We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Ranked #114 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at the very end of October. Arrived about 1am after 20 min transfer from airport and there were no drinks/food available at hotel however when you check in at reception you can ask for bottle of water to take to your room. Within 5 minutes we were taken to room with luggage at same time. Rooms are adequate with 2 single beds pushed together (firm mattress and very firm pillows), table and 2 chairs, tv, plenty of wardrobe (approx 10 hangers) and drawer speace, free safe and bathroom had bath with reasonably decent shower over, bidet, large counter and built in hairdrier. Toilet is seperate next door. You will usually get 1 room card/key which as usual turns the electric on when you drop it in the slot inside door, therefore if you want to leave phones etc charging we found that leaving a nectar card in the slot did the job!

FOOD - Times vary according to season but breakfast is scheduled to start at 7.30 though most mornings they would let you in from 7 (I always used to take a coffee pot, milk and 2 cups to room which they didn't seem to mind). Breakfast was excellent with an extremely wide selection for this size of hotel. All the usual fresh breads, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, egg man, pancakes, toast, doughnuts (to die for!) and much much more. Juices are very good and coffee excellent.
LUNCH - We ate in the restaurant by the pool all 3 days and again like breakfast the selection was on par with hotels 4 or 5 times the size. Food extremely well presented with wide variety of salad, pasta/spaghetti dishes, a variey of hot food including fish, beef, chicken, pizza etc, then a good selection of desserts including ice cream.
DINNER - Served either in main restaurant or 1001 nights A La Carte (bookable at breakfast time with head waiter). Main restaurant was again excellent with wide variety of dishes also self service for beer/wine so no queueing. Also they do not use cheap cola, proper Coca Cola here. A La Carte is situated next to pool in attractive detached building, quieter with only 18 tables, starter consisted of a help yourself buffet with some amazing dishes (incl lamb brains), however main course was very limited with only 3 Tagine dishes (lamb, chicken and fish) or cous-cous for veggies.

POOL - Every morning at 7 the sunbeds started to get reserved, most of front row was gone by 8 but you could still get a bed somewhere virtually all day. Not sure why but some of the towels they gave out were small and some normal size but as we took our own it never bothered us. Water temp was pretty cold, ok once you've been in for a minute or so but shocking at first! Music/entertainment not too loud with usual water polo, aquarobics, darts, ping pong etc.

BAR - The Zanzibar was quite large but can get smokey as smoking allowed. OK quality drinks but no table service. Lobby area had lots of tables/sofa's on both ground floor also some on 1st floor with additional card tables. We never went in the bar downstairs as we were out most nights so cannot comment on it however I understand it is no smoking and there is a pool table. WI-FI is free available at most parts of hotel and the signal is reasonable but spasmodic (I think they have to re-boot the router every now and again!).

OUTSIDE HOTEL - Just past security outside the hotel there is always several taxi's there, we paid 100Dmh (£8) to get into Old Town (didn't try to haggle). If you flag a taxi in town back to Hotel then expect to pay 50 dmh (£4) if you can haggle - small taxis like fiat unos are cheaper. Or the hotel run a shuttle bus several times a day for free into town (timetable at reception) though it is still a 20 minute walk to Old Town. We visited Kosy bar in Old Town and sat on 3rd floor roof terrace at sunset watching the market/street below also watching the herons coming back to their nests! Very nice bar with drinks similar to UK prices. Also next night we got shuttle bus and walked for 10 mins to the Sky Bar at La Renaissance Hotel 7th floor with magnificent views over Marrakech. Nice setting though bit chilly at sunset - drinks approx £5 each. We also noticed many open top tour buses though never went on one. Crossing the road is quite scary as normal highway code rules do not apply!

The grounds/gardens are very well maintained also the staff are both professional and sometimes very entertaining. We were never asked for a tip and there are no gratuity boxes therefore you find everyone gets the same level of service. We just tipped where we felt it was appropriate.

Airport on departure has very limited shopping after passport control and limited duty frees (which shut as we checked in at 10.30!).

I think value for money would give it 10/10 and I was very suprised at the quality/facilities for a small/medium sized hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank f1jenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,136
    1,103
    390
    106
    44
See reviews for
693
1,301
57
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Having been to Riu hotels in the past, knew pretty much what to expect and was not disappointed. Arrived late Thursday evening, greeted with a cocktail and a prompt efficient service by the hotel staff. Unfortunately had to fill a host of forms in before check in complete but no big deal really.
Hotel rooms were very clean and maid service excellent!
Restaurants provide a fairly good variety of food, however there is a dress code. I do agree it is reasonable to be smart but this is nowhere near a top notch eatery and I felt the Hotel are trying to make it something it isn't. Smart/casual should be good enough in my opinion. Clearance of tables was a little slow at breakfast time but again no big deal. Food on offer was of a good standard...something for all.
Poolside bar/restaurant was ok. Choice of food at lunch good. Little disappointed that my daughter had her meal taken off her by the waiter as she was not wearing shoes (at a poolside bar??). felt this a little harsh as other people were eating meals in swimwear or with towels wrapped round them? Admittedly i did not check their footwear situation!
Pool itself was spottless. Animation team, lovely. Asked you to join on but full respected your privacy if you chose not to. Hussein was my particular favourite!
Would recommend you get a taxi if you wish to visit the Old Town of Marrakech. Cheap, efficient and you get dropped off exactly where you want to be. Well worth a visit at sunset!!
In short we had a great time and would definately return....sadly not with Thomson. Rep was not of a standard i would expect. Basically abandoned at airport on arrival, may aswell have got a taxi to hotel ourselves. On departure he made no attempt to tell people the coach was there. Only realised it was time to go via 'word of mouth' from other guests.Lots of people unimpressed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens! Beautiful setting and much quieter than pool area :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My family and I, (hubbie, daughters 18 & 16) have just come back. Our holiday was from 21stOct - 31st Oct 2013. We could not fault this holiday in anyway! The hotel is beautiful and clean. The rooms spacious and cleaned thoroughly everyday. The pool is big, with plenty of loungers. There is plenty of space around the hotel to sit or lounge in the sun or shade. Infact we were amazed at how spacious and lovely the grounds were! The food at every meal was varied, fresh and available all day. The staff made this holiday so special to the point we are missing them already! The waiters and waitresses especially, made you feel like a V.I.P. The entertainment staff too were great, they really got to know you. Abdel and Houssian were great, Houssian really is nuts!! Though the night entertainment was poor. We took trips to the Atlas mountains, camel ride and half day souks and medina. All trips were fab! I would definately recomend the half day souk if you haven't visited Morocco before as they can be abit scary. There seems to be something to do for all ages at this hotel. Even the teenagers!! We will definately go back again. It was our favourite holiday so far. Our one tip...don't pay the extra to keep your room till 6pm. We checked out at 11am, put our luggage in the locked holding room. Then booked a room for free at 5pm where we could shower and change.

Room Tip: We had adjoining rooms 244 and 246. They were left of the main reception, 1st floor. We found this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ayshea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Me and my 2 daughters (18 & 21) have just returned from a fantastic time in Marrakesh staying all inclusive at the Tikida Garden Hotel. My eldest daughter celebrated her 21st there and the Hotel were more than accommodating. A table covered with rose petals and champagne waiting for us at dinner. We hadn't told them about this celebration, they had picked up on it from guest information.
The staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Everyone was always smiling!!! We were greeted on arrival by smiling faces and a lovely sherbert drink and guided to our rooms with no hassle at all. The whole complex was spotless, our room (282) was cleaned thoroughly everyday and fresh rose petals left on our pillows and in the bathroom, our shoes always lined up for our return - our cleaning lady was brilliant!! The pool was lovely and sunbeds for everyone, even though there are still those people (mainly the French) who insist on putting towels on theirs by 8am. A good variety of food was always on offer from breakfast 7.30am until 9.30pm when dinner finished. The food was cooked for you to watch, the Head Chef always around keeping a check on things. The Managers always asking guests if everything was to their satisfaction.
We could not fault this Hotel except for the mattress on my bed - it was like concrete! The only thing that needs sorting - decent mattresses please!!
We will return as Marrakesh is safe, even for we 3 girls walking through the souks. They love to see you and haggle, which we did frequently.
For anyone thinking about going to Marrakesh go, you will enjoy it - stay at the Tikida Garden and you will enjoy it more.
Sarah

Room Tip: All good rooms. On the 2nd floor of the Katoubia complex the pool is hidden by the trees but that n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahg24116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Arrived at Marrakech airport late on Thursday evening, filled out irritating form for passport control, very little delay, was met by Paul who directed us to our coach, traffic in Marrakech has to be seen to be believed. Arrived at hotel to be greeted by a drink, check in was quick and luggage delivered to rooms promptly.
Staff were all very happy and helpful, we had 3 rooms near to each other as requested.
Food at all meals was reasonably varied , absolutely no complaints .
Pool as other reviewers have said was very cold but ok once you had got used to it, towels on sunbeds early if you wanted to be in the sun.
Only minor quibble was water pressure to the bathroom which was low.
Organised trip to Atlas mountains was really good, Yousuf our guide spoke excellent English and knew his stuff, hairaising driving along mountain roads, I`m glad I didn`t have to drive.
Overall a great holiday, Paul the rep was always there to help if needed, came to the airport to see us off, passport control still slow, good flight back to Birmingham.
Would certainly go again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

After reading other reviews of this hotel I kept an open mind, we arrived at hotel with a friendly smile and welcome drink,on waiting to check in we met a couple who had stayed at this hotel for the fifth time that put our reservations at ease.we found the room very spacious and clean and couldn't fault the room service, clean towels every day and even our nightwear was sculptured intoa fan sshape,lovely touch only fault pillows were like bricks but was soon rectified by asking at reception.
Food was good and varied in buffet restaurant,also visited the morrocan restaurant that was great too,
The staff in the bar were excellent,the two girls were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you they were brilliant!we didn't use the basement bar,but were told by other guests we didn't miss out,only gripe entertainment was awful,not what we expected!!
We did a tour to atlas mountains and waterfalls worth every penny awesome! We also did a half day excursion to Medina and souks you are shown around the soul then given a choice of shopping or go to the square ,unfortunately we chose shopping we were taken down a side street to a shop obviously friend of guide,so only got about 15minutes in square so missed out on seeing the entertainment,saw a couple of snake charmers but wished we had picked the square,because we were only on short break we didn't have time to return independently, as long as you keep your wits about you ,you will feel safe to do this.
We also went to the Yves el Laurent gardens,OK but alot smaller than expected but a relaxing break from hustle and bustle of merrekesh
All in all we had a wonderful break in merrekesh , a good central hotel,good food,would definitely return,would be nice if Thompsons would change there awful flights times felt like rubbish for two days when I got back,also be wary when booking airport taxi service they were OK when we arrived but to return to airport they didn't turn up hence were lucky that the bus had waited for other passengers otherwise we would have been left at the hotel,also also it would be nice to have a rep waiting instead of having to search around for one,maybe these might be a few pointers that Thompson could improve on!

Room Tip: We had a room with balcony overlooking gardens, it was lovely,they do have ramps for wheelchairs als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mollydog186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

I attended the hotel around 7 Months ago now and felt compelled recently to revoew this hotel based on my visit.
There was only one down side to the whole holiday, the organisation of the airport. We bored the plane at Manchester completely fine; though when we departed at Marrakesh we had no idea or given any instruction on how to go about finding our rep, so we just kwpt walking and found a couple of people with clipboards right by the exit, we bored the bus and tgat was ok. On our return we got dropped at the airport doors and that was the last we heard of any kind of support - we took the holiday with Thomson.
The hotel on the other hand. Was brilliant given a funky drink on arrival bags taken to 'the right room ' eventually - the staff had a little pause in there foot waiting for tips but when deserved we ensured they were compensated.
The pool we only spent half an hour there for due to being busy around the rest of marrakesh but the only down sode was that you had to wear some sort of shoe at all times or managem experience nt came over and askes us to put some on. The food was satisfactory, the in house restraunt was brilliant though my friend felt ill and didnt try the pudding. The rooms were spotless and all cleaners brilliant and smiling.
Brilliant hotel would return again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#108 of 499 in Marrakech
2,110 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.0 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#97 of 499 in Marrakech
4,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#239 of 499 in Marrakech
2,333 reviews
12.7 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
#134 of 499 in Marrakech
2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Property: Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Address: | Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#84 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#101 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#144 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing