We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Ranked #116 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent value, food and service”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

A really great find in the middle of the desert. The room was very comfortable and well furnished. I would however caution that all the beds are singles and in a double room they are just pushed together but made up separately. This isn't ideal.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The real highlight for me was the excellent food which is plentiful and varied and of a very high quality. The Moroccan restaurant is especially enjoyable.

There are a couple of areas in which this hotel could improve.
1) It's full of smokers which make the bars unbearable for non smoking Brits. Morocco has no non-smoking laws!
2) The all inclusive drinks aren't really up to much. The spirits are weak and the beers so small you need about 4 at once. I couldn't even get tipsy despite giving it a really good go and dedicating a day to it. They frequently run out of ingredients early on e.g. Mint for Mojitos.
3) The pool is freezing!
4) The beds need improving to doubles / kings for couples.

Overall a fantastic week and excellent value through Thompson.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 637Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,141
    1,120
    395
    107
    48
See reviews for
707
1,316
58
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

First time in Marrakech and was pleasantly surprised,stayed at Tikida Gardens with my 25 year old daughter,beutifull hotel in lovely gardens,i had heard some bad reviews about the food but i can honestly say i thought the food was very good.staff are brilliant,very polite and go out of their way to welcome you. A 20 minite walk into town or you can get the shuttle bus but we preffered to walk it,you get a bit of hassle off the locals but no problem.even though we were all inclusive i like to go around the local shops and bars but be aware that it is a muslim country so you cannot get a drink anywhere{except in the New Town} The only down side was smoking in the reception and bars,it does,nt usually bother me but everbody seems to smoke,my eyes were stinging at the end of the night....And remember it gets cold at night and early morning.

Room Tip: Try and get near the pool,some of the rooms are quite a distance from everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisdonohue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Must warn you will not get anything to eat on arrival as we had been previously told we would . So make sure you eat on plane !! Staff were all very friendly an accommodating. Rooms very pleasant, clean and comfortable. Pool was too cold to use but still very nice laying round it . We went into the medina and main square several times to get the real atmosphere of Moroccan life which I would recommend . Though you will get a little bit of hassle just say no and you are left alone . Definitely did not feel we had to tip anyone . The food was very good with something for everyone , very good choices and variety. Would recommend and would go back if went back to Marrakech which I hope to do sometime .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs, UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

2nd time to Marrakesh, this time for 2 weeks rather than one. I have to say I was impressed with the all inclusive as I have heard horror stories. Allowed to get drinks for others and more than one. The hotel was busy and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were cleaned every day with clean towels and also clean towels at the pool every day (just hand in pool card every day).
50 dirhams in a taxi (one way at 3.72 and then get one back)will get you to the old Marrakesh (souks and the real town). This is the place to go and where the life and real Marrakesh is. 100 dirhams (7.40 one way) will get you a taxi from inside the hotel grounds. Both are inexpensive and easier than the shuttle as this drops you off in the new town (more modern and not really what you would be coming to see), you then have a 20 minute walk whilst negotiating the busy (really busy) traffic to get to the old town. We were 2 women alone and not intimidated or harrassed at all. Everyone very nice and taxi people are reliable and will wait for you or come back at a time agreed. Taxis are also cheaper for going to the Atlas Mountains and day trips. If you don't want to haggle in the souks then ask the taxi man to take you to the airconditioned set-price shop on the inside of the medina (walled area) in the old town. You can then shop at your leisure with no hassle or haggling.
Fantastic shoes to be bought, weather was great, we got a good tan and the food was varied and delicious, loads of salads, meats and anything else you can think of with beer on tap in the restaurant.. Recommend the Moroccan restaurant at the hotel as well (you get 1 night there for every week you are booked). It has to be booked as you go in the restaurant. About a 40 minute walk from the old town so if you are a walker then it is not too far. If not then jump in a taxi. Change your money to dirhams at the front desk whenever you want as you can't get the money here. No-one hassles you for tips, it is up to you when you leave if you want to tip. All in all I would recommend this hotel. Swimming pool too cold to swim in at this time of year but the sun was great and we had 23-27 degrees easily throughout the 2 weeks with rain only twice. I would recommend this hotel and Marrakesh is a wonderful unique place full of colour and great food. Remember they speak French but this was no problem.

Room Tip: We had a standard room (348) and were quite happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumba7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

The staff are lovely and they do look after you. However, the tip hunting can get a little annoying. We tipped the guy that bought our suitcases and he waited demanding more! I actually felt a bit scared when that happened! The bar beverages weren't wonderful, but the bar staff were hilarious!
Stayed at riu before and I knew what to expect with the evening entertainment- however it seems this hotel has an even lower budget for entertainment- may be best to go out in the evenings.
The food is okay, standard riu sort of things.
It was an average stay- nothing really to rave about, but nothing to complain about. It is definitely NOT a walkable distance into marrakech though!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is a lovely hotel, although it not in the best part of town, so be aware that you will have to pay for taxis to go anywhere else. There is a shuttle mini bus which when we stayed was always full so we only managed to get on it once, the Thomsons rep said that it would come back if the driver saw people waiting, but that wasn't the case.
The food was well cooked and fresh and plenty of variety of food, and the Morrocan restaurant was nice although a bit too well lit!!
The one disappointing thing was the standard of acommodation, our room was immaculately clean but not exactly to a 4 star standard. I asked at reception if there were any nicer rooms, and there were for an additional £50 per room. per week. This was well worth it to have a more modern room.
If you are a non smoker you may find the evenings a bit of a problem as the bar is just full of people smoking, and if you do decide to go back to your room the only tv channel is BBC News.
When i booked this holiday the other Riu hotel in Marrakesh was about £50 dearer per person, and if I'm honest I wish I had booked the other hotel as the rooms etc seem to be of a higher standard.
I have to say though, that the staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and the place was so clean and tidy.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Absolutely great holiday, the hotel is lovely.
Good points include -
Hotel is very very clean
Staff are very nice, helpful, kind and genuinely smile
Room was a good size with usual facilities
The food was brilliant. the chef go to a lot of effort, even for the fussy eaters, there is something for everyone.
Many activities around the hotel including tennis, badminton, boules, table tennis, darts, arabic lessons, cooking lessons, outside and inside pool, spa and gym

Negative points - (very few!)
You are allowed to smoke in the inside bar/lounge area which is a real disappointment for a non smoker, I smelt of smoke every evening.
Bath in the room was outdated, cracked and slightly rotten
The shuttle bus running to the town gets full very quickly, arrive early and push your way on to avoid disappointment. The hotel needs a bigger mini bus, or to make them more regular.

The staff stood out the most for just doing an a brilliant job!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#106 of 500 in Marrakech
2,152 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#238 of 500 in Marrakech
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
5.0 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#94 of 500 in Marrakech
5,008 reviews
2.6 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#120 of 500 in Marrakech
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Property: Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Address: | Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#87 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#101 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#144 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing