We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“April 2013 Visit To Marrakech”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
Ranked #30 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“April 2013 Visit To Marrakech”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

In the "dwell on the negative" world we currently live in, travelers are constantly nitpicking about thread counts and the number of square feet in their Junior Suite. Instead, focus on how the hotel makes you feel. La Villa des Oranges was a spectacular hotel experience. Every time I returned from a morning exploring the Medina, I was so happy to return to the oasis that was our home for four nights. All staff was friendly, courteous and well prepared to assist in any way possible (restaurant reservations, directions and guides). Specifically towards guides, we liked our guide so much we elected to use him three more days. You cannot explore the Medina and learn the culture without a guide. I saw other groups from the hotel using guides and each time it appeared the hotel connected guests with guides of similar age and interest level in different features of the city (Historical Sites vs. Souks / Shopping Options). It made a big difference for us and I very much appreciated the hotel's forethought on that matter. It could have been total luck, but I believe the staff sized my wife and I up and tried to connect us with the right guide. Our room was well appointed and our terrace on the roof was fun to use as a lookout over the city.
The location of the hotel is excellent as it is not right in the middle of the Medina, but a five – seven minute walk. There is no sense of Souk claustrophobia at the hotel as I imagine there could be at other hotels within the Medina.
The food was excellent. My wife prefers believes nobody boils a better soft boiled egg than her, so I was impressed when she complimented how well the kitchen had prepared her egg in the morning. Lunch includes seven – eight regular items, with three specials of the day. The special skate-wing was a delight. We ate at the hotel one night and it was excellent.
The final bit that sparked me to write this review was what happened upon our return from three nights in the Atlas Mountains. We had prearranged to stop at the hotel to pick up some clothing that was being altered for my wife. When we arrived, the hotel invited us to stay as long as we wanted until our flight left. Rather than spend time at the Marrakech airport, we were able to spend 90 minutes back in La Villa des Orangers paradise.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs with a private terrace. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    53
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
87
391
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is one of the most enjoyable hotel experiences of my life to date. The staff, the facilities, the location, the food; all were excellent. The other reviews cover so much. I just want to add my vote of enjoyment for this hotel.

Being in a riad is so much more interesting than an ordinary hotel. This one is on the outskirts of the old city so walking into and through the Media is a short journey. Once there, however, get a guide or prepare to be lost a lot.

Room Tip: Splurge for a room with a terrace. It is a great place to end a long day's walk with a drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Global-Villagerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
448 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Tucked away up a small alley off a busy street, VDO is a lovely boutique riad.

It's a Relais et Chateaux but this marque has we feel recently confused numbers with quality of entrants, as is the case here.

We had a lovely upstairs room on the triforium above the main quad of the hotel with our own room terrace and plunge pool. Views were lovely. Unfortunately we also had a plunge pool in the bathroom, in the cupboard under the basins it was flooded to about 6 inches deep.

The main pool in the hotel is more ornamental than recreational and too near the bar to appeal to the bashful.

The riad is ideally located for exploring the hotel on foot, about ten minutes stroll from the main square and souks.

Much more personal than La Mamonia down the road that's rather impersonal if architecturally more interesting.

Room Tip: Get a roof top room for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Having been in Marrakesh several times, staying here has been one of the two best experiences. La Villa was superior in every way. The management and staff are fabulous and make sure that everything is to ones satisfaction. The chef does a delightful job as well. As a year round leisure traveler for 40 plus years, I highly recommend la Villa to those desirous of a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Cretainly do a room with a veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed one night here on our way to Oualidia. The hotel is a lovely building with some attractive peaceful courtyards and a smashing pool. We received a free upgrade from the really helpful and efficient management, but with limited time there probably didn't take full advantage of all the hotel has to offer.
The spa was very good (and good value too), and the food, both lunch and dinner, excellent. There's a strong French element as you would expect, but the fish tagine was brilliant.
It would be five stars but for the fact that the roof terrace falls short of the best in Marrakech, being not wholly private.
But a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The entrance to this Riad is nothing special but be prepared for a very pleasant surprise once inside. We stayed here for three nights and had a truly memorable experience. We received a very warm welcome upon arrival and this set the tone for the very personalised and attentive service you can expect throughout your stay. The staff are all friendly and you feel like you are a guest in their home and are never asked to give your name or sign for anything. The Riad itself exudes character and reflects the culture of the city. Waking up in the morning to the sound of the birds singing and the call to prayers was truly blissful. The hotel is ideally located to be able to explore the old city, being only 10 minutes all from the colour of the central square. This also means that it is easy to return back when you need to recharge your batteries with a cup of mint tea sat in one of the delightful, quiet seating areas in this beautiful hotel. This really is a great place to stay, especially for couples wanting a few lazy days away together.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This hotel is absolutely exceptional. It is peaceful, immaculate and a blissful escape from the chaos and traffic of the road outside.
Staff doing everything and anything they can to help you. They were willing to book us a restaurant and arranged a hamman appointment for us in the hotel as a couple.
There are a few central courtyards in the hotel with lovely little secluded sitting rooms around them. We had wonderful and peaceful evenings sitting here. There is relaxing live music on some nights.
The pool is stunning and well designed with a few steps leading down into it. Since it is a small hotel we had it to ourselves at some points, which was fantastic for two swimming addicts!
This hotel was most certainly the best thing about our trip to Marrakesh, truly memorable.
The only small complaint I can think of is that the restaurant is extremely overpriced when you compare the quality of the food there with what you can get in restaurants/cafes in the U.K for a quarter of the price or less.
However, we will never forget our exceptional stay at this beautiful and utterly relaxing riad style hotel. Wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGLondon1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#28 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#42 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#17 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa des Orangers - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Orangers - Hotel

Property: La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
Address: 6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa des Orangers - Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot of the Koutoubia mosque, with its matchless landmark minaret and only 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa el Fna square, the Villa des Orangers offers an exceptional location to explore the medina. The Villa des Orangers is an intimate haven of peace located near the bustling souks of Marrakech with 27 rooms and suites arranged on two levels around three verdant open-sky patios with water fountains surrounded by galleries of chiseled plaster and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Villa des Orangers - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Orangers Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Des Orangers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing