We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing week at Tikida Gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Ranked #120 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Have recently returned from a weeks stay at the Tikida Garden. We could not fault the staff who were always keen to make sure that you were comfortable. Little touches which were nice we're the welcoming smile by the Chef every time you went in for a meal and also the entertainment staff welcoming you each evening into the restaurant. The food was basic but reasonable, however, the real trick was to go into the separate restaurant providing local cuisine. This was fantastic and also came with gentle live music to add a special ambience. The weather was extraordinarily hot even by local standards so families with young children should bear this in mind in the summer holidays....it reached 49 c during our stay...phew! Fortunately no probs at all with air conditioning though. The sunbed routine which a lot of people seem to get agitated about was fine, we wondered over at 8am and reserved beds just behind the pool, which was great as there were orange trees providing welcome shade. The atmosphere around the pool was great, no thumping music, just regular activities provided by the hard working entertainment staff and chilled music for the most part. Would certainly go back.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,880 - 1,886 of 2,908 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

Hotel is very clean, food ok . Not enough sun beds to go around you need to get up before 7 to get a pool side spot.
Be very carefull when using the safe in the rooms my wife and myself had money taken from the safe, the safe was locked we went down to the pool came back about 5 the safe was still locked but money was missing this happened on two occasions small amounts were taken both times,in total £110 went missing, it seems someone has a master key,the management said this could not happen but yes it can

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

arrived 23rd July 2012, 10 days. Staff are fantastic, hotel clean. Beds not very comfortable, asked reception to change mattress after 1st night which they did straight away.
Sunbed situation was like fawlty towers - very funny if you are an early riser like me, had to be there for 7am and not allowed to move until 8am. Some people had to put their hands up to leave the sunbed to go to the toilet and children had to get up early as parents werent allowed to reserve bed. Management were selective over whose towels they removed.
Food was a struggle, very repetitive, my son and myself lived on chips and salad for every meal as we like quite plain food. My husband tried a lot of food but spent the last 5 days of the holiday stuck in the room with severe diarrhoea - dont know if it was food, heat or a bug.
Got ripped off when booked a trip to aqua park with rep - charged same price for adults and kids then the guide on the coach said that wasnt right but couldnt do anything.
Weather was extremely hot, no air con in reception area or zanzibar.
Overall, a nice hotel with excellent staff but wouldnt return as there is nothing really to do once you have done the full day marrakech history trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mortolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Still here having great time. Can't fault the hotel. They are making a stand to solve the sunbed situation with good effect. The first morning we were here I woke early and went into our lovely balcony overlooking the pool and at 6.10 was amazed to see people in sunbeds. We refuse to go before 8 and have got sunbeds away in the peace of the lovely gardens within 30 seconds of the pool. Don't let this put you off. Full review when we get home next weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chrisontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This is not a 4* hotel.
Got back from staying in this hotel for 10 nights. On arrivial told there was an evening meal for us. Turned out to be the remainers of the salad from the evening meal. Not good. The other meals weren't much better.Food was always the same, and very bland. Buffet was just as bad at lunchtime.The Morroccan restauarant was good and made a change from the main resturant.But still seemed to lack the spice you would expect. Be careful if you eat the fresh fish, make sure it has been cooked properly, this caused an upset stomach on my 2nd day.
My daughters was unable to sleep in the bed provided so spent the time sleeping with us. The kids club was poorly run and the children seemed to be able to wonder off at thier will !! !Letting her walk around the pool on her own isn't a good thing when you trust your child into thier care.Kids disco was ok when done by Salim, otherwise very poor.
Had to get up at and down the pool by 07:00 to try and get a descent bed around the pool and a brolly,You had to stay till 08:00 or the pool staff removed your things, not a bad thing. People still stole bed, brollys or tables when you went to breakfast.The pool was small and very much like the Tv show Benidorm, the way the bed where packed on top of each other. The only thing missing was the old girl on her electric wheeelchair.
The staff where polite enough,but limited English,the maid was poor. You could get bottles of water from reception, but these where warm. The fridge in your room was empty.Thought you might get some cans of coke or something, I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone. A very poor effort of a Riu hotel

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moby1Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

First of all it was a little bit of a struggle to get sunbeds past 8am despite the hotel stating that sunbeds were not to be occupied until this time so we had to get up earlier and earlier to get a reasonable spot. This was resolved with a swiftish delivery of extra beds to satisfy demand. The hotel is primarily clean and comfortable and extremely well kept much like the expansive grounds and beautiful gardens. The Spa is excellent and definately worth a visit for a massage. The staff are very accommodating and friendly. There is food and drink available pretty much all day but it can get a little repetitive so its worth venturing out of the grounds to explore other options such as La Comptoir Dana cocktail bar where the food is excellent and reasonably priced with added entertainment. We had a fantastic holiday and this hotel helped to make it special . Would return this resort should we return to Marrakech in the future. Impressed all round.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool or you could get a view of the car park . Balconies around the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mattston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This hotel is fantastic all round.... the rooms, food, pool and entertainment.
We stayed for two weeks arriving home yesterday and I dont normally write reviews but thought his hotel desevered one.....
The rooms are spaceious we had one close to the pool room 327 and was kept clean and tidy. The food in all the restaurants was excellent. There was a vast variety of choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner. The chiefs were always smiling. The bar man at the pool bar Abdulla after the first day remember my husband and as soon as he walk in he placed two beers on the bar for him....
We always managed to get beds next to the pool only had had to be up at 7.30 and wait till 8.00 before we could leave them. However this did become a problem towards the end of our 2nd week due to the number in guests increasing however the pool guy one day did try to stop people reseverving beds for more than one person but this didn't go to plan but the hotel the next day did take a delivery of a number of extras beds to be used in the gardens. Our last fews day we did have to get up at 6.30 for beds but as we had met other people the time past fast till 8.00 with us having a coffee's and a brew to pass the morning.
The entertainment staff we all friendly and fantastic the girls Hasna was brilliant (we miss you) and Fbtisam and Gizlane were all great with the kids and Sam made our holiday he was great fun in the french bowls tournements etc .... always kept you entertained and if you didn't want to join in they were fine with it ..... Lots of games darts, badminton, football, tennis, french bowls going on during the day plus cooking and learning the lanugage.
Overall this was one of our best holidays. The hotel was out of the way but you didn't need to venture out as the food and entertainment was excellent. would recommend this hotel and the brand Riu we now fancy the Tikida Beach hotel..........

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickardshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#109 of 502 in Marrakech
2,264 reviews
2.6 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#131 of 502 in Marrakech
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#97 of 502 in Marrakech
384 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#143 of 502 in Marrakech
955 reviews
8.3 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: | Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#143 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £71 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing