We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Albatros I was harsh - A revision”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Mirage Marrakech
Ranked #362 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Albatros I was harsh - A revision”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

two days ago I issued a blistering attack on this hotel after a series of bad experiences in as many days had left me stinking mad and in need of sounding off. The moral of the tale to sleep on it! Well I have and if it is of interest to anyone out there here goes;
The hotel is well located within walking distance of the centre of this great city. It is large and has most facilities that the traveller might want. The majority of the staff try to do their job well and with a smile. Some think that they would have a good job if it was not for the residents. I think the management structures do not provide good training and motivation. The reception areas are reasonably grand as are the bars. The rooms are clean enough but very tired. The entire establishment requires refurbishment. The restaurant that we half boarders have no choice other than to use is like a school canteen. the food is extremely poor in quality, choice and very often temperature. The place may once have been 5 star and even giving scope for international variations is no longer anywhere near that standard. If your tour operator sells it as such they are being "creative". As a base for exploring fantastic Morrocco this place is OK. If it is your place for relaxation and not much else it would be a poor choice, given what else is available here. Marrakesh is a fantastic place and if you are thinking about it you should come here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenahamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    167
    126
    49
    60
See reviews for
94
217
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I was sold this hotel by a uk operator as "a favourite 5star luxury hotel". Irony or dishonesty is alive and well. It may once have been grand, but now it is desperately under capitalised. The staff are appalling as is the management. The food is simply disgusting and inedible. DO NOT COME HERE. There are fabulous hotels elsewhere in Marrakesh. I have never complained before in 50 years of foreign travel. So sad

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, pleasant reception, early access to our room. Nice clean room and the chamber maids kept it that way all week.
Probably not international five star standard, but perhaps tourist five star!
Some staff very nice and friendly balanced with a few who gave the impression that guests were a nuisance.
Catering in general is mediocre to poor, staying on a half board basis, breakfast was acceptable with a nice fruit selection, bread and pastries, but one type of meat and cheese. Sausage, tomatoes, aubergines, potato croquettes, and soup, with omelettes and Moroccan pancakes freshly cooked, but on a festival weekend, the breakfast facilities were completely overwhelmed, with a fifteen minute wait for freshly cooked food and other food all gone before the end of the sitting.
Mint tea and 'coffee' was available, but expresso coffee or water is not included and is charged for.
Dinner in the evening we found to be bland and quite disappointing, each evening we went down hoping that there would be something tasty, but despite Morocco being famed for it's spice market, these kitchens did not seem to have visited them. No drink is included in the dinner package and tea, coffee, water and alcoholic beverages are all extra.

There is a strict no food or drinks to be bought into the hotel from outside policy, which is overcome by taking a rucksack with you and putting your drink etc. from outside in that, that seems to get you through security, but if they detect or see anything, you are challenged and the product confiscated. One would not mind the ban too much if the price of water etc. in the hotel was not so expensive; a 1.5l bottle of water just around the corner will cost you 6.00 Dirhams, but the hotel charges 25.00 dirhams, an excessive mark-up we think?

We would like to see a complimentary bottle of water per room per day, with tea and coffee making facilities in the room, this would go some way to alleviating the problem, something that annoyed us continuously, especially as we did not have a rucksack with us to smuggle water in!

Pool staff were very nice and conscientious, keeping the pool clean and always there with towels and a smile.

Spa was brilliant, free use of the gym and a deal on the Hamman and massages, which were amazing, with really friendly staff.

We would like to come back, but when compared to an all inclusive holiday that includes all drinks, this hotel then becomes quite expensive, we do not consider ourselves heavy drinkers, but still were faced with a large bill for all our alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. The half board or full board package then seems less attractive.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2012

A little late in writing a review as visited the hotel September 2011 for 5 Nights.

My girlfriend and I love marrakech and believe it to be one of the best city breaks we have been on.
The hotel is basic, we had a room overlooking the pool which was fine with good air-con and cleaned on a regular basis. We were slightly unfortunate in that there was a large group of french lads playing some questionable 'hip-hop' a lot of the time.

Our only criticism is the price of drinks in the Hotel (we weren't all inclusive). As this is a Muslim country you can't exactly pop down to the local Tesco to pick up a crate. We did however make a trip to the local supermarket and get bottles of water/cans of coke for around 3p each as apposed to £3/£5 in the hotel...I'd suggest doing this.

The breakfast which was included was very basic but it supplied us with fresh omelettes every morning which was sufficient.

Before we visited the hotel we were apprehensive due to the large amounts of negative reviews but this is a budget hotel and should be thought of as that. If you want 5 star service then stay at the Sofitel for £200 a night.

I would stay here again, definitely, It is a good location for the restaurants and the centre and only a short drive from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaughanTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Rooms : We stayed in room 2075! The staff at reception didn't inform us that this room was just above were the entertainment was, that run from 7pm - midnight EVERYDAY! We complained and they told us to close the door. That wasn't use at all. Rooms could do with a update. Bathroom had cracks in the titles and the cracks in all the walls. Beds were ok.

Food: Same menu everyday for breakfast! They don't cover the food either , so you have a hundreds of flies around the food which is off putting. Nice restaurant around the corner from the hotel.

Location: Around 15 minutes from the airport and 25 minute walk from the markets. Loads of Taxi's outside the hotel.

Staff : Staff speak limited English and expected a tip for everything. If you didn't give them a tip, they blank you the next day. Mohammed that worked in the bar by the pool is really nice tho. He tries to speak English and always smiles . We ended up giving him all all the money we had left over on our last day.

Spa: Good. Very reasonably priced and very relaxing.


Conclusion : No way is this a 4* hotel. I have stayed in better 2* hotels when I was traveling in Italy. Staff are unhelpful. I would not recommend this hotel to friends or family and i believe you would get better value for your money else were.

Room Tip: Room away from the pool / Spa area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbowattson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

my husband and I stayed at the albatros garden for three nights this october, and despite reading some negative reviews, we must say that we had no complaints whatsoever. The hotel is impressive, beautiful reception area, dining areas and swimming pools, the room that we had was somewhat dated, but all that we required. We were also on a very good deal money wise so this had to be taken into consideration ( easyjet holidays) - the staff could not have been nicer, the breakfast unbelievable choice, and dinner likewise (all buffet style) - room service was excellent. Hotel is just outside of the main area, we took taxis everywhere - the traffic is manic! Overall a wonderful experience we would go again.

Room Tip: pay a bit more - we were on the basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We went to this hotel last week and must say the reception is very impressive. Downfall is they do not understand english, their main language is french!!! We had to ask ren times for an iron and gave up as they just did not understand. We were given a crap room so i complained and was told to speak to a lady called zaynab at the public relations desk she was extremly helpful and gave us a much better room. She also arranged our excursions and gave us an insight of Marrakech. We did half board and the food was always cold and same and horrible. Flies were ditting all over the food and was not very nice! Location wise very good not far from the tombs, atlas mountains and the square. Had a great holiday beautiful country and was very hot 36 degrees. Remember to bargain when buying something as it us always 3 times cheaper than the price they quote. I would recomend going to atlas mountains and also quad biking they were amazing!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mina154995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#435 of 494 in Marrakech
379 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
11.7 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club
#140 of 494 in Marrakech
2,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#104 of 494 in Marrakech
4,651 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
0.1 mi away
Savoy le Grand Hotel Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mirage Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mirage Marrakech

Property: Royal Mirage Marrakech
Address: Avenue de la Menara, B.P 528, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#202 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Mirage Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 677
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Mirage Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Garden Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Royal Mirage
Royal Mirage Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing