We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Ranked #114 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Berkhamsted, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So relaxing”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Ideally placed for exploring Marrakech. Set in the Palmeraie district so literally surrounded by palm trees. This low level (3 stories max) hotel and grounds have been sympathetically designed to make an enjoyable holiday. Gardeners in green overalls and large straw hats were tending to the exotic plant-life throughout my stay and added to the experience.
The short airport transfer was a bonus. The food was not. Although plentiful and organised the quality was sadly lacking. We took up the option of dining in the Mille et Une Nuits (1001 Nights) Moroccan restaurant set in the grounds one night and enjoyed the authenticity.
I prefer 'couples/adults only' hotels and booked this for the week before half-term hoping to avoid children, but this was not the case. Our room in The Menzeh was in a quiet part of the grounds and had an abundance of storage space and a lovely balcony with a beautiful view.
The friendly reception staff will change currency to Dirhams. A late 6pm check-out costs 500MAD (£40 approx) but can't be arranged before the morning of departure.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 432 in The Menzeh. Beautiful aspect and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,136
    1,103
    390
    106
    44
See reviews for
693
1,301
57
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I just returned from spending 8 days there in mid May. Beautiful clean hotel , great service from the maids to the bar staff to the front counter. Although the venue is an all inclusive and tipping is supposedly included, we always tipped the waiters at meals and the cleaning person. Some of the people here work up to 84 hours per week and make the equivalent of 65 pounds every 2 weeks. A 10 to 20 dirham tip here and there helps these people out immensely.

Food was acceptable, not a lot of variation but always found enough to not go hungry. Breakfast was always consistently good, omelettes to orders, toast and lots of fruits and cereal.

Drinks were watered down heavily but bar tenders were always amiable to adding an extra splash of this or that. There is a drink menu but certain drinks they have no clue how to make , even if they are on the menu - i.e. strawberry daiquiri.

Unofficial guides in the market are extremely annoying. Under the guise of "Moroccan hospitality" they will offer to show you how to get from here to there but then want $20 and then get extremely rude and aggressive when you turn down there services or refuse to pay, The hotel armband makes you a mark as a common approach of these annoying people is " let me help you out - I used to work at the Riu Tikada"

Overall great experience - would return again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here for the first time, over five days, and enjoyed it very much.

The staff were very attentive - as there was 3 of us our room had a z-bed, however it caused a back pain - but the staff were quick to replace with a proper bed.

The food was lovely and definitely worth booking a meal at the 1001 nights restaurant.

Get up early to grab a sun-bed, they go quickly. We recommend asking for a room with a garden view, or away from the main building as these rooms have recently been done up to an excellent standard. We used a room above the reception area to get ready (already check out), however these had yet to be done up and were quite dated.

We definitely will return. Only fault we found was that there was hardly any tables/outside space to enjoy a nice drink (even though they had enough room to do this).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KylieP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

stayed in May 2014 for one week. Hotel is spotlessly clean and staff can't do enough to help. Rooms are basic and not up to the standards of other riu's I have been to. Gardens are gorgeous and very well maintained, I don't think that the staff ever stop working on them. Marrakech is an experience but don't think that I would return after having been once. Lots of sunshine it was in the 40's the week we stayed but very little to do during the day and nothing in the vicinity of the hotel. You can always get the shuttle bus to the french quarter but if you go to Marrakech its not for malls. You can get a taxi into old marrakech which was what we did. I would reccommend the discover marrakech tour to help you get your brearings but we found this a bit boring although it does help with finding your way around.Food was good and we could always find something to eat. Alcohol was very poor and very watered down. The entertainment team tried their best but this was a bit tedious too. Definitely not one of riu's best hotels and will never be five star without a huge amount of investment to support the five star staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maccatac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My partner I travelled here October 2011, aged 19 & 20. Short transfer from the airport, which also gives glimpses of Marrakech on the way to the hotel. The Moroccan theme of the hotel was beautiful, with lovely walks throughout the grounds. The room was basic, just what you need. Separate bathroom with bath/shower to toilet as well as a large balcony. Pool scene was great, sheltered by palm trees yet also allowing the sun to shine through. Great entertainment scene downstairs and by the pool. There's a small shop and ATM in the lobby of the hotel. Overall a great hotel to use a base to explore Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I know this hotel is quite cheap and you get what you pay for, but after visiting a number of Riu hotels around this world, this one is a blemish on their good name. The hotel its self is very attractive, set in beautiful gardens and very nice clean, comfortable rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Three things really let this hotel down:
1. The main restaurant for lunch and dinner peddled the same bland, salty food day in day out. Spaghetti Bolognese, french fries, fried fish, chicken or turkey in gravy!! Very poor food.
2. Given the lovely climate and the fact we brits see little sun, there was nowhere to sit and enjoy a drink outside in the sunshine. Quite far away from any bar or restaurant was a small area with three tables on it, but that was it. To enjoy a pre or post dinner drink in the warm evening sun was impossible. Instead you have to sit in the lounge bar, a dark, windowless room.
3. Alcohol may be restricted in Morocco, but I think Tikida Gardens is on a mission to convert everyone else into non-drinkers. Sprits were not measured out, instead a splash was put into the top of every cocktail or mixer. Everyone at the bar would ask for "large" or "double" or "extra" and the very friendly staff would laugh and say "yes no problem sir its your holiday" followed by one more splash! Really poor drinks. And NOTHING in your hotel room fridge. Not even water!!!

So in short I would never go back until the management sort out these problems that are so simple to fix.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Really impressed with our Monday till Friday break . Had a lovely quiet room ( garden view) worth the little extra. We booked our flights and booked direct with hotel . All very easy and fine getting taxi at airport. Reception friendly , food fine and pool area very clean and big pool. Everyone put towels down before breakfast ,holidays are the same for that anywhere you go, even in posh resorts I think! Pool cool but good once you get in. Fine getting into town , we went by taxi , it got cheaper as the days went on as we haggled more! Came for a girly break but would bring my family back . My teenagers would like it. The spa was ok , we had a much better experience in the main town at les bains. Good you could book at the restaurant for free , don't think I would have wanted to eat at the buffet every night as repetitive. All in all a great break. Marrakech is an experience in its self , you have to see it as it is. Just have some room in your suitcase as you have to buy at least one leather handbag!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marce13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#108 of 499 in Marrakech
2,110 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.0 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#97 of 499 in Marrakech
4,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#239 of 499 in Marrakech
2,333 reviews
12.7 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
#134 of 499 in Marrakech
2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Property: Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Address: | Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#84 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#101 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#144 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing