We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel in a great winter destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Ranked #116 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Me and my wife fancied a break over new year and Marrakech was a choice we decided on after weighing all our options up.I have to say it was a great choice and the winter weather we experienced was great and far better than was predicted on all the weather forecasting sites i looked at prior to our holiday. We sunbathed every day until about 5 o clock and the temperature was in the 20s everyday although it did go quite cool at night, so you do need to wrap up warm at night
The hotel was very nice and i would reccomend it very highly although there was a couple of things that i must mention later.our room was very nice, the staff were very nice, the food was nice and i found the all inclusive deal to be excellent value bearing in mind this was our 1st venture into the all inclusive style..I found the general ambience of the hotel to be excellent and we met alot of very nice people and felt at home almost immediately at this hotel.the hotel shuttle was a mystery though because it drops you off no where near to the main square which is where we all want to go and instead you are dropped off about 25 minutes walk away and i couldnt understand why because it still meant you either did the long walk in to the main area or you stilll had to get a taxi which was not what you would expect if you are getting a shuttle you think is to the main action area.
Marrakech itself we found was very exciting and you cant fail to get a buzz when you arrive at the main square. it really is an unbelievabley exciting place and just full of exciting things and out of the ordinary things going on to really keep you enthralled. things like snake charmers , musicians, boxing, story tellers , and just general random sites just constantly keep you enthralled with the whole place. Just off the square the souks are amazing also and we dont go along with the comments you sometimes see of harrasment and not feeling comfortable etc. we did feel safe and i think that you just need to obviously keep your wits about you but just enjoy the whole experience for the originality that this place offers,You must barter if you do want to buy anything and i think about 25 to 30 percent of the original asking price is about the general final priceto pay. e g i bought a silver plated berber tea set with 6 glasses for 425 dirrams after being asked 1600 at 1st.I must reccomend that you do an Hammam steam room . massage etc in 1 of the many places offering this around mixed in within the souks. We paid 300 each for a 30 minute hammam followed by a half hour full body massage , but it was a truly excellent experience and i must say far cheaper and authentic than the similar things that are offered in the hotel spa.
One thing i must mention is that my wifes I Phone went missing from her bag on our last day as we chatted by the pool to say a few goodbyes and it has not been found since, and a friend we made at the hotel also had his phone go missing earlier in the week and that was never found either. so just bear this in mind and be very watchful of where you leave your mobie phones.I certainly wouldnt want this to put you off going to this hotel because it is very good and extremely good value for money but its apoint that i think you need to be made aware of. allin all its a great holiday destination and a very good hotel and if i return to Morroco i would stay here again and we had a great weeks holiday in the sunshine at new year, IT WAS GREAT,

Room Tip: I would go for an high level room if its practical for you because the ground level seemed a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,725 - 1,731 of 2,877 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

We arrived on December 31st for a weeks stay on an All Inclusive basis. When we arrived we were greeted by a cool drink and booked in quickly, we were then shown to our room . The room was clean and comfortable with twin beds and also a seperate bathroom and toilet.There was a balcony with table and chairs and we had a view of the swimming pool. There was also a free safe in the wardrobe.We did find the beds and pillows to be quite hard but this may have been just our personal opinion.
That evening there was a gala dinner and everyone had worked really hard to make this a special evening.The tables all looked wonderful with gold table runners and floral centre pieces as well as gold candles. The food was also lovely and again they had pulled out all the stops with a huge choice and there seemed to be something for everyone.The wine was served at the table and glasses were topped up often, and again nothing to complain about the wine was good.
After dinner we went through to the bar to wait for the next part of the evening, unfortunately although the bar was busy there was no entertainment or music.There was some entertainment down stairs but it was standing room only and seemed to be the younger hotel guests who were down there.Disappointing - we were in bed by 12.15!
We used the hotel bus to go into Marrakech and this was a good service but it is a long walk from where the bus lets you off to the square or the souks. We used a taxi from outside the hotel (not the ones at the gate, stop one on the road they are half the price about 50dr) and he took us to the fixed price artisan centre. This was a great way to discover what we should be paying for things and it was also full of the most wonderful carpets ,furniture , bags, shoes, jewellery everthing you would ever want to buy.We then ventured into the maze of shops and stalls and found this a wonderful if odd experience.Watch for the "Dentist" selling second hand false teeth,the snail stalls and the water seller.
The only negative we found were the ladies doing henna tattoo's who refused to take no for an answer and took your hand and would not let go until they had covered your hand in henna.They then demanded huge amounts of money which we refused to pay for them spending two minutes putting this mess on my hand and they were quite intimidating when we gave them some money they still wanted more but we refused. I think a lot of people will be pressured into paying for something they did not want or ask for.Beware!

It was good to go back to the Tikida Gardens after the hustle and bustle and enjoy dinner and and a drink. Watch out for the Africa Show it was great!
All in all we had a great time and found the people of Morrocco and the staff at Tikida Gardens in particular to be kind, helpful lovely people who want you to have a great holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This Hotel is very difficult to review. We stayed in Room 390 overlooking the Pool during the Christmas Holiday, the room was great but the wife said the bed was too hard. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the Hotel is exceptionally clean and tidy. We did not like the 'Zanzibar" Bar and found it was very claustrophobic and smelt of cigarettes, so we spent most of our time in the chilly Foyer where at least the Wi-Fi sort of worked. The evening entertainment was disappointing with too many drums, however, the Fire-Eater was brilliant especially when his grass skirt caught fire. Although it was hot during midday, the mornings and evenings were very cold. The outdoor pool was so cold only two very brave people dared to enter the water and exited a very blue colour. The indoor pool by comparison was lovely and warm and surprisingly very few people swam in there. The daytime activities were sparse (aquarobics were nonexistent) and I can only assume that the volunteers were recruited from the sun-worshipers who had grabbed the best of the pool side sun loungers and nobody else got a look in. However the Tagine cookery class was brilliant. The Breakfast, Lunch and Evening food was excellent with plenty of choice and variety, the drinks were superb and I can recommend the non alcoholic cocktails. The Christmas Eve Gala Dinner was brilliant but a pity that the coffee is served in the depressing 'Zanzibar' Bar. By the way forget about the 1001 Nights Restaurant it doesn't live up to the hype. Marrakesh is great and we did the three tours ( Souks, Gardens and History) Just remember that you will always end up in a shop and being a captive audience you will be pressurised to buy. The wonderful Carriage ride made up for the dreadful Garden Tour. Myself and a couple of the other guests did get a funny tummy but we were unable to identify the cause as we had spent a lot of time at the Medina with the flies, spit and snot! Just to finish the anoying continuous water hammer was never fixed although we reported it to the manager.One of the most magical memories was the early morning 'calling to prayer' that echoed across this wonderful city.

Room Tip: 300 Block was quiet and had a good view, top floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

we arrived on 28th December and had wall to wall sun till we left on 4th Jan! around 24degrees so we were happy! The hotel entrance is amazing but... it will be full of smoke , as will the bar area so be warned if you dont like this!! the grounds are pretty with plently of places to lounge the day away, although the outdoor pool is not heated so too cold to swim in it. The rooms are clean and spacious - no real complaints on that front.The staff at the hotel are great, and the manager excellent. The main restaurant food is decent but does get a bit "samey" after a week. the 1001 nights Morrocan restaurant is lovely food and we ate there twice. Plently of drink available although of course non- uk brands etc.

Room Tip: all rooms have balcony and view so no real winners!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Battie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We went to the Riu for the Christmas holidays, we had a fabulous time, greeted by a nice cocktail on arrival (another bonus is the airport is only 20 mins away), staff were mostly very friendly - one or two of the barmen in the Zanzibar came across as slightly grumpy at times, but overall the staff were lovely and helpful and exceedingly polite. We used a private guide for our first venture into Marrakech and the souks - I thoroughly recommend doing this, they show you places you would not normally see if you were on your own, and we certainly felt very comfortable with him (I have his mobile number if anyone wants it please contact me). We used the guide for a trip to Essaouria on the coast as well stopping at numerous places on the way - goats in the trees outside the Argan Oil factory - a sight you cannot miss! Once we had got our bearings with the guide we were happy to go about on our own, as for those who say the traders in the Souks hassle them - rubbish! try shopping in the markets in Beijing if you want hassle, the souks are a walk in the park believe me! The Main square at night is buzzing, fabulous experience for the noise and sights alone. Another must do is the trip over the Atlas Mountains and into the Sahara for a night under the stars - we went with a crowd of 20 all of us in 4 x 4 vehicles, stopping at some really interesting place including desert villages etc., Food all included - once again by very friendly people. We booked it through our rep at the hotel - go for it! Christmas was celebrated on Christmas Eve, bubbly and a Gala Dinner - all very well done. Food at this Riu is exceptionally good, many, many choices and all to a good standard. One comment - the beds are quite hard - and take your own pillows!! We will definately be returning to this Hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We had a holiday in Early December with my two young kids in the Riu Tikida Garden Hotel and staff could not assist us anymore, The Manager Pedro was always asking around if we were ok and if there was anything else need doing. I also got a nanny to lookafter my young boy and she was very kind and helpful. The food was excellent and we would highly reccomend it to anyone as one of the best times spent abroad. Also the Spa is well relaxing. We all had a great time.

Room Tip: we got an upgrade to a Jr. Suite, well worth asking for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shadinie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

WELCOME: On our arrival we were greeted with cocktails and smiles from staff whilst being assisted by with our luggage. After a quick check in (neighbouring/balcony adjoining rooms due to party of 5) our bags were taken to our rooms for a small tip. The welcome meeting the following day was very informative! This was my second trip to Morocco is 12 months but my first stay in Marrakech!

POOL AREA: The major down fall was the limited number of sun loungers and limited space around the pool. This resulted in people going to the pool area to reserve beds....this was 6am! Ridiculous for what should be a relaxing holiday! 6am is a time to be in bed at not queuing for a sunbathing space! The pool men monitored this by removing beds taken by towels when people were not actually on the bed at that time.....World war 3 as you can imagine! Particularly for families or large groups who reserved for others. This lead to many an argument at 6am. You had to stay with the bed until 7am to prevent your bed/towel from being taken.

The pool area was small given the size of the hotel and although there were areas you could sunbathe in in the gardens there still was the issue of people sunbathing side by side. A little too close for comfort.

RESTAURANT: There was a wide range of foods. So much choice! Freshly made and a regular rotation of foods. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

STAFF: Very friendly (minus the pool men) and helpful.

ROOMS: Very clean and tidy. The maids came in on a daily basis changing towels and making beds.

ENTERTAINMENT: The activities in the day were fun and regular and always gave you something to do if sunbathing wasnt for you. This included water aerobics, tea making, darts, football and table tennis plus more. However the entertainment at night wasnt that great, it was limited and at times uncomfortable to watch. The entertainment room had limited seating and restricted viewing. We ventured out some nights for a bit of variety.

TRIPS/ACTIVITIES: We booked a message with the on site spa.....a little expensive. We also arranged to go to the souks, this was arranged via the hotel who contacted a taxi company for us. We exchanged numbers with the taxi driver and used him for the rest of the week. He was very accommodating and having taken advice from the hotel staff the price was most reasonable. As a group of 5 girls the souks could be intimidating at times, particularly at night, despite being covered (appropriately dressed) we were constantly approached by men particularly traders who at times made inappropriate comments/gestures as we passed.

Generally the night life left much to be desired out in the town. Females were rarely seen our so late and the places what we considered to be "safe" we're tourist hotspots such as cocktails bars ( which were very expensive).


OVERALL: We would definitely without a shadow of a doubt recommend Riu hotels! This one has a few things we would change due to personal preferences but overall a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deb27nov85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#105 of 501 in Marrakech
2,224 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#247 of 501 in Marrakech
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#91 of 501 in Marrakech
5,167 reviews
8.3 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
2.6 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#126 of 501 in Marrakech
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: | Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#85 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#143 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £76 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing