We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of La Maison Arabe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Maison Arabe
Ranked #17 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Ideal hotel for a stay in Marrakech, wasnt too expensive, located well in the Old town in a beautiful old building (although fairly anonymous from the street). Staff were great, rooms were great, food was lovely, spa was great. Arrived v late on Wednesday before going kite surfing in Essaouira - came back a day early to relax at the hotel as thought it was so nice on first night. Country club idea is hilarious and was perfect for spending last afternoon before heading to airport.

Room Tip: top floor looking over the pool with Balcony and a big bath - cant remember what number
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,868
    96
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
363
1,063
64
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
655 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

A quiet refuge from the heat and busy streets of the Medina, the royal suites are perfect for a family with a king bed upstairs and 2 twins downstairs (with a bathroom on each floor). The 3rd floor terrace with a jacuzzi is the cherry on the top. The kindest most caring staff in the hotel are in the restaurants. The restaurant manager was particularly helpful and kind and is the one person who made our stay a joy. He offered a variety from the somewhat boring vegetarian menu for us (there is only so much vegetarian couscous and vegetable tagine you can eat!). And he made special food for our daughter when she became ill. The housekeeping staff were cheerful and hard working and their drivers for arranged rides were great. We also appreciated bell staff and security staff helping with taxi negotiations. Be aware that regular taxis will only take 3 people max. So if you are a party of 4, you will need 2 taxis. We would have rated this 5 stars if the front desk staff had been more helpful. Other than the front desk manager, they were happy to tell us the way it was done and were not creative in thinking outside of the box for anything that was outside of the ordinary. If you go with a hotel organized guide to take you around the medina on your first day as we did (it was well worth it), make sure you tell him if you don't want to be in a high pressure rug sales showroom or antique store. They bill it as a rug weaving demonstration or antique visit, but it can quickly become a high pressure sales event. Also at the hotel - only one restaurant is open until September.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Eat-Sleep-Walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a lovely time at Maison Arabe, our first time in Marrakech. They looked after us really well and we made good use of the country club swimming pool. The staff were all very friendly and attentive and organized guides and trips without any hassle or problems. The breakfasts were also very good and the setting at dinner time spectacular! I would recommend the spa as well, again lovely staff and a unique experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonfam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at the Maison Arabe June this year. My summary : for us it was a magical stay. We traveled from Casablanca to Marrakesh by taxi, the driver got lost and we ended up very upset after being harassed by local teens, the only very unpleasant episode during our 3 weeks in Morocco. The staff was very comforting, and I must praise them for being the soul of the Riad. It was them that made from this lovely lodge the wonderful place it is. Totally dedicated to the comfort and well being of their guests. Each and every one of them. They were there but unobtrusive. Their advice was always correct and all arrangements in transportation, reservations and guides were done to perfection.
Our room was lovely, large,separated into 2 areas with ample sleeping and seating space. Very private. More a warm and lavish home than a hotel.
This Riad has made wonderful use with the space they have, very tastefully decorated, generous, and with multiple areas for the guests to relax. As things are in Morocco, what you see from outside is not what you find once inside, mystery at every step.
We enjoyed the sumptuous breakfasts, which we had at the pool. Healthy offerings were plenty. There are 2 restaurants and both superb in service, decor and cuisine. Or dinner could be had around the pool. The hotel is nothing but charming, with much imagination. It is, in our memory the only that we would think as a destination by itself. What a creation!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enrique E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here after 2 weeks travelling through rural morocco and were in much need of a touch of comfort and luxury. Arabe did not let us down. We were upgraded to a suite - perfection. The pool on site was gorgeous but we didn't use this as the pool facilities off site were simply amazing and a short trip away. We ate here one evening and the meal was also delicious. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed at the Maison Arabe in February this year with my partner for a Valentine's day break.
We had a suite on the first floor opposite the veranda overlooking the courtyard / dining area and the room was nice, large, clean and very airy; separated into 2 main parts with place to site and flat screen TV etc.

There was a good balcony. The room was air conditioned and the décor / fixtures in the room were all well maintained / clean / in good order.

The hotel itself is lovely - it isn't quite what you expect from the outside when you arrive.

The staff are excellent and attentive, all seemed to speak good English. Reception was always manned by at least 2 people and they were very helpful (to the point of giving us a mobile phone with the Hotel's number stored in it when we went exploring - in case we got lost).

The veranda is a good suntrap where you can sunbathe (or lie in the shade under an umbrella) and the waiters will pass by for you to order drinks.

The piano bar was very relaxed, drinks and snacks were all very good.

Breakfast was excellent as was the evening meal we had in the main dining room (we both had different tagines) and the local wines were also very good.

It isn't the cheapest place in Marrakech but I would say we got what we paid for.
our break was very relaxing and made more so by the hotel and the staff.

I would not hesitate to go again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was one of the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in while traveling abroad . I had the Royal suite and it was wonderful. The bar is georgous with a great bartender, smooth jazz playing on the piano and comfortable seating area. The restaurant is beautiful and the spa incredible .

Room Tip: Get the Royal Suite for a special occasion it is wonderful 3 floors and private rooftop jacuzzi and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#8 of 500 in Marrakech
1,210 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 500 in Marrakech
1,113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 500 in Marrakech
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#21 of 500 in Marrakech
1,409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#42 of 500 in Marrakech
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Arabe

Property: La Maison Arabe
Address: 1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Arabe 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legendary and prestigious hotel boasts 26 exquisitely decorated rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, a new spa, and a choice of 2 large swimming pools (on-site in the medina or at the hotel's country annex, 15 minutes away by complimentary shuttle). The hotel's world-famous Moroccan cooking workshops have become a "must-do" activity in Marrakech. Frommer's describes La Maison Arabe as "the epitome of Moroccan elegance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Maison Arabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Arabe Marrakech
La Maison Arabe Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing