We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“low standards, but 10/10 for entertainment value! We really enjoyed it!”
Review of Grand Hotel Tazi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Tazi
Ranked #481 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Our first night in Marrakesh was marked by being ripped off at the beautiful Salma restaurant. Determined not to be done again, we decided to play it safe and go for a pedestrian tourist meal on ' La Grande Place- Jemaa-El-Fna'- knowing full well that it would be alcohol free as all of the restaurants/cafes there are within 400m of a mosque. The plan was to have supper on the square and then repair to the bar at the Tazi for postprandial drinks, However, as with most well laid plans, this was doomed to failure! We were accosted by a guide even before we had a chance to look at a menu- he was passionate about the poor service, low quality and lack of booze that the square had to offer, and despite strenuous attempts to bat him off (in french), he stuck to us like a leech and steered us to the Restaurant at the Grand Hotel Tazi. where we were greeted(?) by an unfriendly waiter, a chain-smoking manager and a horde of very thin cats. The decor was fashionably shabby chic and suspiciously empty! I asked to see the menu-it was a dogged-eared ( yes, there was only the one) and poorly thought out, but there WAS a choice...menus de jour at 150, 185 or 250 DH...the waiter insisted that we wanted the 250DH set menu, we insisted on the 150.. and were punished!! The waiter took our drinks order... brought the 1/2 bottle of wine to the table immediately, then was too busy with a group of French business people, to open our half bottle for the next 15 minutes.!! We then committed a further sin by refusing to accept his recommendation for our meal 'you will have the. 250 DH menu' 'No, you will bring us the 150 menu' which he eventually did; grudgingly. The salads were magnificent..the couscous awful, the mixed grill enjoyable. When he finally deigned to open the wine, it was very nice indeed. Further punishment was exerted in the form of dessert..a plate of over-ripe fruit would be the kindest description...rotting bananas and unwashed grapes is probably more accurate. This was OK because we were so full of salad and kebab that it didn't matter.. and it kept them happy as the platter was untouched, they would probably serve it up to the next customer!!
would I have put up with this level of service in any other city on the planet? The gaff was empty, the decor was charming, and I was so hungry that I could have chewed off my own leg, and to be fair I'd had worst food and service at much greater cost the evening before ( the very posh Salma) AND in Barcelona last month...( and as a complete aside, I am a victim of the gastro-pub revolution that has taken place in the SW of England over the past 20 years.. so maybe my views shouldn't be taken that seriously).
The surreal nature of the evening made me laugh! It was all 'such fun!' in a Kenny Everett/Miranda sort of way.
In a bizarre twist of fate, as we were passing the Tazi the following afternoon on the way back to our Riad, the waiter greeted us like long lost friends...had we over-tipped, or did he appreciate the fact that we took the whole experience on the chin?
I do think that they, (Le Grand Hotel Tazi) are a learning organisation- after our experience we read several reviews on Tripadvisor, including one written a week earlier complaining abut the appalling toilets... when we were there, the loos were spotless.
As an aside, I must say that as a well rounded traveller, I am always prepared for the absolute worst as far as loos are concerned. Every loo I went into in the Medina was spotless and I only had to resort to my stash of loo paper once- this cannot be said of many major cities in southern and eastern Europe.
If you have a sense of humour, the restaurant at the Grand Hotel Tazi is not that bad. I think they are weary, and got left behind when the plethora of great new places opened in Marrakesh. What they need is an injection of enthusiastic clients who will encourage and not condemn, a good band( if they got rid of 3/4 of the tables they could still do a more covers than they do now AND have space for people to have a bit of a bop) and a couple of bloody good stand up comedians to bring the crowds in.
Call us weird, but we loved it and would certainly go back again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Freddy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at the Tazi but had a fun few afternoons/ evenings there quenching our thirst, resting our weary legs after busy morning of haggling and being accosted by the ever helpful locals wishing to lead us to whichever market was there for one day only!
Forgive the low marks just being honest, but still a great place to hang out and have a drink in the smoke filled lobby and watch the comings and goings. Quite hilarious and always something going down. Don't expect five star service but great for people watching. Sit back, soak up the atmosphere, admire the amazing interior.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MissFlissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Me and my wife visited this restaurant for a tanjia as our guide took us here specifically for that Moroccan speciality. However, we wished we researched the tanjia more and found a place ourselves.

We chose the 180 dirham deal which was a three course meal which included the tanjia. The starter of cold mezze of vegetables was nothing special and akin to the food served in the square. The course that did stand out was the pastilla, which was the tastiest we had eaten while in Marrakesh but nothing to shout about. The beef tanjia was tasty, but the cut of meat was poor given the price paid, but at least we got to sample the specialty. The dessert was just fruit, which was a let down as I though it would have been Moroccan patisseries.

The service was polite, unobtrusive, efficient and friendly, but with the restaurant being completely empty the atmosphere was non existent, but they did try to cut the silence with a live musician.

I would not visit this place again if I was in Marrakesh as the food was mediocre and I guess the guide was on the take to recommend the place. All in all, avoid, as you might as well eat in the square for a quarter of the price paid.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AWSL1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We never been to such terrible restaurant EVER in the world.
Our tour guide brought us there, of course because he will get commission from them.
We wanted to order just one set menu to share because we were not so hungry (BTW it cost about 25euro per person) which is very expensive for Marrakech.
Manager declined our order and said we MUST order 2 menu.

In the end we said YES, he brought us food, that is good for one person only.
There are no 2 SET menu for 2 person. complete RIPPED OFF, we tried to complain but get nothing.
The owner dont even bother to talk to us. We try to talk to him but he just ignored us.
Food was BAD, its the same with 50 dirham food that you can get from the square/SOUKS.

The manager behavior was so disgusting- his name is Abdullah.
DO NOT EVER ENTER THIS PLACE, you will be only disappointed.
We dont mind paying a lot for good food.
But this place is JUST a TOURIST TRAP.

We should trust our feeling to get out from that Restaurant from the moment Abdullah forced us to buy 2 MENU Meals.

I hope our left over meals will not be served to another guest!

NEVER EVER EVER GO THERE!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank elzyech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

A complete rip off. Food was appalling. They are moneygrabber. The behaviour of the manager is like a pick pocketer. We lost our appetite for Moroccan food after visiting this place only to be restored when we had a meal in Agadir in a restaurant Le Vendome. I will advise everyone to stay away from this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Syed2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Unless it's the last place on earth to get food.

Our tour guide let us here and the place was dark and somewhat dirty, the bathroom was filthy.

The Moroccan soup was good but it's usually good at any restaurant, it has got to be since it's their own traditional soup. We couldn't get over the cold pastillas, the waiter asked why we didn't eat them so we told him that they were cold inside still (frozen pastillas no doubt) so he brought us two more pastillas saying that he made a mistake of bringing us the wrong pastillas; but the second ones were warm outside and still cold inside:-( This place discouraged us and spoiled our appetite.
They are located at a busy touristy street so perhaps their clients come once but never a second time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank embcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Ended up here with our guide

We ordered a set meal for 180 dirham each first course of soup was lovely

Second Course of pastilla was cold in the middle sent it back got another which was also just as cold in the middle so we left in

Main course was ok but put off by pastilla

Fruit was ok

Then they said the bill instead of being 180 time two ie 360 was 450 including tip, I said we decide tip but no joy so was a wimp paid up and left . Will never be back. If you want a decent tourist place try the Riad Omar.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank barcaranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#423 of 501 in Marrakech
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#324 of 501 in Marrakech
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#212 of 501 in Marrakech
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ibis Marrakech Centre Gare
Ibis Marrakech Centre Gare
#304 of 501 in Marrakech
984 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Palais Al Bahja
Hotel Palais Al Bahja
#291 of 501 in Marrakech
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#196 of 501 in Marrakech
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tazi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tazi

Address: Avenue El Mouahidines / Bab Agnaou, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #481 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £35 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel Tazi 2*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Tazi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing