We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money in the heart of the Marrakech”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Central Palace
Ranked #353 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for money in the heart of the Marrakech”
Reviewed 15 April 2009

I stayed in the Hotel Central Palace for a week and think you really can't beat it for location and value for money. Over the few days that I was there I stayed in various price levels of rooms and all very extremely clean and spacious. Most of the rooms are situated around a central courtyard and there is a fabulous multi-level roof terrace where you can sit and read, eat or catch some sun. The hotel is located off one of the main streets in the medina and is nice and quiet but yet only a minutes walk will lead you right into the chaos of Djemaa el Fna.

Staff were extremely friendly and were extremely quick to help us with any situation. Tour excursions can be arranged through the hotel also. An internet cafe and small pizza delivery place is located immediately beside the hotel and everything else needed can be found in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishiwereonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    44
    22
    11
    9
See reviews for
8
35
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2008

Stayed here for a couple of nights and a couple of nights the hotel next door. Central Palace was comfortable, free showers (bring your own towel) and friendly staff. Breakfast is not included but that's normal in the budget hotels in Morocco. Location is great, the patio and rooftop terrace are really nice. I would recommend this hotel but cheaper options in this neighboorhoud are available. (e.g. Hotel de la Paix).

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wil1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2007

We booked a double room in Hotel Ali before we left to a 3 days tour at the desert. When we got back there the staff told us that there was not room available for us. After a big argument with them trying to explain that we booked the room with three days in advance they agreed in give us a room but has to wait until they clean it (It was 8pm). We wait for nearly an hour and by then
we were so angry and tired that we decided to go and check Central Palace Hotel (We knew about this hotel from a Lonely Planet documentary about Morocco) to see if they have any room available.
They had a room so we stayed there for one night.
The staff were very nice and friendly. The rooms were basic but clean. And the location was perfect.
It has a lovely terrace where you can chill out and with great views to the main square.
We paid 205 Dirhams per room which we thought excellent value.
We totally recommen it.

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank solpez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights in September 2006 at the start of our adventure through Morocco into Spain. The room was basic and clean although the pillows were very hard. The staff was friendly and helpful and the location was excellent. There is a lovely courtyard to sit in. The hotel was a bit hard to find when our taxi from the airport dropped us at the end of a traffic free street which leads to the Djemaa el Fna but it was down a little alley way close to the square.
A bit noisey at night but our room was very close to the reception where everyone comes and goes and of course the echoing sound of being called to prayer at 4:30 in the morning brings reality to where you are!
Overall good budget accommodation.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — hard pillows
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank susan50-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2006

If you're looking for a luxurious hotel (or even one that meets U.S. standards for the average moderate chain), this is not your kind of place. However, it is a good choice for backpackers or other budget travelers looking for a clean, safe hotel in a great location by the Djemaa el-Fna. The Central Palace is located just off a major pedestrian street with moderate restaurants and coffeeshops; the street gets very crowded at night, but I did not have a problem with noise. The woman working the front desk was polite and spoke good English. My room was reasonably sized and had no bath, just a sink; the shower across the hall had only cold water. The closet in my room had no doors. I assume no rooms have TVs, telephones or other such amenities. Still, for travelers willing to accept those constraints, the Central Palace is very cheap and clean, with adequate lighting. Expect to pay cash.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justanothermember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2005

We stayed at the Central Palace way back in 2003, but I had forgotten its name until its business card dropped out of my Rough Guide while planning our next trip...

We came back to Marrakech after a week in Essaouirea to find that our intended hotel had double-booked our rooms (Hotel Ali, who also pulled the ol' bait-and-switch on us the night we arrived in Morocco). After a whistle-stop tour of the local budget hotels we found the Central Palace to be much the best of the bunch, despite a slightly dodgy-looking neon-lit lobby. We had a triple room - spotless and very spacious - with ensuite loo and shower (seem to remember we had hot water though). There were flush loos on every landing too if your tastes ran that way.

The real clincher were the communal spaces - the shady courtyard with fountain, the sofas on the balconied landings overlooking the garden and the wonderful roof terrace - great place to watch the sun set. As an antidote to the sun, dust and bustle of the souks and the Djema al-Fna it was perfect.
It also felt like it was off the main backpacker track - no noisy tour groups or raucous parties - which may or may not be to your advantage but was certainly good for us.

It's not a five-star hotel, but for the money I think you'd be hard pushed to do better in Marrakech. A jewel.

  • Stayed September 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rls1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2005

We stayed at the Hotel Central Place for a total of four nights after becoming ill in Fes, so we spent a LOT of time in our room, and I was very impressed with the location, cleanliness, and staff of this hotel! It is right off of the Djemaa el-Fna (THE place to be in Marrakesh) and the street it's on is full of shops, eateries, patiseries, etc. The hotel was clean and although the rooms are small, were quite a bargain at $20USD for a double with a private bath and shower (albeit a cold one)! The hotel is gorgeously tiled, and the roof deck is unbeatable! We got to know the staff pretty well, and they were extremely kind, fluent in English, French, and Spanish (among others languages I'm sure) and were very helpful when we needed directions or recommendations. The nicest thing, though was when we took a short side trip to Essaouira and returned to discover that Easter week had begun and the entire south of Spain had arrived in Marrakesh on vacation- there were only a few rooms left at the Hotel Central Palace, but the receptionist was nice enough to give us a triple at the price of a double since she knew we had stayed there for three nights before! We were very grateful, since most other decent hotels were completely booked and we would have paid any price. A GREAT choice for the budget traveller or backpacker!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank kah5u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#294 of 500 in Marrakech
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#333 of 500 in Marrakech
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#218 of 500 in Marrakech
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Le Coq  Hardi
Le Coq Hardi
#433 of 500 in Marrakech
61 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#241 of 500 in Marrakech
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Loula
Dar Loula
#328 of 500 in Marrakech
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Palace

Property: Hotel Central Palace
Address: 59 Sidi Bouloukate Marrakech Maroc, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Central Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Central Palace Marrakech
Central Palace Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing