We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic respite from the mayhem of Marrakesh”
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Maison Arabe
Ranked #20 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2007

We loved staying at this hotel! As mentioned in other reviews, it's not quite a riad but still very intimate and "moroccan". The hotel was built from several joined buildings and has some fantastic public spaces, a cozy bar, a beautiful outdoor courtyard perfect for breakfast and lovely smaller courtyards and patios. The rooms are comfortable, although admittedly not as superbly decorated as the other parts of the hotel. The location is great -- about a 10 minute walk to the Jemma el Fna and near the souks. We felt comfortable walking around the hotel late at night and unlike some of the other hotels in the Medina, this one is accessible by car so you don't have to carry your luggage by hand.

Also a highlight of the stay is the amazing complimentary breakfast and really good restaurant. Definitely eat at least one of your meals in Marrakesh here -- it was some of the best food we had in Morocco!

Stayed: November 2007
Thank katgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,033)
There are newer reviews for La Maison Arabe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,502 - 1,508 of 2,032 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2007

Very pretty and elegant. Great staff. Delicious food.

Has the prettiness of a riad, but does have the atmosphere of a hotel (a shop, a bar etc)- ideal for pampering stay. Pool pretty but right next to where people eat so not very relaxing!

Good location.

Spa was hopeless though, don't waste your money. Treatments overpriced and substandard.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank afb34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2007

I was pretty concerned about staying in a Raid as I was used to 5 star luxury. Although this was not quite the five star hotel it was a delight.

It was quant luxury and after the hustle and bustle of life outside the Riad it was a haven of peace and tranquillity.

It was superbly decorated and the room was more than adequate.

The service was excellent and the cocktails and food were great.

I would certainly recommend someone stays in this Riad even if like me they are used to 5 star .. it must be experienced.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank pandabear2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2007

The Maison Arabe is truely understated elegance. We stayed in the 3 story suite with our 2 teenage boys - roof top patio was to die for. The whole place exudes charm. I would stay here again and again.
The pictures don not do it justice. Service was excellent also. My one son had a bit of an upset stomache and they made a nice tyme tea infusion - good as new!!!
The pool compound is also a nice retreat, though we were really not there long enough to fully enjoy it.
I would only say that there is better local food nearby than in the restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mdbasile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

This hotel is truly lovely, charming, and a nice place to stay in Marrakesh. However, be very careful to specify exactly what you want for your accomodations. All the rooms are different and are in three connected buildings. My husband and I were traveling with our two sons and a very close single friend. The hotel knew this. Unfortunately when we arrived after a long drive through the Atlas mountains for a four night stay, we found our sons in a room on the top floor of one building, we were in a room on the top floor of another building, and our friend was in the third building. They knew we were traveling with children, but they separated us. Also we were supposed to have a suite and there was not one available. There was not much they could do until two nights later due to our arrival on a weekend. We were very unhappy especially as one son was ill. Also I think Americans will much prefer suites if they stay in this hotel as the rooms can be quite small. I recommend that if you choose to stay here that you invest in a telephone call and get very specific about rooms when making your reservation. There is no pool at the property, however there is a truly beautiful villa and pool owned by the hotel which provides scheduled transport.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank wvnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2007

We choose this hotel as it's in the heart of the medina and have a nice pool with a huge garden

The service is perfect, the staff just nice

The food is excelent,

We were very happy with the airconditionnong as it's was very hot at this time

For sure we will come again and recommend this place highly

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nicemanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2007

This hotel is what Marrakesh is all about - traditional arab decor with the top of the line service, beauty and tranquility that you can get. I could have stayed here for a month without leaving. I stayed three nights in one of the royal suites and it was worth every dollar. Three levels, a private sun deck with a garden and three jacuzzis. the room had huge morroccan style windows that opened onto a tranquil courtyard where birds chirped all day - it was paradise.

The hotel sitting area is quite, lovely and the staff are super friendly and speak either english or french.

The hotel provided a babysitter one night and it cost about $8 an hour. The babysitter was one of the chambermaids and she was lovely with my 9 month old son.

I would highly recommend this hotel - it was the highlight of my entire trip. It's inside the Medina and walking distance to the souks, restaurants and easy to find a taxi.

If I return to Marrakesh - I will ONLY stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank paristexas72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#13 of 502 in Marrakech
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#9 of 502 in Marrakech
1,334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#440 of 502 in Marrakech
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
0.0 mi away
Dar El Assafir
Dar El Assafir
#319 of 502 in Marrakech
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#292 of 502 in Marrakech
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £167 - £648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing