We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare in Marrakech”
Review of Grand Hotel Tazi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Tazi
Ranked #479 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Place recomended by friendly local claiming to be employee of our hotel, Awful food but attitude of staff even worse, Were not allowed wine without ordering food first; and even asked to place order while friend in dirty toilet! Food was very poor quality qnd tiny portions, Desert consisted of 5 pieces of fruit unwashed and unpeeled: Tip of 10% was demanded and very hostile attitude when we asked for our change, We felt bullied and intimidated by male staff, Avoid this place!!
!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erika e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

The bar in the Tazi is a Marrakech institution and a long standing stop off point for a cold beer or two on a hot day. The bar is busy with Moroccan guys drinking beer and watching sport on the TV while the couches in reception are a more comfortable area to sit (especially perhaps for women). The waiters are that fantastic, apparently surly type but once you've caught their attention with a smile they are as helpful as could be asked for. It's a small slice of real life Marrakech tradition and if all you want is to sit and rest for a while with a cool drink it's great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shimmin2robertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

There are not that many places to have a beer a Marrakech, and spotted this place in one of my travel books. It’s a really weird awful place and looks as though its come through a civil war. I certainly wouldn’t recommend staying in the hotel, as when I went to the loo which is up stairs some of the corridors looked derelict, and there appeared to be a cat living in the toilet but if you want to brave it and see another side of life then have a drink there just for the experience, but certainly do not go on your own. Really strange goings on, constant stream of men arriving with carrier bags at the reception and disappearing up the stairs for about 30 minutes and then reappearing, I don’t think they were bringing their laundry in to be washed! The guy that comes round and takes your drinks order looked like lurch out of the Adams family, he had a suit and tie on that looked as though it had never been dry cleaned in 50 years.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaine&ivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

What an absolute dump! The rooms are alive with crawlies and are damp. Breakfast is the worst breakfast I have ever seen.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel - you will regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReubenCamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Take note of the overall rating on here it is true. The food is bad and expensive for what you have. You will also get tricked into paying the mandatory 10% tip even though I refused he did not give my change back. WATCHOUT: I to got directed here by a 'friendly' citizen whom claimed to be from my hotel. This is a local scam so be careful. People saying they work at your hotel then take you on a tour and eventually deliver you to this poor eatery. Say no and look for somewhere better and friendlier.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jdassociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Omg! Awful, rude, incredibly expensive, oh and they pretend that they don't speak English, so that when you challenge them they raise their voice in Arabic!
First time in all our years of World travel we have ever been caught out!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peaches032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I've been all around the world and stayed in many dumps (including hostels with garbage bag window blinds, carpets of shaved hair and decorated with educational posters about the dangers of rat feces and the spread of hanta virus), but Hotel Tazi still stands out as a memorably wretched and humourously seedy establishment!

the hotel has two things going for it: central and swimming pool. The lobby looks like a seedy scene from a Graeme Green novel, so I'll give it a third of a poitn for atmosphere.

The balcony door to our room wouldn't close, and had no window in it anyway, so not the most secure. The bathroom lights didn't work (we wore headlamps) and there was one towel to share for our three person room. When I asked for more towels, one of the staff, after significant prodding, one of the staff grudgingly brought me to another room, which had recently been/was clearly still in use, snatched used towels off the beds, folded them, and handed them to me. They were not too stained (not so with the bedsheets), so we were happy.

The place is literally falling apart, with 2/3 of the rooms in various stages of collapse and endless rennovations.

Stay at a riad instead -- far better value for money, atmospheric (in a good way) and you're less likely to catch a communicable disease than at Hotel Tazi.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phlatfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#423 of 499 in Marrakech
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#218 of 499 in Marrakech
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#334 of 499 in Marrakech
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#179 of 499 in Marrakech
373 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Marrakech Centre Gare
Ibis Marrakech Centre Gare
#314 of 499 in Marrakech
985 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#357 of 499 in Marrakech
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tazi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tazi

Address: Avenue El Mouahidines / Bab Agnaou, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #479 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £36 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel Tazi 2*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Tazi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing