We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Ranked #114 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Ely
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful city”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We had decided to have a non beach holiday and were feeling a bit cautious about this, but what a lovely surprise.
Not only was the hotel up to the standard we expected but Marrakesh was better than we had envisaged.
Hotel room was a little bit more basic than we are used to but this was not a problem. Hotel and grounds very clean, lovely gardens , staff very helpful and friendly and a good selection of food.
Use the reception to change your currency, very good rates no need to hunt around for deals.
Reception are also very helpful with any query you may have.
Only problem for us was the smoking. While we realise the hotel caters for everyone there was only one no smoking area, the disco bar, this is fine for shows and dancing but not for sitting and chatting. Thought the reception area would have been a logical place for no smoking as it is the entrance and it gives the first impression of the hotel, not good when very smokey.
But despite that, Marrakesh was fascinating. We found it to be a modern clean city with so much to see and do and we didn't do it all so a return is planned.
Trips we did do were, the 4 half days,discover Marrakesh, Ourika Valley, Gardens ( with horse and carriage ride included) and Souks and Medina. All day 4 x 4 Atlas Mountain was fabulous. We also took the shuttle bus into the city to go to Jemaa El Fna square, an absolute must.So colourful, a mixture of aromas from the different food stalls, activity that is carriages, bikes, taxis, cars,van and people is mind blowing.Not to be missed.
Apart from that it was my birthday and we had a lovely evening in the Moroccan restaurant so a big thanks to Aisha and staff.

If you don't like to haggle you can always go to the fixed price shopping area which is on Mohammad V Avenue just a short walk before you get to the square. All in all visit Marrakesh now.

Room Tip: We were in block 3 near the Zanzibar bar and reception with no problems.Not far to any facility no m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,136
    1,103
    390
    106
    44
See reviews for
693
1,301
57
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

spent one week at tikida garden,worth every one of its 4 stars,the price i paid was extremely good value for money.i choose fully inclusive the food was very well prepared and very tasty,though a little repetative food was plenty.the resturant staff ,chefs and manager i feel did a brilliant job and well worth a small after dinner tip,your glass was always topped up with free wine,and had no problems as all the staff spoke pretty good english,after dinner we relaxed in the bar where you had a good selection of beers and spirits good value if you are fully inclusive.at reception on arrival you experiance a very friendly and helpful team to welcome you. we stayed in room 441 which was was a good size nice bathroom and spotlessly clean with a balcony to sit out on.the grounds ere a plesure to walk around with plenty of amenities to keep you occupied.a visit to the souks and the square is an experiance but do not take any crap from the taxi drivers they will rip you off given the chance we paid 50 for cabs to the square,and 30 for a petite cab,if you have children be aware in the souks you will have to dodge mopeds and bikes which tear through without much care for life or limb,but still enjoyed it,woul happily stay at the tikida garden again.

Room Tip: rooms in the 400s
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric186259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We returned from the Riu tikida gardens two weeks ago and I wish we were back there!
We left booking late & the price had jumped up a little, but im not sorry we decided on Marrakesh for our trip.

Transfers: We traveled from the airport via taxi: 250 dh for four + luggage (we met people in the que to share with). Its expensive when you compare to the city taxis but one company has a monopoly and its still cheaper than the tour operators. Return was 85 pre-arranged.

Check in at the hotel was quick, exchange rates in the hotel were similar to the airport.

The room: no frills but what we expected. The bathroom could do with modernising (some rooms have been done this year). Theres a safe & TV, the bed was singles pushed together but the cleaner made them as one the next day. We slept really well for the full stay, theres noisy birds outside in a morning but we were prepared for it!

Facilities & staff: The day entertainment crew were great, when we wernt in the city there was plenty to do! Theres just one pool and the week we were there it wasnt too busy to get chairs. The gym was a dissapointment, my partner would love to have used it in a morning when it was cool but it was only open 3pm-7pm and it wasnt made clear pre-arrival. Theres a bar thats a bit like a conservative club and not really our thing but also a basement bar and dancefloor. We saw an african show that was great and a couple that was poor fillers, the dj was terrible, we like a dance, as did others we made friend with and this guy thought he was in pasha, completely wrong and cleared the floor every night.

The bar staff were nice (without the need to tip, nice to you if your nice to them!).

Food; we enjoyed the breakfast and lunches imensley they were great. The evening meals werent as good as the lunches and a bit repetetive. The morrocan restaurant was lovely!!
I did get a bad tummy whilst there and after but I cant say it was the hotel because I ate in the city too.

Drinks: The wine was very bitter and we drank beer and cocktails instead. The ingredients in the cocktails seemed to differ with each memeber of staff from perfect to undrinkable.

Into the city: the bus service is limited and it drops you off between the old and new town which isnt really usefull for either, we used taxis more frequently than normally. The same men are always waiting to offer taxis and carridge rides at the bus drop off.

TIP: AVOID the taxi drivers directly outside the complex, or at least barter with them for a good price to the city (they wanted 150 one way when we'd been getting back from the city for 40).

Also women in the city trying to put bangles on your wrists were quite rude and grabbed hold of you, difficult to avoid and I hadnt read about them before.

Enjoy it, for the price and time of year, when it was beautifull, we had a great time!

Room Tip: We stayed downstairs and it was fine but I think the ones up a floor were already modernised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yorkshire38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

we got home on Friday night/saturday morning and we had a FABULOUS holiday.

The staff are wonderful, the hotel was so clean and tidy, the food was high standard.

The gardens are really peaceful and lovely to walk through if it gets a bit hot.

We had mixed weather but it is October, it was hot most days though and cloudy on some which was better in a way on the morning trip to the Atlas mountains.

We loved the madness of the medina and the calmness of the gardens.

I don't know what the people who have posted negative comments were looking for ? The rooms could do with a little updating i.e. the hairdryers !! But there are flat screen tvs on the wall and they are spotless and cleaned every day with the little touches of dressing the bed etc

Thoroughly enjoyed the holiday, loved the hotel and loved Marrakech and we will be going again

our waiter Abdulwahed needs a special mention as he was SO attentive as were many of the other waiters and bar staff

Kathy and Sue
Liverpool

Room Tip: we were in room 351 which faced the gardens and was very quiet for us which was great but the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KJK1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

After reading a few "bad" reviews on here I was slightly apprehensive but OMG, I have no complaints about this hotel what so ever. Me and my friend arrived at 3am so had no idea where we were, transfer to the hotel was about 15 minutes and check in was quick. When we woke the next day we were greeted with the sunshine and a spotlessly clean hotel. We were in room 280 and to be honest when i had read about asking to be in the 400's I was sceptical .... the room was perfect, spacious, clean a massive balcony and a stones throw from the pool etc. After all you only use it to shower and sleep !!

We signed up for three half day trips, History tour (excellent if you have tour guide Khalid you are in for a treat, he was excellent) , We went into the Atlas mountains and visited a traditional Berber village/house ... a must for everyone and the last one was the gardens of YSL with a horse and carriage ride . The Medina (old town) is amazing, get on the shuttle bus and go, we mainly used taxis in and out and its only 10 mins from the hotel to the centre. The night market is not to be missed either, we got hopelessly lost but luckily a local took us back to the centre for a few Dirhams.

Marrakesh is an amazing place, the hotel is in the perfect situation, it is quiet, peaceful, good food, great service, there are no annoying "childrens hour" at night that you have to endure, |Zanzibar is perfect for chilling or the entertainment room downstairs is good to have a boogie if you want to. I would definately return to this hotel if I visit Marrakesh again.

Dirhams guide we took 1000 dirhams from the cash point on arrival which was roughly £84.00

One last thing .... haggle haggle haggle :O)

Room Tip: the higher (3rd floor) rooms have bigger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rhian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Myself & my wife have just returned this morning from the Riu Tikida garden, she suffers with M.E. it was a weeks break to chill out & relax, we found that the Gardens the pool the food were all fantastic, in the morning we could hear the birds singing in the trees very loudly, it was an amazing sound, the temperature hit 39 degrees, we unfortunately never left the hotel due to my wifes fatigue, but others we met went to town several times & enjoyed it, one lady went for a walk on her own outside the Hotel & was Mugged twice on the way back, Lesson Learnt i do believe, Staff were Fantastic, Entertainment staff were on the go all the time, Yussef the pool guy, Bob, & Salim who still denies being Gay, LOL, were so much fun, Morrroccon restaurant was really nice, we went twice, you can even try Brains if that's your sort of thing, other guests were all chilling, never heard anyone have a bad word to say, sun beds were a plenty, i would rise at 5.30 am, go for a walk around the grounds listening to the birds, i would say take a Travel Mug so you can go to breakfast fill it up with coffee then take it back to your room & sit on the balcony in the morning, Sunbeds were still available at 9 am, so i don't know what people are talking about, even at 2pm there are plenty around the pool, people will always complain about something, it makes them feel important. While we were there Riu opened up downstairs for evening entertainment, as we don't do the evening entertainment we can't comment, but stuck our head in the door one night gto see lots of people dancing on the floor to old 80's music, looked like they were all having fun, all i can say, is if you want a chilling break like we did, this is the place, if you want to keep your room on for a late checkout like we did, we paid 50 Pounds from 11 am to 6pm, we also booked on line & got the taxi, we were there before everyone else on our flight, got checked in with no qeues, we got romm 330 over looking the pool, ground floor, room was nice & clean, pillows were like Bricks, my only criticism was the pillows, next time we will take our own, hope you all enjoy your stay as much as we did. Will be returning same time next year God willing!

Room Tip: We had room 330 right next to Morning & afternoon restaurant, with pool view, best view in the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marky06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

What a fantastic week!! I have fallen in love with the country and the people.

The weather was beautiful, hotel was fantastic, staff are very helpful and 99% can speak English no problem, food was great.

The highlight for me was the animation team, they are excellent fun, Mr Bob is very lucky he wasn't packed in my suitcase and brought back to England, no male has ever made me laugh so much!

We went to Marrakech as 2 single women and were slightly dubious as to whether we would be safe and feel comfortable, we had NO problems whatsoever, wonderful people with a superb outlook on life.

Can't wait to go back..............................................

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#108 of 499 in Marrakech
2,110 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.0 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#97 of 499 in Marrakech
4,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#239 of 499 in Marrakech
2,333 reviews
12.7 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
#134 of 499 in Marrakech
2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Property: Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Address: | Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#84 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#101 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#144 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing