We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“basic tho v close to action in djemma al fna”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ali
Ranked #422 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
dorset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“basic tho v close to action in djemma al fna”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

didn't have high expectations of hotel having read reviews so wasn't disappointed.
air con crap, cockroaches crap, breakfast/dinner crap, no roof top dining, disinterested staff but excellent position to explore the djemma, could see the action from our balcony, was worth roughing it to be in the centre of such mad chaos

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room and insist on working air con. prob better to eat elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saldorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    74
    62
    25
    30
See reviews for
29
40
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Even though I've been there for several times I cannot recomend this hotel considering other cheap alternatives nearby. The last time I went there (August last year) litle or no changes have been made to the place. The hotel is located right in front of Place Jeema El Fna wich is great but the service was really poor, the price was high, 50€ for a small twin room without air conditionig and a bathroom iffy to say the least.
For those arriving at Marrakesh for the first time it can be an option to consider if you don't want to have the hassle to get a taxi to go to the Jeema El Fna Square or the Medina. It has two ATM right on the left of the hotel, but all the remaining is lacking. The breakfast was served in another hotel nearby, the personel was not very polite and you have to be careful on the prices because they tend to over charge you. The same goes to all the restaurants in the vicinity. When placing an order ALLWAYS check the prices quoted on the menu for the food you're about to order otherwise you'll be charged at least 10Dh more than the price listed. Unfortunately this is common in several places in Morocco where there is a lot of tourism.
Be aware that taking photos can be an hassle too because if you do so without asking permission they'll charge you for that. This is specially true at the square namely for the guys with snakes and henna tatooers.
When getting a taxi ALLWAYS ask for the price first otherwise you will be overcharged. Some examples:
Taxi from the Square to the Railroad Station average 30-40Dh.
Taxi from the Railroad Station to the airport average 60Dh but from the airport to the railroad station they tend to charge you 150Dh. Usually I walk from the airport to the main road and get the taxi there.
Although taximeters are mandatory many of the taxis don't have one or if they do they tend to leave it of. If the taxi you´re getting doesn't starts the meter ask to get out.
Remember prices are allways inflated in August. My revue is for the summer season and may be more favourable during low season.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Musatapha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Single room 250dh
Double room 350dh

breakfast included, price can be negotiated a little (100 -50dh)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank somebuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stayed for a couple of nights.Good accommodation, great location, very good breakfast. Definitely i will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

When in Marrakech I always stay in hotel Ali, for years now. The staff is friendly, just a phone call and your booking is done, no deposits, no credit cards etc. Simple.

I always ask for a good room and I get it also. The rooms are being renovated and the hotel is nearly done, when they will put new pictures on their website. The room we had was large, with airconditioning, nice windows to the centre part of the hotel, very comfortable huge bed, bathroom with shower and bath tub, hair dryer etc. Pity in a hurry forgot to take a photo.
There is a cleaning service and you can have your teeshirts etc in the same day, if needed. At least this was in the past. A nice restaurant to have your dinner, a coffee shop facing the square where you can just sit with a mint-tea and watch the world go by.

In my humble opinion you get very good value for your money, and best is the location, easy to access, and right on the Djmaa El-Fna square. There is money exchange service also and they assist you on desert trips etc.
Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank morocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

Booked over the phone great receptionist however when we got there they just gave us a room so i wouldn't worry i would just turn up. no money needed to book. Basic room overlooking the entrance to the square. if you get on number 19 bus at airport it will drop you by the horses and the hotel is just on the right of those by the paershop and pay phones. Basic room but clean. No air con but could do without. own balcony. Nice crepes and honey for breakfast and coffee was good breakfast is basic however. Room was 350 dirhams. If you are unsure about basic i wouldn't go here but i would go to Sindi Sud and ask for room 1 or 8 and tell them rebecca and paul sent you. Check my review of that too. overall good value for money at both.

Room Tip: ask for air con and price and work backwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Archaeologist001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

The best thing to say about this hotel it's the location, it's a 2 steps place from the famous place at the old town. Rooms, bathroom, service... it's like go back to old times... i remember that toilete paper was like hand made paper lol breakfast was not bad, i liked the creps with the honey, tea and coffee's also nice.
Marrakech's a place i would love to visit again, the only thing i hated was the people from the shops & restaurants... always bodering touristes, trying to sell their fish grrrrrr

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MiroCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#118 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
0.2 mi away
Riad Hasna Espi
Riad Hasna Espi
#320 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#345 of 494 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#261 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#307 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ali

Property: Hotel Ali
Address: Rue Moulay Ismail, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #422 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ali 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ali Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Ali Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing