We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Ranked #118 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay and had a brilliant time, the rooms were clean and spacious, the restaurant food did start to get a little tedious towards the end of the week but that can be said of all holidays. There was a variety of food, some odd combinations but also the opportunity to try new foods. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all well catered for and the salads at lunch were beautiful. All staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, especially Fatima, Kamal and Zacharia. Everyone works very long hours and remain friendly and helpful at all times, I dont think I could say the same if I was doing that job. The entertainment reps never pressure you into doing any of the activities, if you say no they are fine with that. There were more than sufficient sun beds and umbrellas dotted around the pool and whilst music was playing it was never overly loud or the same kind of music all day long. Yes the pool was cold at first (what outdoor pool isnt?) but when its mid 30's I dont want a heated pool, I want to cool off!

Elias the rep is a great guy, really helpful and happy to take time to explain the tours to you or answer any questions about them. He never forces the tours on you or goes for the hard sell. He gave us helpful advice and insights into life in Marrakech.

The only down side to the hotel was the noise at night, the party held in the main square until 2 am one night by the huge group of French people that arrived caused some complaints. Also, after 11 pm people were oblivous to keeping the noise down and doors were slamming, people were shouting and singing. No chance of going to sleep before 12.30, particularly annoying if you had a tour booked to leave at 8.20 am the next day. After the 2 am party and the numerous complaints about our new arrivals the hotel increased their security presence at night and a manager was seen in the hotel all day every day. Before this there had been no need for a manager to be visable. However, it was still noisy at night.

The shuttle bus into town is a great help although it does drop you outside a KFC some distance from the town. This isnt great when the sun is beating down on you and what is probably a 3/4 mile walk feels like a 5 mile walk. The government shop (or "Ensemble Artisanal") was a great place to shop, nobody haggled you and you could see a wide variety of the products being made there and then. We spent a good couple of hours there before heading to the main square, the main square was exhausting from the constant requests to come into their shop. Which sells exactly the same as the shop next to it. Also "cheaper than Primark and Asda" is a common phrase amongst the sellers. Safe to say we bought nothing in the main square but came away with some lovely things from the government shop.

I would happily return to Marrakech at the Riu Tikida Garden, but i think they do need to sort out the noise at night.

Room Tip: Ask to face away from the main square and on the 2nd floor. Much less noise up there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sadie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,242 - 1,248 of 2,910 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was lovely- beautiful gardens and lots of sports activities planned throughout the day. Food is standard buffet style in the main restaurant although they do have a Moroccan themed restaurant which u need to book a table for - worth eating there as the tangine dishes are very authentic and tasted lovely. The poolside restaurant food wasn't great - cold salads served from 10-3 and if u don't drink alcohol then drinks are limited to water and awful concentrated juices.
The worst bit which let the whole holiday down was the freezing cold pool- it was no wonder that hardly no one was in pool all day. The kids were really disappointed.
The kids club is in serious need of some resources- paper and a couple of pens is the best they can do. No kids books- no kids movies - not much for them to do really. The reps tried their best to keep the kids entertained- hats off to them they do a tough job!
Rooms although basic were kept very clean throughout our stay and the staff were polite and helpful at all times. If u need a hair dryer don't rely on the one provided unless u have all day.
Also if you are a Muslim like myself make sure you ask where the prayer room is because I spent the whole time praying in my room not knowing anything about the prayer facilities that the staff use there.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RehanaU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Ideally placed for exploring Marrakech. Set in the Palmeraie district so literally surrounded by palm trees. This low level (3 stories max) hotel and grounds have been sympathetically designed to make an enjoyable holiday. Gardeners in green overalls and large straw hats were tending to the exotic plant-life throughout my stay and added to the experience.
The short airport transfer was a bonus. The food was not. Although plentiful and organised the quality was sadly lacking. We took up the option of dining in the Mille et Une Nuits (1001 Nights) Moroccan restaurant set in the grounds one night and enjoyed the authenticity.
I prefer 'couples/adults only' hotels and booked this for the week before half-term hoping to avoid children, but this was not the case. Our room in The Menzeh was in a quiet part of the grounds and had an abundance of storage space and a lovely balcony with a beautiful view.
The friendly reception staff will change currency to Dirhams. A late 6pm check-out costs 500MAD (£40 approx) but can't be arranged before the morning of departure.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 432 in The Menzeh. Beautiful aspect and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I just returned from spending 8 days there in mid May. Beautiful clean hotel , great service from the maids to the bar staff to the front counter. Although the venue is an all inclusive and tipping is supposedly included, we always tipped the waiters at meals and the cleaning person. Some of the people here work up to 84 hours per week and make the equivalent of 65 pounds every 2 weeks. A 10 to 20 dirham tip here and there helps these people out immensely.

Food was acceptable, not a lot of variation but always found enough to not go hungry. Breakfast was always consistently good, omelettes to orders, toast and lots of fruits and cereal.

Drinks were watered down heavily but bar tenders were always amiable to adding an extra splash of this or that. There is a drink menu but certain drinks they have no clue how to make , even if they are on the menu - i.e. strawberry daiquiri.

Unofficial guides in the market are extremely annoying. Under the guise of "Moroccan hospitality" they will offer to show you how to get from here to there but then want $20 and then get extremely rude and aggressive when you turn down there services or refuse to pay, The hotel armband makes you a mark as a common approach of these annoying people is " let me help you out - I used to work at the Riu Tikada"

Overall great experience - would return again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here for the first time, over five days, and enjoyed it very much.

The staff were very attentive - as there was 3 of us our room had a z-bed, however it caused a back pain - but the staff were quick to replace with a proper bed.

The food was lovely and definitely worth booking a meal at the 1001 nights restaurant.

Get up early to grab a sun-bed, they go quickly. We recommend asking for a room with a garden view, or away from the main building as these rooms have recently been done up to an excellent standard. We used a room above the reception area to get ready (already check out), however these had yet to be done up and were quite dated.

We definitely will return. Only fault we found was that there was hardly any tables/outside space to enjoy a nice drink (even though they had enough room to do this).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KylieP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

stayed in May 2014 for one week. Hotel is spotlessly clean and staff can't do enough to help. Rooms are basic and not up to the standards of other riu's I have been to. Gardens are gorgeous and very well maintained, I don't think that the staff ever stop working on them. Marrakech is an experience but don't think that I would return after having been once. Lots of sunshine it was in the 40's the week we stayed but very little to do during the day and nothing in the vicinity of the hotel. You can always get the shuttle bus to the french quarter but if you go to Marrakech its not for malls. You can get a taxi into old marrakech which was what we did. I would reccommend the discover marrakech tour to help you get your brearings but we found this a bit boring although it does help with finding your way around.Food was good and we could always find something to eat. Alcohol was very poor and very watered down. The entertainment team tried their best but this was a bit tedious too. Definitely not one of riu's best hotels and will never be five star without a huge amount of investment to support the five star staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maccatac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My partner I travelled here October 2011, aged 19 & 20. Short transfer from the airport, which also gives glimpses of Marrakech on the way to the hotel. The Moroccan theme of the hotel was beautiful, with lovely walks throughout the grounds. The room was basic, just what you need. Separate bathroom with bath/shower to toilet as well as a large balcony. Pool scene was great, sheltered by palm trees yet also allowing the sun to shine through. Great entertainment scene downstairs and by the pool. There's a small shop and ATM in the lobby of the hotel. Overall a great hotel to use a base to explore Marrakech.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#109 of 501 in Marrakech
2,268 reviews
2.6 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#132 of 501 in Marrakech
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#101 of 501 in Marrakech
384 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#143 of 501 in Marrakech
955 reviews
8.3 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: | Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#143 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £69 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing