We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful staff, but spotless and well positioned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Central Palace
Ranked #346 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awful staff, but spotless and well positioned”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2010

I went to this hotel as it was reccomended by the Routard guide.

Warmth and hospitality are not what you are looking for in Marrakech, a city where you have to constantly defend yourself from scams and you have to bargain for everything. I have travelled a lot (in asia and middle east) and I have rarely experienced anything like this: you can't really trust anyone.

So it's not that surprising that the staff of the hotel(a boy and a girl) had an annoying 'couldn't care less' attitude. And it's not surprising that they even try to rip you off at times, for instance overpricing the excursions (it's too late, the bus is full, it will cost you more...). A very common practice but it's never pleasant.

It really is a shame because overall the hotel is excellent. It is a nice riad-style building, with four floors around a central court. It is conveniently priced (double rooms with shared toilets start from 155 dirhams, 14 euro), extremely clean (except for the shared toilets sometimes) and in the heart of the Medina, at one hundred meters from the famous square Jamaa el Fna. It has an high speed internet connection reasonably priced (1 euro per hour) and the breakfast (which is not included) is nice, in the top floor terrace. It has also a small library with guides about morocco in various languages.

These are the reasons why, after spending two nights there, I returned to the hotel at the end of my trip in Morocco and I would probably return there.

Other notes.
Reservations: the staff doesn't read emails very often apparently. To reserve a room they will require a money transfer with western union for the first night (quite common in Morocco). But it's reccomended that you give them a phone call if you reserve few days before your arrival. When I arrived they had no idea I had a reservation and that I sent the money (although I sent several emails the day before) so we were sent to an expensive suite (nice room but overpriced).

Excursions: we had a great time during the excursions advertised at the hotel, but they use other agencies so it will be slightly cheaper if you go directly to the agencies that organize the tours. Also, you will be taken to a carpet shop (or argan oil shop, or whatever) during the excursion.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hammershark78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    44
    22
    11
    9
See reviews for
8
35
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

I went to this 'hotel' because it was recommended as good-value by Lonely Planet.
I paid 150 dirhams p/night.
The female receptionist who works in the day was rude to say the least.
and the boy who worked at night has a couldn't-care-less attitude to my concerns.
all in all a bad experience.
i changed hotel the next day.
just walking 10 meters down the lane are many hotels offering 70 dirhams p/night with relatively lot more warmth in service.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phuture2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

very close to the main square jemnaa el fna.. where all the action take place.. good location for local bus and easy to get to bus station and train station
The riad itself its very clean .. the staff very nice and ready to help.. they offering internet service for a little fee of 10 dirhams per hour (not even 1 pound
the cost will be 100 dirhams x person in a dbl room with shower only x night
if you want a room with toilet + shower is coming at 255 dirhams x 2 people x night
they also organizing trip into the desert.. not to miss!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roby-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

Lovely little hotel in the heart of the medina near Djama Al Fanaa. Close to all major Medina attractions, nice cozy rooms with open plan bathrooms. I would say this is a good place for no frills travellers although a first look certainly gives the impression it is a much more classier place. Hotel staff happy to arrange trips at moderately rip off prices (go to nearby tour operators for better deals).

Best feature has to be terrace and ground floor sitting area.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheikhSahib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

I stayed in the Hotel Central Palace for a week and think you really can't beat it for location and value for money. Over the few days that I was there I stayed in various price levels of rooms and all very extremely clean and spacious. Most of the rooms are situated around a central courtyard and there is a fabulous multi-level roof terrace where you can sit and read, eat or catch some sun. The hotel is located off one of the main streets in the medina and is nice and quiet but yet only a minutes walk will lead you right into the chaos of Djemaa el Fna.

Staff were extremely friendly and were extremely quick to help us with any situation. Tour excursions can be arranged through the hotel also. An internet cafe and small pizza delivery place is located immediately beside the hotel and everything else needed can be found in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishiwereonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2008

Stayed here for a couple of nights and a couple of nights the hotel next door. Central Palace was comfortable, free showers (bring your own towel) and friendly staff. Breakfast is not included but that's normal in the budget hotels in Morocco. Location is great, the patio and rooftop terrace are really nice. I would recommend this hotel but cheaper options in this neighboorhoud are available. (e.g. Hotel de la Paix).

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wil1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2007

We booked a double room in Hotel Ali before we left to a 3 days tour at the desert. When we got back there the staff told us that there was not room available for us. After a big argument with them trying to explain that we booked the room with three days in advance they agreed in give us a room but has to wait until they clean it (It was 8pm). We wait for nearly an hour and by then
we were so angry and tired that we decided to go and check Central Palace Hotel (We knew about this hotel from a Lonely Planet documentary about Morocco) to see if they have any room available.
They had a room so we stayed there for one night.
The staff were very nice and friendly. The rooms were basic but clean. And the location was perfect.
It has a lovely terrace where you can chill out and with great views to the main square.
We paid 205 Dirhams per room which we thought excellent value.
We totally recommen it.

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank solpez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#331 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#303 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
20.8 mi away
Le Coq  Hardi
Le Coq Hardi
#461 of 494 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#298 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
2.8 mi away
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
#383 of 494 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#285 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Palace

Property: Hotel Central Palace
Address: 59 Sidi Bouloukate Marrakech Maroc, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Central Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Central Palace Marrakech
Central Palace Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing