We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday and very nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Ranked #115 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We had a holiday in Early December with my two young kids in the Riu Tikida Garden Hotel and staff could not assist us anymore, The Manager Pedro was always asking around if we were ok and if there was anything else need doing. I also got a nanny to lookafter my young boy and she was very kind and helpful. The food was excellent and we would highly reccomend it to anyone as one of the best times spent abroad. Also the Spa is well relaxing. We all had a great time.

Room Tip: we got an upgrade to a Jr. Suite, well worth asking for it.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shadinie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,858)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,713 - 1,719 of 2,858 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012

WELCOME: On our arrival we were greeted with cocktails and smiles from staff whilst being assisted by with our luggage. After a quick check in (neighbouring/balcony adjoining rooms due to party of 5) our bags were taken to our rooms for a small tip. The welcome meeting the following day was very informative! This was my second trip to Morocco is 12 months but my first stay in Marrakech!

POOL AREA: The major down fall was the limited number of sun loungers and limited space around the pool. This resulted in people going to the pool area to reserve beds....this was 6am! Ridiculous for what should be a relaxing holiday! 6am is a time to be in bed at not queuing for a sunbathing space! The pool men monitored this by removing beds taken by towels when people were not actually on the bed at that time.....World war 3 as you can imagine! Particularly for families or large groups who reserved for others. This lead to many an argument at 6am. You had to stay with the bed until 7am to prevent your bed/towel from being taken.

The pool area was small given the size of the hotel and although there were areas you could sunbathe in in the gardens there still was the issue of people sunbathing side by side. A little too close for comfort.

RESTAURANT: There was a wide range of foods. So much choice! Freshly made and a regular rotation of foods. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

STAFF: Very friendly (minus the pool men) and helpful.

ROOMS: Very clean and tidy. The maids came in on a daily basis changing towels and making beds.

ENTERTAINMENT: The activities in the day were fun and regular and always gave you something to do if sunbathing wasnt for you. This included water aerobics, tea making, darts, football and table tennis plus more. However the entertainment at night wasnt that great, it was limited and at times uncomfortable to watch. The entertainment room had limited seating and restricted viewing. We ventured out some nights for a bit of variety.

TRIPS/ACTIVITIES: We booked a message with the on site spa.....a little expensive. We also arranged to go to the souks, this was arranged via the hotel who contacted a taxi company for us. We exchanged numbers with the taxi driver and used him for the rest of the week. He was very accommodating and having taken advice from the hotel staff the price was most reasonable. As a group of 5 girls the souks could be intimidating at times, particularly at night, despite being covered (appropriately dressed) we were constantly approached by men particularly traders who at times made inappropriate comments/gestures as we passed.

Generally the night life left much to be desired out in the town. Females were rarely seen our so late and the places what we considered to be "safe" we're tourist hotspots such as cocktails bars ( which were very expensive).


OVERALL: We would definitely without a shadow of a doubt recommend Riu hotels! This one has a few things we would change due to personal preferences but overall a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deb27nov85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Service and attention given by staff was truly excellent, polite, friendly, attentive and a shining example of how staff can be trained to perform a first class service. Food here is good, plenty of choice. This was an 'inclusive' deal and that included drinks. Free shuttle service to city takes around 15 minutes.

The WiFi in the reception area is not good and this is the only aspect that needs improvement.
Entertainment most nights offered a variety that vatered for most tastes. Spa facilities good.

I wish we had hotels of this standard at this price in the UK!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have more patio space, balconies on higher flors limited space
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DavidJHopcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My husband and I travelled to Marrakech in December not knowing what to expect as we have never taken a holiday so late in the year before. We need not have worried, the Tikida Garden provided us with one of the nicest holidays we have ever had. The hotel was spotless and very comfortable, the gardens delightful, the food was excellent and the choice catered for all tastes. Most of all the staff were the most friendly and helpful I have ever come across. Our Thomson rep Sandra was most helpful and informative and helped us choose some excellent excursions. We wanted a restful holiday so did not choose any of the more gruelling trips, but enjoyed the full day to Essaouira and the half day trips to The Gardens, The Souks and The History Tour. On the remainder of our days we found plenty to do and see. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation, infact i might even go there again!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Exceptional service, friendly staff in every department, plentiful and high quality food & drinks, just 10 minutes by taxi to the Medina but located in an oasis of gardens, pool, leisure facilities, and sport facilities; large hotel built in a traditional style with all necessary amenities. Excellent value for money for 2 parents and 2 young adult children, based on an all inclusive deal over Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PandCLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Stayed there 2 weeks ago, was excellent value for money, the rooms where clean & spacious, the indoor swimming pool had good facilities. The food was really good the outdoor pool was cold although I would expect that this time of year, the excursions where brilliant as specially the trip to the kasha’s & over the Atlas mountains was how can I say, well it was Spectacular. Our holiday rep Sandra was excellent and very friendly.

Thompson airways was very good as an airline we flew on the Brand-new Boeing 737-800 with the new Boeing sky interior quite an improvement over the older 737's.

I would definitely go back to Morocco again sometime in the future as it was a relaxing & totally enjoyable holiday to which I will have life long memories & would defiantly recommend seeing Marrakesh for your-self If you’ve never been there before & staying at the Tikida Gardens Hotel. Thanks for a wonderful holiday Thompson.

James

Room Tip: Our was the best we stayed in Room 274 was the best in my opinion as it was near to the swimming poo...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teksing888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Friendly staff clean rooms well maintained gardens. Our room was spotless which was also the case throughout the resort. Free shuttle bus was good for taking you to the Medina be careful of the taxis they will rip you off.Only downside was the bed - it wasn't comfy and the pillows are very hard.All the staff are very helpful and polite and very professional, we had a lovely time here and kids loved the kids club. will most certainly book again. Weather was great too for December Mid 20's all week but it goes very cold in the evening rooms have very good heating too.

Room Tip: We stayed in 405 and 406 a bit away from main hotel but lovely and quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzisaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#104 of 501 in Marrakech
2,196 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#245 of 501 in Marrakech
2,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#93 of 501 in Marrakech
5,105 reviews
8.3 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
2.6 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#132 of 501 in Marrakech
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: | Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#143 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £73 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing