We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
Ranked #27 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Just great!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel is a small place to be! It is located just a few minutes away from the medina an the schmaa al fna'. The rooms are very nice furnished and very cosy. We got an upgrade to a suite with roof terrasse, absolutely fantastic. The breakfast was served outside next to the pool. Very delicious with a good variety of food. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We highly recommend this hotel. Just to stay there a couple of nights and enjoy Marrakesch.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with roof terrasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swiss17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    49
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
84
384
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We spent 6 nights here and can't recommend it highly enough. To echo the comments of most other reviewers, La Villa des Orangers is a real oasis amidst the chaos of Marrakech. The hotel is absolutely beautiful; you arrive in a pretty unprepossessing street, walk through the doors and enter a stunning riad. The service throughout was superb (particulate mention of Mohammed, the maître d' who looked after us beautifully). There are some brilliant perks - free laundry, free lunch and free soft drinks. The restaurant is excellent. And the location is perfect for exploring the city. We can't believe there is a better option for a hotel near the centre of Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dd-nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just got back from a 5 day trip staying at Villa Des Orangers. This was our second stay here (I did a full review in 2007) and the purpose of this review is to say that our stay was just as wonderful. Service was exemplary throughout. Breakfast and lunch (both inclusive in room rate) were excellent. We had dinner on two nights at the restaurant and it was excellent on both occasions. In fact, I must say the restaurant manager really put himself out to help us on our last night. we had gone to Bo + Zin for dinner. We ate there in 2007 and it was excellent so we thought we’d go back. I shall do a review of Bo + Zin separately but to cut a long story short, the service was appalling, watered down drinks and then when we tried to order form the very limited menu, they had no fish, no beef etc. so we decided to leave this meant we ended up back at Villa Des Orangers at 10.30pm having not eaten. The restaurant manager asked chef to sort out some supper which they did brilliantly although they had officially closed the kitchen. Our last night was salvaged and we ended our visit to this wonderful riad and exciting city on a high.

Since our last visit the rooms and spa have been upgraded. In fact, there is now whole new spa which offers very good treatments. We stayed in Room 17 (large suite with terrace and it was beautifully maintained, with a great shower and bathroom facilities.

A wonderful stay and if I am ever in Marrakech, I would not hesitate to revisit Villa Des Orangers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brum74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed in La Villa des Orangers for 7 nights in a junior suite to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel was fantastic, its location is perfect to explore the city. We were made to feel very special. The food was amazing. The staff were incredibly pleasant. Our experience with the hotel from reservation, to making enquiries about our stay before arrival and the service we obtained during our stay was second to none. It was a haven in what is a frenetic city!

Room Tip: Standard rooms around the main courtyard are the least private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dora007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I have stayed at most 5 star hotels in Marrakech numberous times, and without question this is by far the best.
From the moment you arrive at the airport and are greeted by the private car to the hotel, you are treated as a valued guest by the staff.
The hotel is very discreet, does not allow young children or processions of outside poeple to walk round the area gawking at the guests - as most other hotels do.
There are 2 swimming pools and ample seats and sunloungers well spaced out if you wish to relax all day, or when you return from sightseeing.
You can have breakfast either outside near the lower pool or in the restaurant.
You can also have a light lunch - included in room rate - wherever you choose in the spacious grounds.
There is a top class spa - although it is expensive.
The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the main square and souk.
The evening restaurant is on a par with the best restaurants in Marrakech.
All in all, I find it difficult to fault the Villa in any department

Room Tip: It is best to have a room or junior suite with a terrace, The rooms are so individual/unique it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BAFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portschach am Worther See, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It was our first time in Morocco and the hotel was a wonderful introduction to Marrakesh: a haven in a busy city. Beautiful inner courtyards, tastefully furnished rooms, lovely pools. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Loved going up to the rooftop terrace from our room to read, relax after a day out and enjoy the views with the Atlas Mountains and Koutoubia Mosque.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanZ9210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

For my first trip to Marrakech, I could not have had a better introduction than the hospitality and quiet luxury at La Villa des Orangers. This small and exquisite hotel used to be a private home, and it is both intimate and authentic. From the moment we entered from the busy streets of the medina, we were enveloped by a sense of calm and privacy. The interior courtyards, beautiful pools, and numerous living spaces welcomed us and drew us in. Every detail is perfect: spacious rooms, tile floors, delicious meals, and courteous and attentive service. There is even laundry service. Don't let the high walls and small door on the street fool you; behind it is a wonderful oasis! The location is perfect for exploring the city, and the hotel staff can help you with restaurant recommendations, etc. For the discerning traveler, La Villa des Orangers is a must when in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have roof-top patios with private outdoor showers, chaise lounges, and a breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 494 in Marrakech
1,091 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#34 of 494 in Marrakech
346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 494 in Marrakech
1,924 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
3.6 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#14 of 494 in Marrakech
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa des Orangers - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Orangers - Hotel

Property: La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
Address: 6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa des Orangers - Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot of the Koutoubia mosque, with its matchless landmark minaret and only 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa el Fna square, the Villa des Orangers offers an exceptional location to explore the medina. The Villa des Orangers is an intimate haven of peace located near the bustling souks of Marrakech with 27 rooms and suites arranged on two levels around three verdant open-sky patios with water fountains surrounded by galleries of chiseled plaster and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Villa des Orangers - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Orangers Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Des Orangers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing