We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of a hotel......fantastic base for exploring Marakesh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Ranked #123 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Very puzzled by any negative reviews....i wonder sometimes whether some go looking for things to have a good old whinge about!

First time in Morocco or Marakesh. Really landed on our feet picking this place as it was a fairly large all inclusive type complex (we were there on a B&B basis), with attendent big hotel facilities set outside Marakesh town centre (about 10 mins away from the town centre by cab, which were cheap as chips, about 50 dirhams = £3.89). Was a great base as set away from the hub bub, noise, heat & smells of the city centre.....so great place to relax. But still close enough to jump into a cab, (which we did every night) & go to eat , explore & shop in the centre of town / the souks, the markets etc

Complex was really well laid out. Great lounge / reception. Great bar (Zanzibar)- v plush. Reception staff were really helpful. Animation team was fantastic. Have never had such an active holiday at a hotel (even when staying on an all inclusive basis). We ended up taking part or doing water polo, table tennis, petanque, beach volleyball, footy, yoga etc. Loads to do. The animation team even allowed you (if you asked nicely) to hook up your ipod for periods to enjoy your own music on the speaker system.

Pool was awesome. Not too deep but deep enough & big enough. Great sectioned off bit for small kiddies. Ample beds & parasols, which is a first. A very happy week here just by the pool, as on some days the weather was so hot, you'd need to be stark raving mad to try & explore. Best left to cloudy days or evenings.

Animation team made the holiday as very friendly & funny, without being in your face or pushy. Badr, Salim & tall waterpolo guys get special big ups! Especially bearing in mind they were all fasting for Ramadan!

Poolside restaurant was great. Rooms were lovely. Had a lovely big balcony. Rooms had FREE safes. BIg balcony. Flat screen tvs (though youre probably on the wrong holiday if youre indoors watching tv!). FREE wifi throughout hotel, so made full use of this via my mini laptop & mobile! Happily uploaded holiday pics there & then to annoy people back home! lol

Breakfast was great. Really big choice so again dont get those who said it was rubbish. Yes of course theres stuff they could have done better, but which hotel is that not true for? As long as youre a bit careful what you eat & drink (ie no non-bottled water, no ice cubes, no washed fresh veg etc) you'll be fine.....& i speak as the proud owner of the world's most sensitive tummy!

Brilliant hotel. Felt completely at ease. Very safe, very friendly & helpful team & lots to do OR not to do (depending on your motivation or lack thereof).

TOP TIPS:
*airport to hotel : stick to your guns, we paid 120 dirhams
*hotel to town centre: do NOT take Mercs waiting outside. Rip off merchants. If you walk outside you can usually catch a minicab (petis cab?) for 50 dirhams
*drinks in hotel extortionate: go outside hotel, turn right & on your left (on the corner) is a corner shop selling you Moroccan priced 1 litre coke, water etc
*do take part in the activities, great fun & great way to mingle with other guests (brilliant load of people, even if half speak french ....ie we couldnt!)
*if you go on ONE trip, go on the ATLAS MOUNTAIN trip (organise in town on an evening). much cheaper. Just dont go like us on a day (1 in a million chance) , when it stormed like hell! That was one scary ascent & descent........
*explore the town, the souks, the medina etc
*NEW medina bit of a waste as got Zara etc. You can go to Croydon etc if thats what you want!
*Go on the horse carriages, but again bargain.......
*Bargain / haggle for all your shopping, but play the game...its not meant to be nasty or confrontational ...youre BOTH sposed to win. And dont mess if you really dont want summat.
*DO have the freshly squeezed OJ....omg......Tropicana can go whistle dixie!
*Organise your transfer cab few days before so its sorted. On our last night, booked same guy to take us back to airport....& he was as good as his word! Trooper!
*Dont be scared. Enjoy & embrace the experience. People are really cool.
*PS: be careful crossing the roads (esp in town). omg....they make Parisians look safe!

NEGATIVES:
*AC leaked, & bath plug got stuck down & did have to repeatedly chase to get sorted, but hey ho!
*If you decide to go B&B, extortionate to then try & upgrade there to half board, so think carefully what you want to do. As we were wedded to the idea of exploring Marakesh itself in the evening, worked out a treat for us!

OVERALL IMPRESSION: one of the best holidays we've had....& we've travelled fairly extensively. Had so much fun in just 1 week. Main thing was we talked to other guests.....& they were similarly minded, so bodes well. And we did speak to transferees who had had nightmares at other hotels. So glad we didnt book a hotel in town as this way we honestly felt we got the best of both worlds.

Would we go back? Hell yes! Like a shot...................

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PookieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,214 - 2,220 of 2,925 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2010

Just spent a week here and have nothing but praise for this hotel.
The staff were all extreamly friendly and determined we would enjoy our time in Marrakech.
The animation team were a lot of fun and 'aquafit' (a daily event in the pool) was exhausting but made you feel less guilty about all the lovely Morracan food you had eaten!
Reception staff very helpful - rang for taxis for us and suggested a fair price we should pay for trip.
We hired a vehicle and driver when we wanted to go to the mountains and the whole days hire was around £45 which for 4 people was a bargain and much cheaper than organised trips. A half days hire pootling around palaces and tombs etc was around £20.
Food at the hotel was of good quality. There was always a variety of tagines available and a good selection of other dishes.
Breakfast in the open air by the pool was nice but watch the birds trying to pinch your croissants!!!
Beautiful gardens kept in prefect condition by a tirless team of gardeners made a welcome retreat from the heat of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CornlTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

I always believe that the internet price are great till I call the hotel directly for reservation. We did pay 1/2 price from all websites about 560 DH ( near 54 Euros ) inside of 93 Euros from Expedia or other.
Tips .. Call the hotel before making reservation from Internet ..

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myoracledba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

This is possibly one of the cleanest, friendliest hotels I have stayed in abroad. All the staff are pleasant and helpful, the 'animation team' make everyone feel welcome and included without being overbearing. The food is plentiful and there is sufficient choice to suit everyone's taste, including vegetarians. The pool is huge and there are plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. The only negative thing I would say is, bring your own hair dryer! The one in our bedroom was designed to be used by a tall, bald person wearing gloves!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianne29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Just returned from staying a week in this hotel..the gardens are beautifull the rooms are spacious and cleaned everyday,A good selection of food and wine and well trained staff.helpfull front desk and always an english speaker on staff to help.large clean swimming pool with clean toilets and showers plenty of sun beds in the large gardens and poolside.Free bus into town and back..Trips are expensive but run on time with a guide included.we enjoyed our stay and are rerurning next year.....down side ..this is a poor country you need to have plenty of coins for the beggers,guides will for a price will take you around town but they will take you to the shops ..carpets ect and even when asked to visit historical sites will continue to do the shops.we paid off the guide and found our way around.Read lonely planet morroco its a must.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joylee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Had a pleasant week here : seems to be predominantly French guests . It would help to be able to speak some French - not just here , but in Morocco in general - as English is not widely spoken . The staff were all very attentive & helpful & the food was excellent thoughout our stay. Room overlooked a well attended garden . We were there as part of a package . As pleasant as our stay was - Its not a hotel that we would rush back to - it all seemed rather formal & was quite some distance from the centre . But if its peace & quiet , with an opportuinity to play golf & take some spa treatments , this could be the place for you .

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HertsWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Ok, apologies in advance for the long-winded diatribe - have a lot to say about this place.

First let me start by saying that I contracting awful food poisoning on this holiday. While I cannot for sure attribute it to the hotel, I can say that at least 7 other guests I know of contracted it also (it was common 'pool-side' conversation). Secondly the 'buffet breakfast' I had 24 hours before falling ill was appalling and consisted of warm-ish poultry sausages and VISIBLY MOULDY bread. Outside of this breakfast I only ate at very pleasant French-run restaurants so will leave to you to decide where I contracted it.

Outside of this, which is unfortunate but not enough to condemn a hotel, my partner and I had the following issues;

- Terrible service. We made an effort to speak limited French but were treated as a 'commodity' by the staff who frequently forgot and/or sent the wrong things to the room for room service (my partner called reception twice asking for a bottle of red wine only to be kept 30 minutes and then bought a bottle of rose by mistake).
- I had to argue for 1 HOUR with the Manager of the hotel when I refused to pay for the breakfast buffet consisting of mouldy bread (would you?). Her response was 'it's a buffet, what do you expect?' etc etc which went on for quite a while. Just reiterates the fact that they have NO INTEREST in making your stay pleasurable in the slightest.
- On the subject of room service, they were rude, forgetful, completely unapologetic and generally unpleasant to deal with.
- The 1001 restaurent is just dire. Prices on a par with a nice restaurant in the Gueliz or Medina but quality is not even half that of those restaurants. Completely lacks any ambience. When we arrived there was one couple in there and no-one else came in the whole duration.
- Drink prices are inflated. They rely on the fact that guests have to take a 15 minute taxi journey to enjoy any other nightlife facilities so they are shamelessly cashing in on this.
- Many of the amenities close early and or close completely on a Sunday - for a resort that is so far away from other services it is unacceptable.
- There was no ice-cream available around the pool for our whole stay?!?! call me picky but you can't have a day around the pool without ice-cream (particularly for the kids?!)
- The gym will charge you 100 dhms (approx 7 quid) for use of the gym for half-day (no shorter time slots available). Again in a resort like this I find it annoying that you would have to pay to use certain facilities.

I really have only scratched the surface here and I have forgotten/ommitted certain things but the gist of what I am saying is that you are completely commoditized, treated with contempt and offered none of the comforts/luxuries you expect when going on holiday.

In conclusion I have the names/numbers of my fellow guests who contracted food poisoning between 19th/21st August and I'm interested in hearing from anyone else as I'm sure there were more of us??

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tbone83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#112 of 500 in Marrakech
2,287 reviews
2.6 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#136 of 500 in Marrakech
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#106 of 500 in Marrakech
385 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#146 of 500 in Marrakech
957 reviews
8.3 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Garden

Address: | Circuit de la Palmeraie - BP 1585, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#92 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#143 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £73 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Garden Hotel Marrakech
Le Tikida Garden Marrakech
Hotel Le Tikida Garden
Tikida Garden Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing