We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Ranked #114 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well worth a stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just come back from a weeks stay after booking this holiday literally the day before we flew. I must say the hotel was great, first impressions were that it was clean and tidy and gardens were impressive too. Had a great room on the 2nd floor in block 3 which was very spacious, cleaned every day and nice and cool as they were air conditioned which is just what you need when the temp was 38 most days in the shade.
Restaurant was kept open later on the day of our arrival so we could have something to eat and there was plenty of choice and was first class you couldn't fault it unless you are really fussy. There was steak, bacon, sea bass, salmon, pizza you name it at some point it came on the menu. Book for the Moroccan restaurant if you get the chance and want to try something different as there are limited places each night, just ask the waiter when you go for breakfast.
Only went on two trips but well worth it and that was the Ouzord water falls and the last night cleche trip to the Medina. Just be careful on the water falls trip as the rep tells you when walk the 671 steps to the bottom and go for a short ride on the boat you get picked up by coach but you don't you have to walk the 671 steps back up so wear sensible shoes and take plenty of water as the heat is intense.
Sun beds were always taken round the pool early in the morning but unless you wanted to sit on top of the person next to you and get hit by balls avoid them and sit towards the back by the Spa much nicer area to relax.
All in all a very good place to holiday and would recommend it if like me you can eat, drink, swim, get a good nights sleep without paying over the odds.....oh and if you are lucky you can see the tortoises walking on the gardens.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the second floor block 3 was great we were in 366
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuLisaN1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,136
    1,103
    390
    106
    44
See reviews for
693
1,301
57
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Well booked late, never been, thought the Hotel was clean tidy and well presented, staff we very happy to please, always cleaning, food was very nice a little samie, but always some thing to eat, never went hungry, lovely fresh bread, salads, Moroccan food always on menu, lots of lovely cakes n ice cream, you will not starve even the fussiest eaters like me, Pool.... well only one large one and the sun bed thing was a little bit of a pain, you had to be up very early to secure your bed, otherwise you might not get one, but the rule of thumb was if you were on your bed b4 8 you had to stay on it, or your things would be removed, so that was good, overall the rooms were nice free air con much needed, and free safes, Nice stay would go back :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank feathers33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Travelled in June 2014 with boyfriend. Was a lovely week and have few negative comments of the hotel. As a last minute deal it was very good value for money! The gardens within the hotel were kept so well and was lovely to look at when sitting on the balcony. Only complaint we had to make whilst there was that our toilet was not flushing, we thought the cleaner had fixed it on the first day only to find that it broke again, however after phoning reception they sent someone over to fix it within half an hour.
The food was perfectly acceptable and plenty to choose from everyday. Our favourite meal of the day was breakfast with the choice of omelette or pancakes or bacon etc. So much to choose from and all tasting lovely!
Found no problem getting sun beds, although not next to the pool we liked the area towards the back and much prefer getting the extra couple of hours in bed.
Like many others have said, the alcoholic drinks are not very strong but this did not bother me as I am a fast drinker anyway.
Overall a very clean hotel and staff were very friendly, would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our third visit to the Riu Tikida gardens,was again a great holiday experience.Great value for money,this hotel has all you need as a great base for a city break to Marrakech,and to chill out at a great all-inclusive Riu hotel.The majority of staff have been there for many years,and they all work tirelessly,to ensure you have a great time,from the manager,Josep,who makes sure everything runs smoothly,and always has time to talk to his guests,to the cleaners and gardeners,who make the hotel grounds and room look perfect.Our room in the 400 block,was on the ground foor,which my wife asked for,as she has walking difficulties was perfect for our two week stay,and a welcome botte of bubbly from the managment team,for my wifes birthday,was a nice surprise.The large double bed,and spacious room,was spotless,and apparentely the whole bock has recentely been renevated to a high standard.The food is both or great quality,and varied through out the two weeks of our stay,the morrocan dishes especially,make our mouths water.Also you can also book the more intimate Zanzibar moroccan restaurant,and be waiter served delicious Moroccan food,in lovely surroundings.A free shuttle bus,also runs to and from the centre of the old town,so you can soak up the great atmosphere of the souks.I would not hesitate recommending this hotel for either couples or families,for a great value hoiday,at a Riu hotel.

Room Tip: any in the 400 block are superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stuff4steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We visited the Tikida Garden last week on an all inclusive deal with Thomson. Like most of the people we spoke to we had a great deal on a weeks holiday.

THE HOTEL
Quite traditional Moroccan style over 3 floors it was a nice looking hotel. The accommodation is split in to blocks - we were in the furthest away but it wasn't a huge place so just a minute walk from reception. Our room was lovely. Spotless clean, large, 2 beds pushed together, plenty of space for clothes and a nice large bathroom. We had a lovely balcony too.

THE POOL
The pool is large and surrounded by loungers. There is a fair bit of activity around the pool (aqua gym with loud music, water polo, etc) so we kept just behind which was nice and relatively quiet. Unless you want to get up at a stupid time forget a pool lounger - we weren't bothered and strolled down after 10am most days (if not later) with no probs getting loungers away from the pool. You get a card for a towel which is handy. There are dart boards,, crazy golf and ping pong tables too.

THE FOOD
We couldn't fault the food (unlike many of our fellow English holidaymakers who moaned about the lack of burgers and hotdogs (?)). There was a great selection of fresh salad, traditional Moroccan, some English dishes (if you wanted it), pasta dishes and, of course, chips!!! We varied our choices each evening and loved the tagines and cous cous on offer. There was plenty to choose from and we were well fed and felt pretty healthy too.
We went to the special Moroccan restaurant on site which is by the pool. We had a lovely meal (lamb, fish or chicken tagine were on offer alongside sheep's brain and other delicacies) and the setting is gorgeous.
TIP: Get a booking in with the head waiter as soon as you can as the places go and they only take a small amount each night.

THE DRINKS
We drank the red and rose wine - it was pretty decent. The beer was quite weak but fine and refreshing with lunch in the sunshine. The cocktails were a little sweet for out liking but the G&T's were perfect!

THE STAFF
Most of the staff we encountered were lovely and helpful. The animation team were really sweet and worked very hard. The waiting staff in the main restaurant were very nice, topping up drinks, asking how your day was, etc - in the poolside bar some of the staff weren't quite as friendly (seen a couple that were a little rude to other guests) but were OK with us.

THE ENTERTAINMENT
This was quite funny. Each night in the 'Kasbah' (a nice lounge with comfy seating) there was a guy playing guitar and 'classic' (ahem) hits. He seemed to only know a few words and muttered the rest - this nightly occurrence of butchered songs started to become somewhat of a joke between guests with them cheering him on encouragingly!
The animation team put on themed nights in the theatre styled bar this included Karaoke, dancing, Moroccan night (belly dancing and bands) and some others that we missed.

THE LOCATION
The hotel is about a 15min ride out of the centre of Marrakech - there isn't a great deal around the hotel itself but there is a free shuttle.
We were there during the holy month of Ramadan and I believe that this might have effected the times of the shuttle - it ran during the day with the last bus leaving at 4.30pm - it was still so hot and too early to go in to town we went via taxi (walking 2 mins to the main road and you can get a taxi for about 30-50 Dirhams).

MARRAKECH
We headed out a few times on our own (we heard mixed reviews about the organised tours) visiting the main Square (Jemaa El Fna) is great around dusk when all the food stalls set up. The souk is hot so we went very late afternoon - it was boiling still.
IF you want a drink then you'll have to search for it. We went to a great place call the Hotel La Renaissance which is in the new town. It has a lovely rooftop (make sure you go outside and then up the final set of steps to the top bar) where you can buy beer, cocktails and have a sheesha too (200 Dirhams).
We also went to a very old school hotel called Grand Hotel Tazi - I can imagine it was once grand but not so much anymore - by-the-by it had cheap Casablanca Beer (a god send in the heat off Jemaa El Fna Square) and the guy serving brought us nuts and olives and seemed happy to see some customers.

TIPS if you are going in to Marrakech: If a lady in the square looks like they want to shake your hand beware they don't end up decorating your arm with henna!
Beware the men with Monkeys dressed up - they'll be on you as soon as you get your camera out.
Haggle with the taxi drivers before you get in - it shouldn't cost more than 50 Dirhams to get to the hotel from town (and vice versa).
Do your research - don't go in to cafes in the old town asking for beer - they probably won't sell it!

All-in-all a cracking week away at a very decent price. Lovely hotel, great food but make sure you get out and explore the craziness of Marrakech - it wasn't half as scary or intimidating as some of our fellow holidaymakers tried to make out!

Room Tip: If you want to be away from the noise of the pool ask for a room in La Menza
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KerryFused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at the Tikida Gardens for ten nights in June 2014.
There are good and bad points about this hotel, the worse being that SMOKING was allowed in the reception area which is discusting, especially as this is the best area for WIFI.
You had to sit in this area whilst people were smoking which really is unacceptable and you wouldn't expect this in any hotel in any country these days.
There were families with kids having to put up with this as they were checking in and out!!!
Even just walking through the reception area for your evening meal had your clothes stinking of smoke :(
The WIFI is really shocking.
The rooms were very clean and tidy although a little dated.
We would normally expect at least a kettle etc.in a "four" star hotel room in this day and age!
Pool area was very crowded as there is only one pool surrounded by sunbeds, making it difficult to get in and out of the pool and had to be up and down by the pool with your towel for 7am for a chance to claim a sunbed!
People were saving beds for hours and not even using them - lots of people were complaining about this to the pool guys on several occasions.
There was a quite good selection of food at meals times but the cheese selection was appaling and also was really dry.
Evening entertainment was also very bad in the nightclub which usually lasted about an hour and then after that the place just emptied.
The bar was shut buy 12am and there was no-where you could even buy a drink from, not even tea or coffee.
The measures of the drinks are also really poor and everyone was asking for vodka/coke and an extra vodka so you could pour this into your glass!
Some of the bar staff didnt like it but if the measures are so poor, people will do this.
We would go back to Marrakesh but wouldn't go back to this hotel and would not give it four stars.
I would not tell anyone NOT to stay here but would say that at the end of the day, I suppse you get what you pay for :) so if you can get a cheap deal, fine ....... but would shop around first for other hotels and check Trip Advisor as always.
I also think it depends what quality of hotel / holiday you are use too.
RIU - You can do much better!

Room Tip: One with wifi if possible - wifi in reception id ok but full of smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nige1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My first time to Marrakesh and enjoyed my time. Airport was slow but we had our cards ready done. Man took our bags without asking and yes demanded money but I did not oblige as he was so rude. Hotel was clean and tidy, room big and clean. Food good most times, loved the bacon...Staff very friendly and helpful. Rep Elias helped us with an issue with another guest, he was polite and friendly but always in a hurry and I found the welcome meeting too hurried. Pool area was crushed, but we found a spot at the back where we could move, and yes the beds were released at 8 am to give everyone the same chance of getting one this was because guests had complained towels were on beds too early. I found this a problem at first and did remove some towels after the selfish guests had not sat on them for 5 hours!! and someone needed a bed.Pool got a bit uncomforatble with balls being thrown everywhere with not always thought for those who just wanted to swim and I got hit in the face with no sorry afterwards.I have met some very lovely people here and the only problems I had were with a few other guests not the staff.Trips to the Atlas mountains were fab, the full dayMarrakesh tour is gruelling and you are on your feet for about 6 hours so take the 2 half day ones if you cannot deal with this but well worth it. if I had one request it would be that smokers could have some area outside as the first impression is the reception area and this is where the smoking area is. I agree about wifi it is not great. Overall a fab time as a holiday is what you make it. Thank you Elias, the manager and all the staff for making a good holiday, and for taking care of us.

Room Tip: ground floor garden has above balconies looking direct down onto these as they are set back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank astonished44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#108 of 499 in Marrakech
2,110 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.0 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#97 of 499 in Marrakech
4,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#239 of 499 in Marrakech
2,333 reviews
12.7 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
#134 of 499 in Marrakech
2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Property: Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Address: | Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#84 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#101 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#144 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing