We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful”
Review of Hotel Amine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Amine
Ranked #459 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Now I'm not generally one to write reviews but I think my holiday to Marrakech over Christmas 2013 deserves an exception. After reading very negative reviews about both this hotel and Lowcostholidays.com and preparing for the worst, I was pleasantly surprised.

Now this hotel is by no means a 5*, however considering we got it pretty cheap I wasn't expecting it to be. Our room was a 4 people family room and a great size. Our heating was not working but the staff at reception made sure we were comfortable, providing portable heaters and extra blankets also offering to give us another room.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly- anything you need they will get done. The reception guy also speaks good English which was useful to find out local attractions and routes.

The pool area is lovely and relaxing, though the pool wasn't used whilst we were there as the water was freezing! As for the food, it is pretty basic to be honest. Nothing really fancy, but simple Moroccon food.

The only issue for us was the distance to the old Medina. It is a 40 minute walk to the Djema al Fena square and about 15 minute taxi ride.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Hotel Amine and I think it deserved a good review after all the negative comments.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NasM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

You get what you pay for. At less than £13.00 p.p.p.n half board, perfect for a budget holiday. The hotels tired and could do with modernisation but it was cheap, cheerful and clean. If you visit in the winter months please be aware rooms were very cold and could have benefited from a new heating system. If I went there again, I'd take a small blow heater. However what you save in hotel costs you may lay out in taxi fares as it's a good walk from the main square and mosque. Taxi fees varied from about £3 - £5 each way but if that's not your main concern, it's fine. Breakfast was nothing special but it was good food which filled you up. Staff were particular helpful (we took a 91 year old with us) especially if you tip well, which is the custom.

Room Tip: Rooms were pretty much all the same. Rooms on the front of the hotel benefited from winter sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akathiotisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed for a week as a couple here, although the rooms could probably do with a lick of paint they were comfortable and cleaned regularly.

The pool area is very nice and the food by the pool was lovely, we ate pizzas most days here :)

I would recommend taking the local buses from outside the hotel as they cost pennies to get anywhere in Marrakesh, much cheaper than taxis and more fun !

The bar and staff at Amine were great, no room service or anywhere to buy food in the evening unfortunately.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
11
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Had been informed by agent that it was a four star hotel. Not the case food was horrible no choice. Breakfast was boiled eggs and bread only cornflakes available. Not enough choice for my baby but luckily i had travelled with his food. Room was very cold. Room had 2 single beds joinned together not comfortable. No coffee or tea making facilities in the room. Blankets only provided no duvets. Customer service was horrible. It was one holiday where i missed being in my own bed in my own home. We didn't mind paying a bit extra for comfort but will not recommend this hotel and certainly not going back

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We arrived at the hotel which was supposed to be a 4 star hotel. The lift was out of order so had to walk up stairs to room.
The corridors were all shabby with peeling paint on all of the paintwork.
In the room the peeling paint continued. The air con unit was broken. The patio door was held shut with a cabin hook, no lock!
The room overlooked the pool & a commercial garage, with the continual sound of a jet wash cleaning cars.
The water in the evening was only warm & we were only given two sachets of shampoo, these weren't topped up/replaced. The bath was so short I could not sit in it & extend my legs. It took 15-20minutes to fill bath.
We had to pay for the key to a tin box safe. We asked if we could charge drinks etc. & were told no, cash only.
We went to the bar & requested beer, only to be told they did not sell alcohol
We laid around the pool, but the sound of the jet wash was continuous all afternoon.
We were on half board & went to the restaurant. There was not buffet only a very limited table de hotel menu, We ordered soup which was luke warm & turkey tangune, This comprised on a 3 inch section of turkey leg,(bones gristle & very little meat). We left the main course had some sweet & went out for pizza. We did not eat evening meal in there again.
The breakfasts were not much better offering hard boiled eggs, pancakes, a spiced meat, & breads.
The hotel is near the university & around 2 miles to new town & three miles to the Medina.
Cabs are cheap & it costs around 3-5 euros to medina.
This hotel was recommended by World Choice Holidays, Total error on their part. We rang them twice to complain but only got a recorded message & they did not phone back.
Not the best booking agent. We were only there for four nights so put up with it. Had it been longer we would have moved hotel.
This hotel would struggle to make one star let alone four stars

Room Tip: Don't have a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Less than £18 per night half board - so really can't complain. Yes, the hotel was tired, the coffee wasn't brilliant, juice too sweet and watered down but the pool was great, rooms were clean with bedding and towels changed daily, shower was good with plentiful hot water, gardens were lovely and the staff were friendly, helpful and cheerful.

Hotel has never really moved on from the 70s and definitely needs a major refurb. But the bits that mattered were clean. We moved from room 220 which was lovely and cool but t'other half reckoned the bed was too hard, up to 440 which wasn't as good and faced the front so a bit noisier and caught the sun. If you want a quiet or cooler room - just ask - they're happy to oblige.

Pool was always relaxing, never too loud, not heated but that was OK as it was in the late 20's/early 30s when we were there late October. Didn't use the bar there - we'd learned from TripAdvisor to buy large bottles of water at the garage next door!

Interesting bunch of guests - lots of Moroccans, French, Germans, few Brits.

Food was more than adequate - a bigger choice when they had more people staying but we didn't starve! I'm vegetarian but did OK. In fact with all the salad I ate and hardly any booze (bar the odd local Flag beer in the hotel) I actually lost 4 lb and I'm only a size 10 in any case! I was actually glad to see they didn't pander to English taste - no chips etc! Though corn flakes came out mid week ....

We'd ummed and aahed about a riad in the medina versus a bigger hotel in the new town but glad we went with the Amine. It was an easy and cheap bus ride back for a swim, sunbathe, shower and then supper most evenings. And sometimes we went back to the djemma for the evening.

No regrets either on hiring a car for a few days and getting out to the coast - Clio organised through reception for about £37 a day.

Room Tip: Ask at reception - they're very obliging. Garden view for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BourneTownHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

this has to be the worse hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay in! Yes I know it's cheap but even I expected a few basics! This hotel is decrepit and dirty, some staff did their best for you but the reception staff did not make you feel welcome and any request made was an inconvenience. To top it all they stopped selling alcohol with no warning stating that the manager had to apply for a licence!!!! Good was an experience, hence we ate out after the first day, I see see other so called 4 star hotels which knocked spots of this place. Couldn't wait to leave!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kwslk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#455 of 500 in Marrakech
712 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#139 of 500 in Marrakech
541 reviews
3.8 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#211 of 500 in Marrakech
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Plaza Hotel
Imperial Plaza Hotel
#472 of 500 in Marrakech
400 reviews
1.4 mi away
LABRANDA Les Idrissides Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amine

Address: Avenue Abdelkrim Khettabi | Semlalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #459 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £33 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amine 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amine Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing