We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Mirage Marrakech - Not a 5 star, niot a 4, maybe 3”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Mirage Marrakech
Ranked #380 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 17 November 2010

I'd have to agree with London Princess for the comment "When coming out of the lifts we noticed the carpets in the corridors were quite dirty with old stains and there was a tray with dirty plates around one of the corners". I think the same plates were still there when we got there.\

We booked this because it was close to the center of the action, and okay price ($125USD with breakfast for two), and used to be a Sheraton. It was clean and recently painted, but old fixtures and well worn - semed like a 60's hotel. Staff friendly and helpful.

Breakfast extensive.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oscarwhiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
There are newer reviews for Royal Mirage Marrakech
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2010

Our room was large, airy and clean. Reception areas and restaurants were clean and tidy ,although the carpets in the accomodation blocks were covered with disgusting grease like stains. Food was good , most staff were friendly .Pool area was large & clean but sadly the pool bar only had 1 CD which played constantly and sometimes far too loud and that week was the week they decided to replace some tiling round the pool . If you dont speak French then goodluck !! Certainly not 5 star in appearance - The Meridein Nfis is far better in quality and wish we had gone back there (and its across the road) - but only 5 - 10 mins from airport .

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bennynorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We arrived at the Royal Mirage after leaving an awful Riad we had booked first (obviously not knowing how awful it was!). In comparison to that this hotel was heaven! Beautiful lobby and very helpful staff at reception. Our room was in the Al Kasr building and we walked through a lovely pool area to get there. There is also a little pool for children.

When coming out of the lifts we noticed the carpets in the corridors were quite dirty with old stains and there was a tray with dirty plates around one of the corners but we couldn't care as we were in a normal hotel and out of the Riad.

The room was facing the back of the hotel so the view wasn't great but there was a nice breeze. We had twin double beds which were a nice size with clean sheets. The lighting in the room was quite dim at night (and one of the lamps above the bed fell off when i tried to move it!).

Breakfast was nice with lots of hot and cold selection. There were flies in the dining room which was a bit off putting but in Marrakech it is a bit difficult to find somewhere with no flies! We also had the buffet dinner one night which was mainly continental fool and sub-standard.

I've stayed in five star hotels where they have irons and ironing boards in the room but the Royal Mirage didn't even have one to loan which was a pain as i couldn't wear some of my clothes then!

There are some shops but as expected they are quite pricy in comparison to the markets.

I would highly recommend you book the day trip to the Atlas Mountains. it was most definitly the highlight of our trip.

We tried a couple of restaurants near the hotel which were really nice. Can't remember the names but if you come outside the hotel and turn left then the Le Meridian is in front of you. Cross the road and walk down past the Le Meridian with the Royal Mirage on your left. After crossing a road you will eventually come across three restaurants. The first one offers a big range of food from local Moroccan to Italian. I had a gorgeous Chicken Tagine with olives and lemon. Next door is a Moroccan restaurant which also has belly dancing. Over here i had chicken with cous cous which was reall bad (other people were not finishing their meals either!). However the show was good so you might want to eat next door first and then come over for the dance!

Don't book this hotel expecting a plush, luxurious 5 star establishment. However it is a good base to explore the city (you can see the Katoubia Mosque from outside the hotel and the tour bus also stops outside) and the air conditioning is worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonPrincess8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We arrived at the hotel bright and early and looking forward to a four night stay. When we got to our room, however, we were disgusted. It was shabby, unsafe and reminded us of a prison camp.

We went to Reception and complained and they explained that because we had booked through a low cost travel agent we had been given one of the inferior rooms. Had we booked directly, we would have been given what they describe as a five star room. If we wanted to upgrade it would be an extra 250 euros. At this point I asked them to call my rep as I was going to take the matter further.

The receptionist then said she was joking and i was upgraded for nothing.

I would recommend that anyone else tries this as the upgraded rooms are fine and we ended up having a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Midostouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank G7840VNdanielaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Manuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#372 of 501 in Marrakech
411 reviews
11.5 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Marrakech
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Marrakech
#134 of 501 in Marrakech
2,662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#245 of 501 in Marrakech
2,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#179 of 501 in Marrakech
549 reviews
0.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mansour Eddahbi & Palais des Congres Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mirage Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mirage Marrakech

Address: Avenue de la Menara, B.P 528, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#179 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#206 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £96 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Mirage Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 677
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Mirage Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Garden Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Royal Mirage
Royal Mirage Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing