We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Ranked #118 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2011

When we arrived it was about 1 in the morning, the hotel said they would have food ready for us and a welcoming drink, well the drink was supposed to be a cocktail but it must have been sat there a few hours and was hot, and the food was leftovers from earlier on in the night! me and my friend only went for a long weekend Thursday to Monday, as two girls we decided not to leave the hotel, when it came to breakfast the first morning we tried a few things, the sausages are not sausages, we didn't eat breakfast again put it that way! They served the same food for dinner that they did for tea the whole time we were there, and there must of only been about 10 things to choose from! Every weekend italians come over and its easy to say that they get priority, there is only 3 restaurant including the buffet one, one night we went into the poolside one to see what the food was like when we walked in a member of staff approached us and asked what nationality we were, when we said english they told we were not alowed in there and thaty it was for italians only! we tryed to book into the morocan restaurant every night but always seemed to be fully booked. There were some bar staff that refused to serve us because we were English an when the maid stopped putting bottled water in our room we went to the bar and asked for a bottle of water to put in the room the refused to give it to us even though we were all inclusive, one night when a bar man did get us a bottle of coke he wanted something in return!!!!!!!! which he DID NOT GET! The only place that has air conditioning is the room! the pool was kept clean all the time, daytime activities the same everyday, night time entertainment was a singer that cant sing and when he forgets the words he mumbles or makes up his own! I could go on forever! considering this is a RIU hotel i was very very disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hayleyeport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,168 - 2,174 of 2,910 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

by reading these reviews i was unsure what to expect from this hotel as they are so varied, but having just returned from a week there with 2 friends i cant really see where all the complaints have come from? I certainly did not notice any 'italian problem' at the weekend and i found it exceptionally clean and the staff all very friendly. The food was very varied so you didnt have to have to same thing for every meal if you didnt want to, VISIT THE MOROCCAN RESTAURANT ONSITE! The traditional Tagine served in the beautiful little building made it a perfect evening getting away from the usual buffet. Day time entertainment was great, very friendly staff always offering different activities but not pressurizing them, though i can agree that the evening entertainment (bar the Wednesday night which had Moroccan street performers like belly dancers) was the same man on a piano, but still good to listen to. From the pictures it is clear to say it is a beautiful hotel and excellent location (free shuttle bus takes you to New town 20 min walk from old town square or 15dirum taxi!) I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjcrease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

In a couple of years it will be a proper Riu lovely rooms with free wifi television rubbish but who goes on holiday to watch the tele
food average hygiene poor be very careful what you eat stick to chips pizza etc and you will be fine.
entertainment rubbish one fella every night singing english songs but not very well
weekend the italians arrive say no more the hotel becomes Italian
out of ten for price 6 out of ten for riu 4 but saying that we had a good time would i go back no did i enjoy yes

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chesterlad_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I liked the room and where we slept. Bit dissapointed about the size could of extended the room a bit more.It would of been nice to have a talbe and a sofa to chill on. the shower in the bathroom is quite dangerous because it is very slippy. The sevice is very good and the waiters are really nice to us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeMeMeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

As ever, reviews are subjective! We wanted a nice, chilled, relaxing holiday and that's exactly what we got. The room was beautiful, as were the main body of the hotel and the grounds. The pool area was big enough (although we had a few towel fairies popping out to the sun loungers before sunrise - wasted effort though as there were always plenty of loungers and parasols) and well kept.
The food was more than adequate with plenty of variety (yes, there were birds scavenging whenever the opportunity arose but, seeing as we sat outside rather than inside, that was only to be expected). The drinks were more than adequate also - even the wine!
As mentioned in other reviews there was a large weekend invasion of Italians, but this had no impact on us at all - they didn't seem to be in the hotel much apart from on the night of arrival and for pre-dinner drinks before being bused out.
The staff were all great - friendly and helpful at all times. Entertainment in Zanzibar wasn't to our taste but we did tolerate sometimes for an hour or two sometimes after leaving the restaurant!
All in all, we got what we wanted for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hrowbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed for 11nights all inclusive with First Choice. Clean hotel with beautiful gardens, good quality of food, with lovley bread, pastries, puddings. Good Soups
aswell. Friendly staff. Clean pool towels and room towels every day. Good airconditioning, not noisy, one of the best nights sleep in hotel and have travelled all
over the world. Bed and pillows good.

They are doing improvements, L'Orangeraie buffet opened again at the beginning of our holiday, breakfast and evening meals. Lunch served at the Buffet restauarant by the pool. No noise of building works while we were relaxing by pool, eating or sleeping.
Things being repainted, replacing broken floor tiles etc. Going to be a first class hotel !
when they are finished with it. We went every other night to the Moroccan Restaurant, because it was very very good, Aicha (lady) runs this with occasional song with musician playing all the time nearly. A chant when opening a bottle of champagne on my birthday, made it special.

Animation team work very hard and deserve praise! Only thing is the lack of entertainment in the evening.

Had a wonderful time in Marrakech and have no hesitation in recomending this hotel or
country to visit. Hope to go back soon.

Well done Tikida Garden Hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank ellajoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We booked to travel to the Tikida Gardens for 2 weeks in May. From the moment we entered the hotel is was a disaster!!
There WAS major building work they are refurbishing one of the restaurants which meant jack hammering from 6am till late in the afternoon dust and mess everywhere.(this was not brought to our attention before travelling)
The food was appalling it definately wasn't 4* standard i wound't even give it a 1*
we were travelling as a family with a young daughter. the broucher stated various activites were avaliable but we found there to be none! no day time entertaiment no evening entertainment no kids club etc etc
Luckly the pool was open although the loungers could do with replacing it was acceptable, the fact that we had to use the same pool towel for over a week was not!
by the end of the first week i had been ill for most of it with food poisoning and our daughter was bored with having nothing to do but swim. we like several other couples tried to complain to the rep to no avail we chose to pay extra to move to theRIU Palmere - which infact was an excellent hotel and definately a 4*.
I will never travel to this hotel and would not reccommend anyone else too a complete waste of hard earned money..... never again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shelljk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#109 of 501 in Marrakech
2,268 reviews
2.6 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#132 of 501 in Marrakech
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#101 of 501 in Marrakech
384 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#143 of 501 in Marrakech
955 reviews
8.3 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: | Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#143 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £69 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing