We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive, too far out.....stay in a Riad.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Ranked #116 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Even though it was a nice hotel there were many annoying features. The staff were merely efficient and not really polite. They hung around for a tip when not even the children in the souks do this, it made one feel uncomfortable. The staff behind reception were rude and thought of me as an inconvenience when I wished to exchange United Arab Emirate Dirhams for Moroccan Dirhams after a mix up at the currency exchange in England (and I truly believe they took a rather large chunk of this as commission).

Do not take anything from the minibar, and just a bottle of water around the bar/swimming pool is around 4 times the price of water elsewhere in Marrakech. The Breakfast is average, and the buffet lunch a total rip-off.

On a brighter point the hotel itself was clean and the gardens were beautiful. The staff who work in the gardens are respectful and not rude, unlike front of house staff and restaurant staff. The animation team are a good laugh, however will pester non-stop to try and involve you in activities throughout the day.

For the remaining time in Marrakech we stayed in a beautiful Riad, and there really is no comparrison. Even though the pool at the hotel is decent, this really should not sway you to stay here over a Riad. To get anywhere from this hotel costs a small fortune, and you will not experience 'real' Marrakech. But if you like a holiday where you could be anywhere in the world then this place is for you, but I wouldn't put up with the high prices.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank studenttraveller2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,197 - 2,203 of 2,877 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2010

The hotel was excellent, spotlessly clean, polite and extremely helpful staff - though we did have one rather brusque receptionist. The grounds were fantastic, with a good range of activities which meant we didn't have to leave at all on a couple of days. Although off the beaten track, it meant it was quiet, especially at night, and a courtesy bus took you to and from Marrakech centre, or a taxi was always available at a reasonable price - useful for my disabled husband. Food was good and varied, although we were caught out by the ash cloud, and it did start to get slightly monotonous towards the end of our extra five days! Glad I didn't read the reviews beforehand; we certainly had no trouble with food poisoning and nor did anyone else that I know of.
Luckily one of the other guests spoke good French, which meant that when my husband ran out of medication we were able to get replacements at a local pharmacy at a reasonable cost. All in all, we would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and the beautiful city of Marrakech, as a holiday destination.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tibbiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Tikida Garden Hotel. It is a lovely hotel…beautiful gardens and everything spotlessly clean. The food is fine with plenty of choice at the buffet breakfast and evening meal. My only complaint is concerning towels in our room. The towels were removed in the morning and not replaced until late in the afternoon, so if you return early for a shower there are no towels. It is then necessary to phone the front desk and ask for some. Towels can be hired for use at the pool so it may be best to take your own. The sunbathing area is very nice using umbrellas near the pool area or using the orange trees as umbrellas on the grass. There is the constant singing and twittering of birds, which is such a delight in the garden.

Large bottles of water in the hotel cost 20 Dirhams so it is better to buy it outside where it costs only 5 or 6 Dirhams. Alternatively you can take a bottle into the restaurant and fill it yourself with water or orange juice.

The courtesy bus drops you at the November 16th roundabout which is in the main new shopping area. It is necessary to get a taxi from the drop off point or be prepared for a long walk if you want to visit the Medina and Jemaa El Fna square. We were disappointed about this. The taxis charge different prices and you need to negotiate with the driver for a good deal. As for them having meters, we only rode in one which had a meter and that wasn’t being used. The best taxi fare from our hotel into the Medina was around 30 Dirhams…and then expect to pay about 50 Dirhams if you use a taxi in the evening. These are the mini taxis and not the Grand taxis which cost a little more.

Round and about the hotel there are metal workshops, garage repair shops, etc., and it is rather a scruffy area but we found it to be quite safe and walked out many times to the Atlas Cyber Café, run by Mohammed. If you walk to the main highway and turn right, continue to walk towards Marrakech centre you come to some traffic lights, here turn right and then right again….the Internet Café is there on your left and has an advert. board in the street. It is only about 6 or 7 minutes walk from the hotel. The charge for one hour on the internet costs 5 Dirhams and Mohammed has now programmed a PC for English users. He is a charming guy and although he speaks little English we managed very well to make him understand what we wanted.

We hired a Grand Taxi with English speaking driver Abdul (Schumaker his nick name) for a full day, to take us to Ouarzazate in the Atlas mountains….an early start 7am and costing us 1200 Dirhams. We arranged for this trip at the Hotel Front Desk. A good safe driver and good English speaker too…worth paying a little more to have him drive you. A superb day out and highly recommended. Taxi No. 440.

Jemaa El Fna square is fascinating and off the square there are some 1,600 shops where you will need to barter if you wish buy something. Give the tanneries a miss….we found them to be horrible and stinking. The few Dirhams given to the performers and artists was well worth it to get a good photo and we found everyone very pleasant and kindly. We had no qualms about eating in the square in the evening….after all, you can see the food being cooked….it isn’t done in a kitchen out of eye shot!!!! The oranges are the best I have ever eaten.

I can recommend the Tikida Garden Hotel to anyone….it is just a pity it is not situated within walking distance of the Medina and town. Would certainly stay there again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeachcomberTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We chose the Tikida Garden on the basis of its reviews. Our budget was limited but we didn’t want any major hiccups or complaints.

It turned out to be an excellent choice and, to us, very good value. This was a hotel that we will both recommend and return to ourselves – as a couple or as a family.

The peaceful gardens were exotic, extensive, mature and very beautiful; made more so by the singing of many birds.

All ages enjoyed the very nice pool – even though it was very “refreshing” (i.e. unheated!).

The rooms were very clean and comfortable rather than luxurious and, importantly, there were no biting insects.

Breakfast was thoroughly comprehensive and defeated even the most hungry among us.

The shuttle bus was always punctual but did not run in the evenings and, strangely, still leaves you with 25 minutes walk to/from the medina – in reality not a big problem because taxis to the hotel are, in absolute terms, not expensive.

The team on the desk were consistently professional and charming, making every effort to make our stay as smooth and pleasant as possible.

Niggles? Of course there were one or two, as you always find with even the most expensive hotels, but they in no way detracted from the overall enjoyment of our stay and the nice, friendly ambiance of this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheenaAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Travelled to Marrakech just after Easter with two teenage girls - 16 & 19. Hotel in poor surroundings but an oasis of lush gardens surround the hotel and pool. Pool was cold but offered a refreshing dip from the strong sun. Buffet food in Orangerie at breakfast and dinner could not be faulted. Worth paying half board at least as food then cheap and you can always eat out for a change of scene. Good Cabernet Rose at 160 dhms. Can't recommend the Moroccon restaurant onsite as we were disappointed and felt it was expensive.
Ate at stall no.98 in La Place - fish stall - calamarie to die for and only £10 for 4 bowls with dips and bread. Delicious!
Quite a challenge to withstand the constant attention of our 2 girls - even though they were dressed appropriately! Souks amazing and the main square quite a site by day and then again by night.
Most amazing tour with Marrakech by Air; a balloon flight, refreshments, full breakfast, visit to Berber house, 4x4 transfers, camel ride and all done with high professionalism and confidence by Hamid and Lina and their team. Expensive for family of 4 but absolutely well worth paying out for. Set out at 6am back to hotel for 1pm and had an awesome time.
Will definitely be going back sometime and will stay at the hotel again. Just one thing, hotel is a little quiet in the evening (despite the best efforts of Salim and the animation team) so not perfect for older teenagers. However, we went for a relaxing holiday and the hotel fitted the bill in this respect perfectly.
Ali, South Croydon

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Having had a busy week in the centre of marrakech with a school trip, I was looking for somewhere with a pool to relax but still with easy access to the Medina. I booked the Tikida garden hotel through Alpha Rooms and had full board which was a great deal. Definitely book full board as it's cheap and then you can easily eat out if you want to. Big choice of food and good quality. Rooms very clean and nice with a balcony. Huge pool which was pretty busy over Easter. Animation team are very friendly and provide entertainment if that's what you want. Free sports like Archery and tennis etc. Free shuttle bus into the centre of Marrakech several times a day, otherwise taxi is only a couple of pounds. I would definitely stay here again simply because it's excellent value set amidst lush gardens with easy access to the rest of Marrakech. They also have a very good spa.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowmonkey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

We stayed at the Tikida Garden hotel in Marrakech for 7 nights for my birthday in March 2010 and we found the hotel to be be excellent, exclusive and modern. It has good facilities on site including a very good size outdoor swimming pool sourrounded by lush greenery and trees. We can't get over the orange trees in the garden - fresh oranges in the trees! There is a pool bar and snacking area and you can play tennis, boules, volley ball , crazy golf and even archery in the grounds. If you fancy some pampering, you can visit the Spa centre where you can have massage treatments. There is a mini hair salon, gym and indoor swimming pool. We had half board at the hotel and that was a wise decision because it was easy and convenient to eat at the Orange restaurant where a cold and hot burffet was served each evening. Breakfast included fresh fruit salads, bread rolls and croissants, cereal, barley oatmeal and hot buffet of omellette, tiny sausages, tomatoes, scrambled eggs and boiled eggs. There is the Zanzibar bar where you could enjoy a few drinks in soft and plush seats and being entertained by either a singing duo or live band. The representatives from the Animation team were very friendly and the leader, Salim is a friendly chap and a good dancer. We had a wonderful time in the hotel and the staff there are very friendly and only too willing to help and service you, in particularily,the waiting staff, Mohammed and Noreedin - so look out for them if you do visit the hotel.

Tips : We took out day excursions from the hotel to the waterfall in Ouzoud in the Atlas mountain and to Esaouira, a seaside town which was definitely worth a visit. Buy your wooden crafts and souveniors here because the prices are cheaper than the souqs in the medina. The Jeema Al Fna square is worth a visit and its souqs. Always start with a third of the asking price and work it up to a price you are happy to pay - haggle hard. Avoid the tannery and anyone in the souq who tried to show you where the tannery is and claiming they are not doing it for money. We sat in the balconies of the Les Premices and Les Terrasses De C'Alhambra cafes and had lunches and watched the activities in the Square. Ladies, it is advisable to dress modesty in trousers/jeans or long skirts and long sleeves blouses, a cardigan or large scarf is always handy to cover your shoulders. Taxi from the airpor to the hotel costs 150 dirhams and 50 dirhams taxi ride from the hotel to the medina. The hotel courtesy bus takes you to the new town, Gueliz and have lunch at the La Poste restaurant in the Plaza, nice place.
Not all bars or restaurants serve alcohol, however, the beer and wines reflect UK prices, so they are not cheap but hey, we were on holiday, so we didn't mind so much. We had a lovely time in Marrakech and the stay in Tikida Garden was a good choice. Recommend that you book your stay as Half board. Bon vacation! Anne & Rob, Chester, UK.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank The-Wise-Ones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#105 of 501 in Marrakech
2,224 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#247 of 501 in Marrakech
2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#91 of 501 in Marrakech
5,165 reviews
8.3 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
2.6 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#126 of 501 in Marrakech
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: | Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#85 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#143 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £76 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing