We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Ranked #124 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2011

In a couple of years it will be a proper Riu lovely rooms with free wifi television rubbish but who goes on holiday to watch the tele
food average hygiene poor be very careful what you eat stick to chips pizza etc and you will be fine.
entertainment rubbish one fella every night singing english songs but not very well
weekend the italians arrive say no more the hotel becomes Italian
out of ten for price 6 out of ten for riu 4 but saying that we had a good time would i go back no did i enjoy yes

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chesterlad_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,231 - 2,237 of 2,987 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2011

I liked the room and where we slept. Bit dissapointed about the size could of extended the room a bit more.It would of been nice to have a talbe and a sofa to chill on. the shower in the bathroom is quite dangerous because it is very slippy. The sevice is very good and the waiters are really nice to us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeMeMeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

As ever, reviews are subjective! We wanted a nice, chilled, relaxing holiday and that's exactly what we got. The room was beautiful, as were the main body of the hotel and the grounds. The pool area was big enough (although we had a few towel fairies popping out to the sun loungers before sunrise - wasted effort though as there were always plenty of loungers and parasols) and well kept.
The food was more than adequate with plenty of variety (yes, there were birds scavenging whenever the opportunity arose but, seeing as we sat outside rather than inside, that was only to be expected). The drinks were more than adequate also - even the wine!
As mentioned in other reviews there was a large weekend invasion of Italians, but this had no impact on us at all - they didn't seem to be in the hotel much apart from on the night of arrival and for pre-dinner drinks before being bused out.
The staff were all great - friendly and helpful at all times. Entertainment in Zanzibar wasn't to our taste but we did tolerate sometimes for an hour or two sometimes after leaving the restaurant!
All in all, we got what we wanted for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hrowbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed for 11nights all inclusive with First Choice. Clean hotel with beautiful gardens, good quality of food, with lovley bread, pastries, puddings. Good Soups
aswell. Friendly staff. Clean pool towels and room towels every day. Good airconditioning, not noisy, one of the best nights sleep in hotel and have travelled all
over the world. Bed and pillows good.

They are doing improvements, L'Orangeraie buffet opened again at the beginning of our holiday, breakfast and evening meals. Lunch served at the Buffet restauarant by the pool. No noise of building works while we were relaxing by pool, eating or sleeping.
Things being repainted, replacing broken floor tiles etc. Going to be a first class hotel !
when they are finished with it. We went every other night to the Moroccan Restaurant, because it was very very good, Aicha (lady) runs this with occasional song with musician playing all the time nearly. A chant when opening a bottle of champagne on my birthday, made it special.

Animation team work very hard and deserve praise! Only thing is the lack of entertainment in the evening.

Had a wonderful time in Marrakech and have no hesitation in recomending this hotel or
country to visit. Hope to go back soon.

Well done Tikida Garden Hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank ellajoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We booked to travel to the Tikida Gardens for 2 weeks in May. From the moment we entered the hotel is was a disaster!!
There WAS major building work they are refurbishing one of the restaurants which meant jack hammering from 6am till late in the afternoon dust and mess everywhere.(this was not brought to our attention before travelling)
The food was appalling it definately wasn't 4* standard i wound't even give it a 1*
we were travelling as a family with a young daughter. the broucher stated various activites were avaliable but we found there to be none! no day time entertaiment no evening entertainment no kids club etc etc
Luckly the pool was open although the loungers could do with replacing it was acceptable, the fact that we had to use the same pool towel for over a week was not!
by the end of the first week i had been ill for most of it with food poisoning and our daughter was bored with having nothing to do but swim. we like several other couples tried to complain to the rep to no avail we chose to pay extra to move to theRIU Palmere - which infact was an excellent hotel and definately a 4*.
I will never travel to this hotel and would not reccommend anyone else too a complete waste of hard earned money..... never again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shelljk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Just returned from the RIU Tikida Garden, please ignore the bad reviews, this is a lovely hotel that is peaceful and relaxing.
The food is of a good standard and you will always find something, I have had better and worse so not going to complain about this.
The rooms were cleaned every day, clean towels and change of pool towels.
The staff do their best and most are great, a special mention for Mohammed T in the Zanzibar, he goes out of his way and is excellent.
Now for the down side, every weekend from Friday to Monday an Italian tour party are there.
The dining room is split in to two, 2 thirds for them, 1 third for the rest. now I have no problem with this, however when the rest of us are searching for cutlery, sometimes a table to sit at or a waiter to clean that table!!! The tour party have no shortage of waiters to look after them, tables fully laid etc, etc.
The entertainment in the bar is completely taken over by them with their answer to Demis Roussos who keeps the Italian theme going with his singing all night as if the other nationalities staying there don't exist.It got to the point where people were leaving the bar due to this and animosity was definitely starting to show.
Now I am nor blaming the staff like the waiters, bar staff etc, they are only doing as they are told but this hotel needs to sort its act out if it intends to attract guests from other countries other than Italy and expect people to return.
The answer to this from our tour rep was 'they are only here for the weekend, don't worry'. Sorry but that counts for 2 thirds of my holiday where I felt second class.
RIU management sort yourselves out, a lovely hotel, good staff, great location spoilt by your greed in looking afetr some over others.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
5  Thank sandranick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Me and my partner visited the 1st week in June and we couldn't have been happier with the place.

First impressions as you enter are amazing, beautiful mosaic floors, a fountain in the middle of reception, and then you look up and see the amazing ceiling.

We were given welcome drinks on arrival, and as we arrived later than planned they had kept the restaurant open late so we could eat. Check in took about 5 mins (including changing up money)

The room was lovely and we had an ample sized balcony to relax on.

The food was very nice, fresh cooked pancakes and hot food at breakfast (cooked in front of you), Fresh cooked from scratch pizzas at lunch and dinner, compared to other all inclusive hotels the food was excellent.

The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help you, so long as you showed them common courtesy.

People were out cleaning Every morning, and there was always someone cleaning something.

The hotel provides a free shuttle bus into the centre of the New Town (Place 16 November) It's only a 10-15 minute walk from here to Djema el Fna and the Medina. Although if a couple of you are going to the same place he'll drop you there instead!

All in all I loved this hotel and I love Marrakech, and would definitely return. The hotel has recently been taken over by RIU, and you can see the investment they are starting to put in, as we were leaving a brand new restaurant was being finished off and looked amazing. I can't wait to see what this place looks like when we go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cliffinkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#108 of 500 in Marrakech
2,376 reviews
5 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#86 of 500 in Marrakech
5,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
2.6 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#135 of 500 in Marrakech
1,327 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#104 of 500 in Marrakech
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: | Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#72 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#92 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#142 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £86 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All Inclusive Hotel Riu Tikida Garden opens all year round and lies 3 km from the old inner town of Marrakech, a vibrant metropolis with approx. 800 000 inhabitants, lying at the foot of the Atlas mountains. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal because of its proximity to Marrakech-Menara Airport RAK (7 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 257 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa or get in shape at the fitness center. 1 outdoor pool, 1 indoor pool and 1 children's pool. For the youngest guests there is the RiuLand Kids Club (ages 4-7 & 8-12 years) and for adults, day and evening entertainment. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main restaurant and Moroccan specialty restaurant, 2 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing