We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and chearfull”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ali
Ranked #423 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Ringwood
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap and chearfull”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed at Hotel Ali for 1 night before and 1 night after an Atlas Mountain trek. I guess if it had been really bad we wouldn't have gone back there after the trek! My single room on 1st stay had 3 beds in it which I never really worked out why and second time I had a double bed so always plenty of room. Bathroom and toilet were clean and always had plenty of hot water. Breakfast was basic but edible and the bureau de change had much better rates than the airport. The major plus with this hotel is the location. Very easy to find with great access to the main square and souks. I recommend Hotel Ali but bear in mind it is basic and more suited for backpackers / people on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    74
    62
    25
    30
See reviews for
29
40
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Location ok electrics highly dangerous,curtains don't meet in middle,shower didn't work wall had hole in it ac unit didn't work breakfast stale. Rooms £5 more were available early and were significantly better value and more comfortable

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I was just there last week for 3 nights and I mainly stay there for the location (literally in the Djemaa Al Fna square) and cheap rates.


Pro:
rooms are clean
staff are generally nice
cheap rate
best location

Con:
during summer, it appears they are timing/controlling the room AC so you have to ask the receptionist to turn it on.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermes_77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

we didn't stay at the hotel. The owner of our riad recommended eating at the Hotel Ali but the lady on reception informed us that the restaurant closed over a year ago.

We changed our money up in the bureau de change here and found the best rates.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

No frills at the Hotel Ali. It's run-down, but rooms are en-suite and clean. Try that in France - heh heh.

Bed linen and towels may be well-worn, but for 15 Euros a night, what do you expect!

However where this hotel scores is the friendly and helpful (French speaking) staff. They can organize anything for you.

It also offers the most competitive Bureau de Change in town - as evidenced by the long queues.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tiina_111R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
184 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

The reason you would stay at this hotel is the location. It is right beside the Djemaa el-fna. The room itself is very, very basic. The room has a bed and bathroom... that's it. Very rough, worn and thread-bare towels are given to you at the front desk. The tub had a shower curtain that was two inches too short so the water still got all over the floor. The bed was way, way too hard and I'm not so sure the sheets had been changed. It looked quite suspicious.

The room was cheap and so I deserved what I received, I guess. Breakfast was included and there were a variety of breads, boiled eggs, jams, orange juice, etc.

There was a lot of noise until 01:00 a.m. Two of the lights did not work in the room. There is not an elevator so you will have to walk up many steps to get to your room. I'm not so sure that I would be inclined to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank im4duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights with a friend. It is right next the medina. There is an excellent cafe next door and phone booth on the door step. The hotel itself had an old rustic feel to it and could do with a slight makeover, but overall the room and toilet facilities were clean. The price was a bargain and the receptionists were very helpful, the females spoke good English and were polite. Brilliant crash pad for travellers.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Abdul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#117 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
0.2 mi away
Riad Hasna Espi
Riad Hasna Espi
#321 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#346 of 494 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#260 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#303 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ali

Property: Hotel Ali
Address: Rue Moulay Ismail, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #423 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ali 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ali Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Ali Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing