We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really don't understand the bad reviews..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Mirage Marrakech
Ranked #386 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 13 March 2011

I really don't understand the bad reviews that this hotel has been given, after checking them regularly my boyfriend and I arrived earlier this week extremely wary, but the hotel is absolutely beautiful. You won't find anywhere as elegant in England, and considering the bargain price of our trip we felt like we'd got 100 times more than we paid for.

The main reception buildings surrounding the pool look like a Moroccon palace inside, gorgeous chandeliers and marbled walls and floors, luxurious furniture where you can relax for hours making use of the wi-fi.. different bars to enjoy a drink and watch the football when it's drizzling outside or you just want sanctuary from the hassled streets out Marrakech.
Outside there are orange and lemon trees in well tended gardens surrounding the pool outside your balcony, which were worked on daily, but quietly almost every morning of our visit - which was never a problem because it was nice to see how well the staff looked after the hotel and took pride in it's appearance.

The morning breakfast is divine, an all you can eat style buffet setting with every morning food to suit everyone's tastes: toast, croissants, pain au chocolat, cereals, porridge, fresh fruit, yoghurts, ham and cheese, potato croquets, french toast, beans, boiled eggs, and the freshly made in front of you crepes and omlettes are to die for.
The evening meals were less impressive, the lasagne on our first night after arriving was rather tasteless, and the set menu of another restaurant wasn't as impressive as imagined, especially for the price paid, but to be fair to the hotel, for the amount you can eat at breakfast, they probably need to make their money back somehow.

Across the road directly from the entrance there is a lovely father and son with some very friendly camels, and as they are not in the centre of everything surrounded by tourists in the heart of the town, they don't charge you a ridiculous amount for a lovely ride on their adorable camels. We found them a lifesaver for getting our cliché 'when in Marrakech' camel ride done without having to enter the chaotic town or be driven a distance by a petit taxi so that their friend can make some money off you. They were lovely chaps, and made our day with their friendliness and genuine love for their adorable camels. :]

All in all, I really, genuinely cannot understand the bad reviews whatsoever. It is a beautiful, beautiful hotel with divine settings and staff that are always waiting to serve you - in fact for this time of year I imagine they have more staff than required, but they are all friendly and do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable.

(Photos from our trip have been included, check them out :])

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jobykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2011

We stayed for 7 nights last week (Feb/Mar 2011). The reception areas were very posh but the rooms were a little tired. We did have access to multiple TV channels including BBC World news and Fox Movies. There was a free safe in the room and a fridge to store our beer and water.
The two pools were very nice albeit a bit cold for our liking! There was free wireless in the new block and in the reception areas. Breakfast choice was good incluing an omlet and pancake station (made to order), hot food, fruits, cerials, drinks, toad, rolls and pastries and even soup! The taxi ride was between 10 and 20 MAD to or from the centre if you caught it from the road outside (£0.75 to£1.50). The bus 11 and 18 go to the centre and the airport from outside for just 3.5 MAD a person (£0.30) but you may have to wait 15 minutes or more. Taxis are plentiful as the road runfrom the airport to the centre.Walking to the centre is around 2.25km and takes around 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kestel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

It was a nice and quite hotel. Just 15 mins walk from the airport and the djemaa el fna. It is very well presented, with loads of facilities on offer.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBESHAAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We booked the Royal Mirage despite some of the reviews on this website and we were glad we did.

Admittedly we got very cheap rates and it might have been a different experience if we were paying full rack rate and expecting comensurate value.

There are two great (but cold) pools, several restaurants (although a couple were closed), beautiful bars and foyers, and friendly helpful staff. It's just a short, safe walk to the old city.

We had the hotel organise us into a couple of tours. The trip to the Atlas mountains/waterfalls and the Quad biking trips were amazing but another trip to Ouarzazate was not as good as promised. Included breakfasts were great with cereal, toast, fruit, pastries, omelettes and other hot morroccan style food. We can definitely recommend the morroccan restaurant in the hotel.

All in all a fun, easy and relaxed holiday to Marrakech.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mp6283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We stayed at the Royal Mirage for 3 nights, and felt we got fantastic value for first class accommodation. The hotel is clean, staff very welcoming and we were well looked after. Breakfasts are excellent - something for everyone - we recommend the freshly made pancakes! The red open-top tour bus has a stop right outside the hotel, which was great.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorna004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

The Royal Mirage is four large buildings built around a beautiful swimming pool. Our room was clean; the shower was great and the beds really comfortable (we had two double beds). We were not bothered at all that the mini bar was not chilling but we would rather have had a working wardrobe safe. The public areas of the hotel are large and beautifully appointed. We were really comfortable. Breakfast was superb for 6 days and then on the day we were leaving they switched breakfast to another area and everything went pear shaped - no idea why. The hotel Moroccan restaurant is superb for an evening meal. All different nationalities were staying when we were there so it was really exciting - staff were really, really polite and courteous at all times. Beware of dapper men approaching you outside the hotel pretending to work there and suggesting they take you to a fine restaurant. Fraudsters. Watch out for the "sleeper tax" - we were charged about 30 quid at check out but the hotel was so reasonably priced we didn't really mind. Oh lastly, I got stuck in a lift and the engineer was there in 10 minutes - a fantastic response !!! A few twists and turns but great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenny22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We booked this hotel on last minute.com. And i did not check the comments on here, but when i did check i was worried, as we were staying for seven nights. We arrived walked out of airport and got on the No.19 bus, driver very helpful stopped the bus outside hotel, only took ten minutes to get there. We were welcomed by the security guard on the front gate with a big smile. Luggage porter took our luggage while we checked in, which was very fast and friendly. Taken straight to room on third floor which was very large clean two double beds, large bathroom, balcony. Everything was perfect. We ate in the hotels restaurant on first night and it is a buffet, good value 200 dihrams, plenty of choice, and good introduction to morroco.
Next was to go to breakfast, so after hearing the bad comments we were worried, but did not need too be. Everything was great, and eating plenty was not a problem, watching all the different nationalities was an eye opener. If you are rude then why would you expect the staff to be over nice to you. I can honestly say the staff were great smiling and if you smile back and try and speak french to them, they will answer you back in english with a laugh. ( dont blame them with my french).
The hotel is a twenty minute walk on a straight road to the main square, we found it safe to walk and it was relaxing after the square.
Lastly, if you are wanting a five star hotel like in London, then pay three times more and you will get it. The birds that get into the breakfast room are let in mainly by guests leaving the doors open when coming in through the side doors by the pool, if you dont sit by the window then you will not be bothered.
Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bamford75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#415 of 500 in Marrakech
431 reviews
0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#192 of 500 in Marrakech
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
11.5 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Marrakech
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Marrakech
#126 of 500 in Marrakech
2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mirage Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mirage Marrakech

Address: Avenue de la Menara, B.P 528, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#205 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £107 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Mirage Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 677
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Mirage Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Garden Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Royal Mirage
Royal Mirage Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing