We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Maison Arabe
Ranked #15 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was a business trip but everything about the hotel, it's staff and it'd food, made it feel like a holiday. Really traditional, don't be put off by the walk up an alley way to get to it, or the rustic feel when you go in. Give yourself ten minutes to switch into Morocan mode and you will love the relaxed, gentle, luxury of this place. One morning it got a little chilly, 17 degrees, so they even lit the lof fires on all the landings. What an experience.

Room Tip: I think they are all good but splash out and go for the very reasonably priced suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,871
    97
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
366
1,063
65
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Very welcoming staff, beautifully decorated rooms, comfortable and clean. Breakfast is made fresh and served daily with coffee and fresh orange juice and was one of the highlights of my holiday! The only down side is that it is very difficult to find and you may need to ask someone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghaffouli, General Manager at La Maison Arabe, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Natasha,
Many thanks for your kind words regarding the staff, rooms and
breakfast at La Maison Arabe. I was surprised that you found the hotel
difficult to find, as we usually are complimented on our location, and
many guests see it as a big plus in staying with us. La Maison Arabe
is located in the medina of Marrakech (where indeed many things are
difficult to find, as it's the old city with many small streets and alleyways).
However, we are on the edge of the medina, meaning easily accessible by
taxi (and nearly all taxi drivers in Marrakech know our property, since it was
the first riad-hotel to open in the city, and before that, a legendary restaurant).
A taxi leaves you at the end of a small street; the entrance of the hotel can be
seen 30 meters away. This means one doesn't have to walk through a maze of
narrow alleyways to reach us. The hotel is also centrally located (a 10 minute walk
from the Jemaa el Fna square, 20 minutes from the Jardin Majorelle and the Guéliz
-- the new, modern neighborhood of the city). Our address and location is correctly shown
on Google Maps and other GPS systems. We are delighted to offer a local cell
phone to any guest who feels he or she might get lost while wandering the city -- with
the simple push of a button you are connected with our front desk staff, who will
help guide you back home to us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back one day soon to La Maison Arabe.
Thank you again for your kind critique.
Sincerely,
Taoufik Ghaffouli
General Manager
La Maison Arabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

For a 3 day stay in Marrakech this hotel was wonderful. We loved everything about it - ambience, architecture, rooms (and we had 4 in all) bar, restaurant, location and most of all the staff. It was welcoming and every effort made to ensure our stay was as comfortable and easy as possible. We stayed for a special occasion and this was marked by the hotel staff in the restaurant which was a lovely touch.

The breakfast buffet was superbe and the best for someone who is gluten intolerant. Absolutely loved this place and it made my Moroccan experience very special indeed.

Room Tip: All are lovely - mine was on the newer side and so large with a great outdoor balcony. Those on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is so beautiful and overflowing with Moroccan charm, from the marble tiles, courtyards with little fountains, comfortable sofas everywhere and the mood lighting in the bars etc. However it is the service that truly shines. We travelled with a baby and were upgraded to an amazing suite on top of the house with a number of rooms and terraces to give us plenty of room and the sun all day if we wanted. We did say after the first night that the suite patio side was a bit noisy for us as had two windows either side looking out on the street. This room was still gorgeous, but they upgraded us- no questions and were really nice about it as we felt bad saying anything, but wanted a more relaxing experience on holidays. The food is also fab and they recommended some great local restaurants for us to eat. The riad is only a short walk to the souks and central square and just a haven away from the bustle of an amazing city. Do try their out of town club if you want a big pool and to sun bathe. Also the spa is great with prices much cheaper than home! Don't stay anywhere else!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotrave15l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

3 to 6 April 2014
A girly weekend break with family & friends, beautiful hotel & location. Reccomend using the hotel taxi service to & from the airport. The hotel staff were very kind & booked our taxis agreeing prices before we got in.
Rooms were very clean with fresh flowers & towels daily.
Had a wonderful time tried local restuarants which had music & entertainment.
Pool was cold but sunbed area great with luxury sun longers.
Buffet style breakfast had something for everyone.
Staff always available & couldnt do enough for you.
great stay. Local market very busy you should always barter never take first price.

Room Tip: excellent clean rooms with great view of pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MH12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Following our amazing time last year we were keen to return this year. We had another truly memorable 7 night stay. The suite Jafaar was incredible. A double bed for our 13 year old daughter on a raised platform, a single bed for my son in the living area and a separate bedroom for my husband and I. Plus we additionally had our own private courtyard with two loungers and two chairs which was a lovely space for a bit of peace and quiet.

Front desk assistance whether its booking a table at one of the hotel's excellent restaurants, taxis to the airport, trips to the desert or recommendations on where to visit was superb. Charming and efficient service with a smile thanks to all.

We spent many a day at the Country Club where the charming service provided by Mohamed and outstanding meals eaten by the pool were a highlight and a wonderful contrast to the buzz of Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A wonderful small hotel in the heart of Marrakech. Nice bedrooms, comfortable public rooms, a pool (too cold in March) and good food. The service is superb and all the staff, management included, go to immense trouble to give you exactly what you want. The private garden (20 minutes away by shuttle bus) is really relaxing and has an attractive pool as well.
Not to be missed

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kundry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,215 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 499 in Marrakech
1,116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 499 in Marrakech
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 499 in Marrakech
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#21 of 499 in Marrakech
1,410 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Property: La Maison Arabe
Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing