We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well priced hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Ranked #118 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Lovely hotel, good food and very friendy staff (most of them). You will not go hungry at this hotel, food is served most of the day, lots of choice and always fresh. Sunbeds weren't a problem in October, you do have to reserve though if you want a good spot around the pool (with no shade) we also went in the gardens and both areas have a problem with flies. We didn't bother with the hotel bus, the taxis at the hotel gate will overcharge you so flag one down.
The trips that Thomson's offer are far too expensive, taxis will take you for half the price. Only downside was the evening entertainment, the shows started at 9.00pm and didn't last very long there was nothing to do afterwards, having said that the entertainment team work really hard and are very good. Take a taxi to the YSL gardens which are lovely and very peaceful then take a horse taxi back. You can also go on a red bus tour which is a great way to get your bearings. A must is the medina in the evening, go to a rooftop bar and watch the sun set and the stalls being set up...just magical.

Tips
If you go on the Atlas mountains trip take something warm as it does get cold, also on the Essouria trip don't go with the guide as he takes you all around the souks and it get boring - do your own thing.
Taxis - one of the drivers told us the Brits always pay more than the French so if you speak some french it helps, they won't charge you as much!
Ladies if you have long hair take your own hairdryer, the ones in the room aren't very good.
Marrakech Airport - you can take liquids through no problem.

Have a great holiday :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trees22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,743 - 1,749 of 2,910 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

We arrived on Dec 3 for 7 days what can I say excellent hotel fantastic food staff are really friendly and helpful management where fantastic couldn't help and make you more comfortable
Definitely will go back

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We have just returned from a 7 days holiday at this beautiful hotel in Marrakech, we went there for the New Year.
We got a free upgrade to one of the suites that were upstairs from the reception, beautiful room with traditional moroccan decorations.
The staff were really nice and friendly and kind, the managers did their best to give us a nice room and make sure everything is ok with us.
We went to the Moroccan Restaurant ('1001 nights') from the hotel twice, we really loved it, amazing food and great atmosphere, slow wine service sometimes, but that didn't bother us much :)
The New Year Gala dinner was absolutely amazing, the staff had worked really hard to make the evening special, lovely food, beautiful food carvings and the tables were beautifully arranged.
The show downstairs wasn't too bad, they served Champagne for a few hours during the New Years night, then they had disco after 12, we had quite a lot of fun, although there were too many little kids around..
Other than that, the buffet dinners were nice, the wine tasted really good (I noticed it was moroccan wine).
One downside would be the Zanzibar, it is a beautiful decorated bar, but for me who I don't smoke I found it quite unbearable sitting there sometimes, too much cigar smoke unfortunately..
The waiters at the buffet were not all nice, the nicest ones are the ones that serve the tables next to the window with the garden view, they were really helpful and smiling and quick with the drinks, the other ones seemed to be quite miserable sometimes..
The weather was nice and warm during the day, however during the night and the mornings it was really chilly.
We played a lot of tennis, badminton, table tennis, all 4 tennis courts are great.
The gym is also nice and big, but it was only open in the afternoon 3-7pm.
We did the full day in Marrakech trip, it was interesting, but I can't say I fell in love with this city..
We also did a nicer trip to the Ouzoud Waterfalls, really scenic cascades, I would definitely reccomend this trip to everyone.
Overall it was a very good holiday, we were really happy with this hotel and we would return to the same hotel if we decide to come back someday to Marrakech.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ruxandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Me and my wife fancied a break over new year and Marrakech was a choice we decided on after weighing all our options up.I have to say it was a great choice and the winter weather we experienced was great and far better than was predicted on all the weather forecasting sites i looked at prior to our holiday. We sunbathed every day until about 5 o clock and the temperature was in the 20s everyday although it did go quite cool at night, so you do need to wrap up warm at night
The hotel was very nice and i would reccomend it very highly although there was a couple of things that i must mention later.our room was very nice, the staff were very nice, the food was nice and i found the all inclusive deal to be excellent value bearing in mind this was our 1st venture into the all inclusive style..I found the general ambience of the hotel to be excellent and we met alot of very nice people and felt at home almost immediately at this hotel.the hotel shuttle was a mystery though because it drops you off no where near to the main square which is where we all want to go and instead you are dropped off about 25 minutes walk away and i couldnt understand why because it still meant you either did the long walk in to the main area or you stilll had to get a taxi which was not what you would expect if you are getting a shuttle you think is to the main action area.
Marrakech itself we found was very exciting and you cant fail to get a buzz when you arrive at the main square. it really is an unbelievabley exciting place and just full of exciting things and out of the ordinary things going on to really keep you enthralled. things like snake charmers , musicians, boxing, story tellers , and just general random sites just constantly keep you enthralled with the whole place. Just off the square the souks are amazing also and we dont go along with the comments you sometimes see of harrasment and not feeling comfortable etc. we did feel safe and i think that you just need to obviously keep your wits about you but just enjoy the whole experience for the originality that this place offers,You must barter if you do want to buy anything and i think about 25 to 30 percent of the original asking price is about the general final priceto pay. e g i bought a silver plated berber tea set with 6 glasses for 425 dirrams after being asked 1600 at 1st.I must reccomend that you do an Hammam steam room . massage etc in 1 of the many places offering this around mixed in within the souks. We paid 300 each for a 30 minute hammam followed by a half hour full body massage , but it was a truly excellent experience and i must say far cheaper and authentic than the similar things that are offered in the hotel spa.
One thing i must mention is that my wifes I Phone went missing from her bag on our last day as we chatted by the pool to say a few goodbyes and it has not been found since, and a friend we made at the hotel also had his phone go missing earlier in the week and that was never found either. so just bear this in mind and be very watchful of where you leave your mobie phones.I certainly wouldnt want this to put you off going to this hotel because it is very good and extremely good value for money but its apoint that i think you need to be made aware of. allin all its a great holiday destination and a very good hotel and if i return to Morroco i would stay here again and we had a great weeks holiday in the sunshine at new year, IT WAS GREAT,

Room Tip: I would go for an high level room if its practical for you because the ground level seemed a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We arrived on December 31st for a weeks stay on an All Inclusive basis. When we arrived we were greeted by a cool drink and booked in quickly, we were then shown to our room . The room was clean and comfortable with twin beds and also a seperate bathroom and toilet.There was a balcony with table and chairs and we had a view of the swimming pool. There was also a free safe in the wardrobe.We did find the beds and pillows to be quite hard but this may have been just our personal opinion.
That evening there was a gala dinner and everyone had worked really hard to make this a special evening.The tables all looked wonderful with gold table runners and floral centre pieces as well as gold candles. The food was also lovely and again they had pulled out all the stops with a huge choice and there seemed to be something for everyone.The wine was served at the table and glasses were topped up often, and again nothing to complain about the wine was good.
After dinner we went through to the bar to wait for the next part of the evening, unfortunately although the bar was busy there was no entertainment or music.There was some entertainment down stairs but it was standing room only and seemed to be the younger hotel guests who were down there.Disappointing - we were in bed by 12.15!
We used the hotel bus to go into Marrakech and this was a good service but it is a long walk from where the bus lets you off to the square or the souks. We used a taxi from outside the hotel (not the ones at the gate, stop one on the road they are half the price about 50dr) and he took us to the fixed price artisan centre. This was a great way to discover what we should be paying for things and it was also full of the most wonderful carpets ,furniture , bags, shoes, jewellery everthing you would ever want to buy.We then ventured into the maze of shops and stalls and found this a wonderful if odd experience.Watch for the "Dentist" selling second hand false teeth,the snail stalls and the water seller.
The only negative we found were the ladies doing henna tattoo's who refused to take no for an answer and took your hand and would not let go until they had covered your hand in henna.They then demanded huge amounts of money which we refused to pay for them spending two minutes putting this mess on my hand and they were quite intimidating when we gave them some money they still wanted more but we refused. I think a lot of people will be pressured into paying for something they did not want or ask for.Beware!

It was good to go back to the Tikida Gardens after the hustle and bustle and enjoy dinner and and a drink. Watch out for the Africa Show it was great!
All in all we had a great time and found the people of Morrocco and the staff at Tikida Gardens in particular to be kind, helpful lovely people who want you to have a great holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This Hotel is very difficult to review. We stayed in Room 390 overlooking the Pool during the Christmas Holiday, the room was great but the wife said the bed was too hard. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the Hotel is exceptionally clean and tidy. We did not like the 'Zanzibar" Bar and found it was very claustrophobic and smelt of cigarettes, so we spent most of our time in the chilly Foyer where at least the Wi-Fi sort of worked. The evening entertainment was disappointing with too many drums, however, the Fire-Eater was brilliant especially when his grass skirt caught fire. Although it was hot during midday, the mornings and evenings were very cold. The outdoor pool was so cold only two very brave people dared to enter the water and exited a very blue colour. The indoor pool by comparison was lovely and warm and surprisingly very few people swam in there. The daytime activities were sparse (aquarobics were nonexistent) and I can only assume that the volunteers were recruited from the sun-worshipers who had grabbed the best of the pool side sun loungers and nobody else got a look in. However the Tagine cookery class was brilliant. The Breakfast, Lunch and Evening food was excellent with plenty of choice and variety, the drinks were superb and I can recommend the non alcoholic cocktails. The Christmas Eve Gala Dinner was brilliant but a pity that the coffee is served in the depressing 'Zanzibar' Bar. By the way forget about the 1001 Nights Restaurant it doesn't live up to the hype. Marrakesh is great and we did the three tours ( Souks, Gardens and History) Just remember that you will always end up in a shop and being a captive audience you will be pressurised to buy. The wonderful Carriage ride made up for the dreadful Garden Tour. Myself and a couple of the other guests did get a funny tummy but we were unable to identify the cause as we had spent a lot of time at the Medina with the flies, spit and snot! Just to finish the anoying continuous water hammer was never fixed although we reported it to the manager.One of the most magical memories was the early morning 'calling to prayer' that echoed across this wonderful city.

Room Tip: 300 Block was quiet and had a good view, top floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

we arrived on 28th December and had wall to wall sun till we left on 4th Jan! around 24degrees so we were happy! The hotel entrance is amazing but... it will be full of smoke , as will the bar area so be warned if you dont like this!! the grounds are pretty with plently of places to lounge the day away, although the outdoor pool is not heated so too cold to swim in it. The rooms are clean and spacious - no real complaints on that front.The staff at the hotel are great, and the manager excellent. The main restaurant food is decent but does get a bit "samey" after a week. the 1001 nights Morrocan restaurant is lovely food and we ate there twice. Plently of drink available although of course non- uk brands etc.

Room Tip: all rooms have balcony and view so no real winners!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Battie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#109 of 501 in Marrakech
2,268 reviews
2.6 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#132 of 501 in Marrakech
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#101 of 501 in Marrakech
384 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#143 of 501 in Marrakech
955 reviews
8.3 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: | Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#143 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £69 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing