in any hotel from 3 to 5 star range.
2: There were daily queues at the pancake counter for breakfast. They clearly need more staff on that counter.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingCoupleUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#394 of 499 in Marrakech
398 reviews
11.7 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
#134 of 499 in Marrakech
2,580 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#241 of 499 in Marrakech
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#147 of 499 in Marrakech
1,589 reviews
0.5 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
5.5 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mirage Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mirage Marrakech

Property: Royal Mirage Marrakech
Address: Avenue de la Menara, B.P 528, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#176 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#204 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Mirage Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 677
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Mirage Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Garden Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Royal Mirage
Royal Mirage Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing