We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, Basic, Good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ali
Ranked #422 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
South Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap, Basic, Good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

Booked over the phone great receptionist however when we got there they just gave us a room so i wouldn't worry i would just turn up. no money needed to book. Basic room overlooking the entrance to the square. if you get on number 19 bus at airport it will drop you by the horses and the hotel is just on the right of those by the paershop and pay phones. Basic room but clean. No air con but could do without. own balcony. Nice crepes and honey for breakfast and coffee was good breakfast is basic however. Room was 350 dirhams. If you are unsure about basic i wouldn't go here but i would go to Sindi Sud and ask for room 1 or 8 and tell them rebecca and paul sent you. Check my review of that too. overall good value for money at both.

Room Tip: ask for air con and price and work backwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Archaeologist001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    74
    62
    25
    30
See reviews for
29
40
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Funchal
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

The best thing to say about this hotel it's the location, it's a 2 steps place from the famous place at the old town. Rooms, bathroom, service... it's like go back to old times... i remember that toilete paper was like hand made paper lol breakfast was not bad, i liked the creps with the honey, tea and coffee's also nice.
Marrakech's a place i would love to visit again, the only thing i hated was the people from the shops & restaurants... always bodering touristes, trying to sell their fish grrrrrr

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MiroCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anstey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Miriam the receptionist responded well to all my email requerst. Upon arrival I was warmly welcomed and was given plenty of time to chill out and freshen up in the basic but clean ensuite room before having to sign and check in. I requested B.B & Evening meal and was quoted 25 euro's a night which is good value at todays exchange rate.
From the airport he hotel is easy to find, catch the bus @ 20 dirhams just outside the airport to the centre ville then walk 200 yards towards the Jma el Fna square and the hotel is on your right. safe clean and ideal for the budget traveller. Omar the waiter is quite work shy and tries to avoid serving and helping customers. The manager is going to do some training for him.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aidwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit in Costa Blanca Spain
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

Stayed 3 nights with group of eight 57-82 yrs. Because of the location we were able to walk back alone at night and feel safe (no walking down dark allys etc) Everyone very happy with the hotel. First floor had just been redeorated. First floor rooms have a central courtyard with tables and sofas. Rooms have windows to front or back of hotel. Some 2nd and 3rd floor rooms have balconys.(no balconys on first floor) all (?) have AC. In winter, dinner and breakfast buffet is served on the ground floor. In summer it is served on the top floor terrace. We booked through http://www.hotelconnect.co.uk/destination/marrakech/hotel/3125?lang=en&whoc=google.co.&fromsearch=false
This gave us half board cheaper than b&b on hotel website. This was my second visit as I had found it very convenient last oct.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank searcher48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

Hotel Ali is in a great location right on the square where there is a lot of activity. It is noisy but everything went quiet about 12 so we got a good nights sleep. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and basic. The decor was very Morrocan. The food was soup, rolls, various veg, cous cous, a rice or pasta dish, 2 or 3 different meats, oranges. Breakfast was rolls, boiled eggs, pancakes, jam, honey orange juice, coffee/tea. I enjoyed my stay here. I could have stayed in a 5* hotel but it would not have had the atmosphere. Stafff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EveshamMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

Stayed both ends of our trip, clean friendly and well central. Cheap too!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawnlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aosta, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

The service is fast, the staff polite. You can eat in its great restaurant and the food is very good. Of course you have what you pay, and the rooms are not the best, but they are always clean and quite spacious. The hotel is in a prime location, in the center, just a short walk from the Djemaa el Fna.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#118 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
0.2 mi away
Riad Hasna Espi
Riad Hasna Espi
#320 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#345 of 494 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#261 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#307 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ali

Property: Hotel Ali
Address: Rue Moulay Ismail, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #422 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ali 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ali Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Ali Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing