We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the heart of the Medina”
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Maison Arabe
Ranked #15 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Oasis in the heart of the Medina”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I heard about La Maison Arabe several years ago from friends. Their comments were so overwhelmingly positive, they actually gushed, I didn't think everything they said could possibly - I was wrong. This small hotel is superlative in every way - the staff's hospitality, attention to detail and graciousness is peerless. . The restaurant served some of the best Moroccan food i had while in Marrakech and when I had had my film of tangines, I dined in the hotel's continental restaurant where I had an amazing dinner of baby lamb chops and possibly the best lemon tart I've ever had - that's a big complement coming from a New York foodie. The design and decor of the rooms and the common areas - the pool, the various bars, the rooms and suites - are filled with unique furnishings and accessories which I found out were carefully chosen by the discerning eye of proprietor, Prince Fabrizio Ruspoli. And don't let the fact that he's a prince steer you in the wrong direction - this place is comfortable, welcoming, relaxing and not at all stuffy. And finally the hotel's proximity to Fna Square and the souks meant I could wander around for a few hours or the entire day and if I got tired, or overladen with purchases, it was just a quick walk back to the hotel where I could revive myself with a drink, a swim or a visit to the spa. Just as I didn't believe my friends when they raved about this place, you probably think I'm exaggerating, but it's all true - Maison Arabe is just wonderful. It's a bit pricey but compared to what you get, it is worth every penny. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKentnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,847
    94
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
359
1,050
64
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

we have stayed here on every trip to Marrakesh for over 13 years, sometimes twice in a year. Each time we leave we even more impressed with everything- the personnel are very welcoming, service exceptional especially the fast room service, and continuous upgrades of the rooms, restaurants, bar, and the heated pool. One unique feature to take advantage of is the private gardens, pool, and restaurant that can be visited by a 15 minute free shuttle service. If you have time, a lunch around the garden pool is an experience to behold. The cooking school is located there and is worth taking a class or two if you have time.
The Maison Arabe is not the Mamounia, one the same top level, but different in many ways- smaller, more exclusive, less ostentatious, and quietly hidden in the city center, near the souk/medina.
BTW, Something you don't see anywhere else is that their rooms offer desk level plugs for charging all the electronic items we carry with us these days-its an example of the attention to detail the Maison Arabe addresses in most everything.
It is a very sophisticated, quite, luxurious place to stay. Not to miss if you are in Marrakesh.

Room Tip: This time we were upgraded to the Royal suite, a 3 level apartment with roof garden over looking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grwebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We happily spent two nights in the Nahar royal suite, as well as enjoyed the riad's spa, piano bar and two restaurants during our stay. Having pioneered the riad hotel concept in Marrakech, La Maison Arabe's experience is evident in its gracious service.

All the staff were unfailingly courteous and eager to please; Morad at the front desk deserves a special mention for his warm welcome to the property and the city as well as ensuring our comfort throughout our stay.

It has been several years since the last renovation, but all in all the property is kept up well. When we arrived, there were some minor adjustments needed in our suite (i.e. the remote control for the air conditioner, a locked safe and a burned out light bulb in a closet), which were taken care of right away.

The evening ambiance at the bar and the poolside restaurant is very pleasant. The spa is well-designed, and the staff were more gentle with the hammam gommage and subsequent massage than at other facilities.

For the high caliber of its service and attention to guest needs, we would not hesitate to go back to La Maison Arabe.

Room Tip: The multi-level Nahar royal suite consists of a sitting room and bathroom on the first floor, a bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 306rc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We loved the. La Maison Arabe. Our room was comfortable & clean. We were in a beautiful suite. The staff could not be more accommodating & helpful. The food was delicious. We took the cooking class. It was lots of fun. I would recommend the experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Have just retuned from Marrakech, where we spent three nights at La Maison Arabe. Very hard to find any fault. We were looked after very well from the first moment we entered the front door. We had a garden suite which was sizeable and very comfortable (aircon a little noisy). Very interesting hotel layout and beautifully furnished. Had one meal in the hotel which turned out to be the best we had. Also central location very interesting. Lovely swimming pool a 20 min shuttle ride away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleebana, NSW
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

La Maison Arabe
What can I say that hasn’t already been said? From the moment we stepped off the lane in the medina, just 10 minutes from the main square, and were greeted by the charming manager who took us to a small courtyard for a refreshing mixed fruit drink (lime, orange, banana, mint) served with nuts while our paper work was processed and our room made ready, until the time we left, 4 days later, you could not fault the attention to detail. Our huge room overlooked the courtyard pool. Because this has been built in two stages and actually straddles two streets, it takes a little time to find your way around – but all is explained when you are given a tour of the place, including the wellness centre with its hamam. There is plenty to see in Marrakech but do spend some time at the hotel’s Kasbah and garden pool, about 20 minutes away. A shuttle leaves on the half hour and you can swim, walk in the garden and have a light lunch. From day to evening there is so much you can do, tea and pastries by the pool, cocktails in the jazz bar, dinner in one of the two restaurants. We enjoyed the food so much we ate there every night. My husband was suffering post shingles pain so didn’t feel like going out too much. The staff are so attentive and always asked how he was. Forbes rates this place number one in Marrakech and we can see why.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz and Arthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We spent four nights of our honeymoon in this fantastic riad. From the beginning of our exchanges with staff- Nabila- we were thoroughly impressed! Upon arrival, every single person we interacted with was so helpful, kind, patient and knowledgable. The location was ideal for exploring the medina and Marrakech more broadly. The rooms were beautiful (fabulous beds) and incredibly well organized in terms of ensuring privacy etc. The restaurant food was amazing and the breakfasts each morning fantastic. No task was too big or too complicated for our wonderful La Maison Arabe staff- I fell ill and we had to change our reservation and they were so accommodating. Could not recommend this place highly enough-- guarantee you will have a wonderful stay! An incredibly memorable honeymoon destination for us :)

Room Tip: We indulged in the Noor and Jaafar suites because it was our honeymoon- both were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#28 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.4 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#43 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Property: La Maison Arabe
Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing