We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a taste of Morocco home with you, do their half day cookery course!”
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Maison Arabe
Ranked #17 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I did this on our last day. We weren't staying at the Arabe but had booked their cookery course independently. The course is done either in Cafe Arabe hotel or in their other premises 15 mins away by car. We did the latter.

We were with two other people on the course so we got their full attention. The instruction was fabulous with video screens in front of you showing the 'Dada' (head chef) doing the cooking and the english speaking guide beside you helping you along the way.

The food was fantastic and you are given a lovely surprise gift at the end to take away.

We had a fabulous time doing this activity, you learn about the spices, the culture and you can recreate it when you get home!!

Room Tip: Not applicable only went to the cookery course but had a tour of the hotel which looked amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

910 - 916 of 2,141 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

La Maison Arabe is a charming boutique property that is in all ways world class.

Every aspect of our experience from the welcoming hospitality, to the stunning architecture and interior decorating, to the room, to the restaurants to the spa was outstanding.

The attention to detail (at check out they presented us with pre-filled out customs departure forms) and the service (on seeing us coming in from the souk the bartender prepared a refreshing nonalcoholic cocktail and brought it to our room) is superior to many five star properties.

The location is quite central but it is an oasis of quiet and calm in a city that can be dizzyingly frenetic.

This property also represents a solid value as the prices are well below most at this level.

If I one criticism it would be that the entrance is set back on a narrow street which does not permit car traffic so you cannot pull up to the entrance. The hotel does not have hotel staff posted at the end of each alley so it can be a bit confusing at first and awkward with luggage when checking in.

PS Don't miss the chicken pastilla. Possibly one of the best things I have ever eaten.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a balcony on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Make sure you're delivered to the door by a driver who knows the place because it looks unprepossessing and hidden away but once inside, it is magnificent. Also check your room positioning if you are not able to cope with many stairs; they do have alternatives but the highest rooms have the most facilities and sometimes even verandahs. The Arab meal was splendid - the traditional Moroccan salads of 5 or 6 plates were sublime with (for once) the right quantities instead of a surfeit! The breakfast staff are worth a mention too, being very helpful, attentive and courteous. The bar was not so good - a curious custom of wanting to know one's name as well as the room number, that is providing somebody is in attendance and then remembers your drink order. Overall first class.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better but be fit for stair climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

After a busy day shopping or sightseeing there is no better place to come home to than La Maison Arabe , the front desk staff are very attentive and friendly always remembering who you are and nothing is to much trouble. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite over looking the swimming pool. Beautiful bathroom, bedroom and lounge area with small balcony.
There are many public areas, bars, courtyards and garden areas to sit in, all peaceful and beautiful.
We ate at the Moroccan restaurant on our last night and even after sampling tagines from all over Morocco over a two week period we thoroughly enjoyed it and the service was perfect.

Only thing I would like to see improved a little is the quality and service at breakfast. It isn't clear that you can order an omelette which I only found out on the third day, also there needs to be staff to help with the coffee machine as some guests not knowing how to use it do hold it up for others.
Staying in the Medina and being able to walk to many of the souks, shops and gardens is a real plus and the personal service I think make La Maison Arabe stand out from the rows of larger hotels.
If we go back to Marakesh we would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Everything we experienced at Arabe was first class. The attention to detail was evident throughout our stay......from the rose petals in our room to the warm reception when we arrived. This Riad has lots of little hidden spaces where you can relax. We are a family of five with kids in the early 20's and they all loved this unique Riad. The food at both restaurants was very good but don't miss the Moroccan restaurant which is very intimate and has musicians playing during dinner. Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful.

The Jazz Bar run by the incomparable Rashid should not be missed. Rashid is one of the best bartenders / hosts that I have seen. He is a huge asset to Arabe as he is really like an ambassador for this Riad. He is everywhere and has a great way about him.

I used the spa for a massage and once again this is well worth it. Quiet, serene and professional.

Only issue we experienced was the internet.....which was a recurring theme throughout our stay in Morocco. But, that is really not too important.

We would definitely recommend Arabe. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wfuessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Ate here tonight whilst on our weekend break for my wife's birthday. Superb setting, great food but best of all fabulous waiter... I have to say, this is a seriously good place to eat, drink and soak up a chilled out atmosphere......Top drawer and should be on your list of places to eat !!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank FergusPatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Had a wonderful stay at this Riad, set in the heart of the Medina in Marrakech. Stayed in the Royal Suite Chems. It was a triplex with salon on the ground floor (which can be converted into a bedroom at night with its own full bathroom), a master bedroom with a full bathroom on the 1st floor and a lovely terrace with a hot tub on the top floor. The riad itself is lovely with a lot of character. Serves wonderful food which you can have in their courtyard by the pool. The front office manager , Adil, was very helpful and hospitable. Service is impeccable. We had massages in their hammam on both days and they were great. They also have their own country club on the outskirts of town, with a shuttle service. We did not try that. All in all, an outstanding experience!

Room Tip: Splurge and go for one of the two Royal Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nitin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 500 in Marrakech
1,833 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,351 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
1 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#22 of 500 in Marrakech
1,226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#13 of 500 in Marrakech
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £166 - £645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing