We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Ranked #116 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel is very clean and well kept and the staff are really friendly. However, the food, although is plentiful and a good variety at any one sitting, it is the same old thing night after night and after 14 days I could not wait to get home to eat something more substantial. There is no room service and should you miss dinner in the evening there is nothing nearby where you could buy a snack other than Mohamed's where you can purchase a bag of crisps!
I would suggest taking a supply of diarrhoea tablets.
Another downside is the fact that you need to be up early to reserve a sunbed as, despite notices to say that sunbeds should not be reserved before 0800h, guests were reserving them around 0730h which means that by around 0900h no beds were available by the pool.
Cleaning staff tended to be very noisy and were banging on the door at 0810h to clean room - this was not appreciated as we were on holiday and wanted to sleep in.
Should you manage a get a bed by the pool then I would advise that you try to avoid the beds that are placed near the middle of the bool on both sides as this is where they put the goalposts when they play water polo which can get quite competitive and the ball leaves the pool hitting guests as well as the obvious splashes of water.
The hotel is a short taxi ride to Jama El Fnaa - we were charged MAD100 one way for a small taxi during the day and MAD150 in the evening.
Excursions can be booked via the Hotel Reception Desk, this is cheaper than booking with the Rep.
Hair dryers in rooms are not very powerful, so ladies, if you have long thick hair I would suggest you take you own else you will spend half the night trying to dry your hair!
Should you decide to sit in the reception area socialising in the evening, please note that lights were all turned off at midnight and if security felt you were being too noisy they would ask you to leave and return to your room!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,853)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,213 - 1,219 of 2,853 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel whilst on a short break visiting Marrakech. The staff are really friendly and helpful. We were greeted on arrival and met with a cocktail which is normally standard for Riu hotels. We were upgraded to a suite which was brilliant, nice view with moroccon style balcony windows and seperate living area. The food was pretty average and I personally did not feel there was enough choice. The pool area and gardens are lovely however, as soon as you step outside and leave the hotel it's feels like you are situated in a run down street. Theres not much to do here and the hotel entertainment was also pretty poor, I personally felt bored. Nice hotel though and lovely staff.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade we did and got upgraded to a queen suite which was great.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SC272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My friend and I have just got back from a 2 weeks stay at this beautiful hotel and I can honestly say there was not a single thing that I found a fault with. The grounds are beautiful, the staff are warm and friendly and the general feel of the hotel is just wonderful.

This was an all inclusive trip that I had booked and it was definitely well worth it. There is a variety of food which was good, and the fruit was just amazing. I managed to lose weight!

It's about 25/30 minutes away form the airport and not very far from the souks either. There is a free shuttle bus that goes from the hotel into the souks as well as there being taxis available for your use.

There is a wonderful shop just to the left of the hotel when you leave called Mohammed's Really Shop. I bought some souvenirs there and anything that I couldn't find Mohammed went and got for me.

While out there we met a great tourist guide who took us deep into the souks and showed us around Marrakech and not just the touristy parts. He spoke Arabic, English and French and was quite cheap.

I would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Columbo06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Hotel was fabulous! Loved it. Staff were very welcoming and attentive. Pool area and lush gardens,glorious. Plenty of food choices. The Tikida Garden hotel is a short taxi ride from the world famous Jemma El Fna Medina.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen_Ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed for 4 days with 3 young girls. Location is 15 min cab ride from main town centre.
Hotel is nice but average. Perfect for a short stay but not good for no longer. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Food is nice but the same every night. If you want to sunbathe you need to get up and down to the pool by 8am! Just to get a sunbed which was bad as everyone saves their Sun beds and go to breakfast. There is nothing to do in the evening so we were going to bed at 10pm and managed to find an English Channel and watch a file in the room. Drinks are 'fake' alcohol so not that great to be honest but like I said for a short break it ok as the weather was amazing for the whole 4 days. The one big disappointment was that there was no room service or nowhere to get snacks. So if you missed dinner there was nothing to eat at all. So ensure you have your dinner in time before restaurant closes.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leaden19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Three of us went to Marrakesh for a week in December. We all thought it was really good! Firstly, the best bit was how good the food was, really good coffee in the mornings, lots of choice. People say it got repetitive, but even being a vegetarian I didn't struggle at all with it getting boring or anything by the end of the week. Taxis into the town center were so cheap at 40dhm. Really recommend the Sky Bar (they do good cocktails!!).

The hotel was really lovely, especially the gardens. Our room was really big and cleaned really well everyday. The rest of the hotel and pools were clean, too. Staff were fine. The spa was ok, it had some good offers on.

A few things we didn't like; the entertainment team were pushy and constantly made pervy remarks, really awkward. Evening entertainment was awful and it occasionally felt a bit racist.

One other thing (which isn't related to the hotel in any way) were all the stray animals around the old town, so many kittens and puppies. Very upsetting.

Overall it was very good and lovely weather, would love to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abbey202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Dont agree with jonnysmack - we had two weeks commencing 5th May 2014. We have travelled all over the world and have had very different holiday experiences, all good. We research our holiday well before we go and on this occasion we weren't disappointed. I might add that it was the first time that we booked an all inclusive holiday, but that is because of the location of the hotel that we chose. As on all our holidays, we have a site seeing day and a rest day around the hotel. At the beginning of our holiday we took a Thomson "Discover Marrackech" trip which was extremely useful as we had a guided tour of the Koutoubia Mosque, Saadian Tombs, Medersa Ben Youssel (old university), the Souks, Jemma El Fna (the square by day) the Bahia Palace and had an excellent lunch in a restaurant in the Souk and learned a lot of the history of Marrackech. Apart from that we made new friends. We took a 4x4 trip into the Atlas Mountains taking in Berber villages and superb scenery. We took a caleche by night taking in the sights of the old city on board a horse and carriage. We also spent a day in Essaouira, touring the fishing port, medina and artistic complex and souks and had a lovely lunch overlooking the sea - and we watched the fishermen land their catch late afternoon, such weird and wonderful fish. During our journey there we actually saw the goats in the argan trees which we thought were only a myth. The guided tour of Marrakech was helpful in finding our way about as we took the courtesy bus from the hotel on several occasions and visited the Majorelle Gardens, Badii Palace and just soaked up the atmosphere in the square over a coffee.

As for the hotel - they have a buffet breakfast in the main restaurant which offered something for everyone. Lunch was provided in the pool restaurant, again plenty of choice - it was too hot for us so we just had cool drinks the days we stayed on site. Evening meals were provided buffet style in the main restaurant, again plenty of choice and all of good quality. There was also a Morrocan restaurant where you could have a Tagine - again excellent, we ate in there three times during our stay. (We dine out a lot, so we can make good comparisons.)

Zanzibar was pleasant, we could meet with people we had met on various trips for a pre-dinner drink and also after dinner. We did see various couples playing cards which we thought was "rather unusual".

There was a variety of sports available, although we aren't into that, my husband does like to swim and he swam every other day when the pool was a little quieter (he swims about a mile every other day at home). The grounds of the hotel are lovely and we walked the perimeter very often, usually to walk off the dinners!

Our room was clean as you would expect, the waiter service was good as you would expect, all the staff were friendly and Elias (the Thomson rep) was excellent, not pushy at all. Overall the food was of good quality and we had no problem getting a sun bed when we wanted to stay on site (in the garden area, not the pool side).

The only downside was the entertainment team. We didn't join in any of the daytime activities because we aren't interested in that sort of thing, but found it irritating that the "team" came round the people sitting outside "drumming up custom" - we just wanted to relax. We felt it was a bit like "hidey hi and the red coats stuff", which we felt lowered the tone a little. We didn't go to the evening entertainment either, particularly when we found out it was put on by the entertainment team. We also didn't like the silly behaviour of some of the Zanzibar glass collectors who pretended to take away your unfinished drinks which got a bit wearing after a while. We were also disappointed that we couldn't buy an English newspaper in the hotel shop - we were told they only had French ones, a bit biased we thought.

Overall an excellent holiday.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the gardens are quieter
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Douglas721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#104 of 502 in Marrakech
2,193 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#247 of 502 in Marrakech
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#94 of 502 in Marrakech
5,094 reviews
8.3 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
2.6 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#133 of 502 in Marrakech
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: | Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#87 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#101 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#144 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £72 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing