We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, price and buffet dinner.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ali
Ranked #436 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Brit in Costa Blanca Spain
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, price and buffet dinner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

Stayed 3 nights with group of eight 57-82 yrs. Because of the location we were able to walk back alone at night and feel safe (no walking down dark allys etc) Everyone very happy with the hotel. First floor had just been redeorated. First floor rooms have a central courtyard with tables and sofas. Rooms have windows to front or back of hotel. Some 2nd and 3rd floor rooms have balconys.(no balconys on first floor) all (?) have AC. In winter, dinner and breakfast buffet is served on the ground floor. In summer it is served on the top floor terrace. We booked through http://www.hotelconnect.co.uk/destination/marrakech/hotel/3125?lang=en&whoc=google.co.&fromsearch=false
This gave us half board cheaper than b&b on hotel website. This was my second visit as I had found it very convenient last oct.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank searcher48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    74
    62
    25
    30
See reviews for
29
40
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

Hotel Ali is in a great location right on the square where there is a lot of activity. It is noisy but everything went quiet about 12 so we got a good nights sleep. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and basic. The decor was very Morrocan. The food was soup, rolls, various veg, cous cous, a rice or pasta dish, 2 or 3 different meats, oranges. Breakfast was rolls, boiled eggs, pancakes, jam, honey orange juice, coffee/tea. I enjoyed my stay here. I could have stayed in a 5* hotel but it would not have had the atmosphere. Stafff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EveshamMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

Stayed both ends of our trip, clean friendly and well central. Cheap too!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawnlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aosta, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

The service is fast, the staff polite. You can eat in its great restaurant and the food is very good. Of course you have what you pay, and the rooms are not the best, but they are always clean and quite spacious. The hotel is in a prime location, in the center, just a short walk from the Djemaa el Fna.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

I stay here every time I'm in Marrakesh as the location is one of the best. Right in the heart of all the action and only a short walk away from everything you need. I first stayed here back in 2006 and things have not changed much (in a good way) A few miner upgraded, but its still to be regarded as a basic/ budget hotel. The prices have gone up steadily over the years BUT as with everything in morocco the price IS negotiable. We paid 300 Dirham for 3 people in a room that had 4 single beds. The rooms are basic but cleaned every day and the toilets have great showers with hot water 24-7. Bathroom is private! It can be a bit noisy as you are right in the heart of the Madina and off the famous square. The roof top terrace is a one of the best (highest) as it overlooks the square and gets sun from sunrise to sunset.. Relax with a book and look down on all the hustle and bustle of the square. If you are on a real tight budget you can sleep on the room for a bargain price.. This is much better done in the summer month as winter nights can get cold. Winter is also low season so Hotel Ali will have a lot of empty rooms that you can negotiate a price that suits you both. DO NOT feel bad about asking for a discount.. This is Morocco!! There are lots of hotels in the area and you can easily walk from one to another looking at rooms and asking there best price. Although this can get frustrating as 'guides' will be hassling you every step of the way trying to take you to the "perfect" hotel. Iv had a look at a lot of the hotels in the area and always find Hotel Ali perfect for a base to explore Marrakesh and morocco. FREE FAST WiFi is also available on the ground and first floor. They have a good restaurant (breakfast, lunch & dinner) and breakfast is included in all room prices. Its basic but it fills you up!! In the summer they have a buffet dinner on the roof for a set price and its highly recommended!
Over all this is a fantastic place to stay and a bargain can still be had if you negotiate a price. Even if you don't stay here you can leave you bags at the hotel for 5 dirams for 24hrs (handy if your going on a shorts overnight trip e.g toubkal and don't want to cart all your stuff around with you) and enjoy the free wifi ohhh and they also have two toilets on the roof, so if your in the square and in need of a clean toilet then trek up the set of three floors to the roof and you will find them right in-front of you.
I highly recommend this place, but please don't expect anything fancy... This is morocco and you are right in the Madina (center). If your looking for luxury then look elsewhere, but if your looking for a fantastic location, great service, clean rooms and hot water then this is the place for you. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrOptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

Within 2mins walking from the square at 350dh (£30ish) a night for a double room breakfast Inc. Allso has a little restrant/cafe which is the only wifi spot we found. We had a problem with the lock on our door (would not open) but within an hour the man had kicked it in and we were moved to a better room. All in all , it did what it said on the tin, cheap, friendly, clean, safe and central.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gibape75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

Reading the reviews, I think its only reviewed as what is it, a budget hotel. For £12 a night including breakfast it can not be reviewed as a 5* hotel. But it was fab, my room was clean, the en suite was good, nice touch as towels were provided, breakfast was more than sufficient. The location was Amazing...perfect spot. Sitting up in the roof terrace over looking Jemaa El -fna was wonderful. The staff were also incredibly friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate recommending Hotel Ali.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kez17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#139 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#310 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#270 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#341 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#67 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ali

Property: Hotel Ali
Address: Rue Moulay Ismail, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #436 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ali 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ali Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Ali Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing