We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet place to relax in the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
Ranked #28 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

A small riad style hotel, with very friendly staff and wonderful food.
The breakfast and the lunch were included, as well as the laundry (!) and the pickup from the airport, so if the price was a little higher, it really felt like it was worth it.
Incredible place, very charming!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joao Pedro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Marrakech is wonderful but it can be too busy, chaotic and noisy. The Villa des Orangers offers a haven of tranquility. In addition to this, the staff are friendly and efficient, the food is good ( breakfast is excellent) and the decor is tasteful and understated. My only criticism is that lighting is poor in the room. excellent location.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LajefaBarcelonaLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We don't enjoy large hotels so this was perfect for us all the 5*luxuries we expect but in a small hotel excellent food lovely room with a roof terrace plenty of places to sit and relax with out being very close to other guests ( I like my own space) the staff could not have been more attentive without being intrusive. We walked to the market easily about 5 minutes away there is usually a taxi outside if you don't want to walk, you can change money in the hotel and it has a small shop you just need to check the opening times. We could not of had a better first visit to Marrakech and The Villa des Oranges was the icing on the cake

Room Tip: If you can have a room with a roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Across the road from one of the King's many palaces, and next to a garage and used tire shop where repairs are done on the street, the sign for the hotel was discreetly not visible unless you looked for it. Marakesh was our last stop after two weeks of adventure in the Rif and Atlas mountains and the deep Sahara close to Algeria. Immediately upon our arrival, we were greeted by Hassan who took care of our check in and provided a tour of the premises. The pool area is gorgeous and the many rooms to chill on the main floor were comfortable and well appointed. We had the 2 level suite which had a fireplace in a small sitting room, the softest bed (it's all relative) during our entire trip, a private terrace where breakfast was served with a great view and very clean and up to date bathroom and shower. The staff were always helpful and service was always with a smile. Priscilla and I travel a great deal and we always save our "luxury spot" to the end. The Villa did not disappoint in that way. We also used the Hamam where we both had a tradtional rubdown and couples massage which was very professional leaving us feeling fresh and revitalized.

We don't usually dine at our hotels as we like the local fare and prefer to get out and about. But after a long drive and spa services, we decided to have dinner at the Riad. I had also o'deed on couscous and tagine and needed a change. The dining room was pretty but the lighting could use some more thought. We found it too bright. The service was very professional, (although a tad corny). We both ordered fish, (me the turbot and Priscilla the sea bass) and a bottle of Moroccan Sauvignon Blanc. The wine (not cheap) was meh. Both of our fish mains were way overdone, rendering them sort of rubbery. The reaction from our waiter was that he would let the kitchen know. At the equivalent of about $40.00 (CAN) a shot, I would have expected more. (The following day we went to a local fish place in the new city and had fresh grilled fish and prawns for less than one entree). Lunch which was included was also sort of meh and tasteless although the presentation and service was very good.

I really like this place. You would like it too. The staff try really hard and are very helpful. The place is gorgeous. Can someone please talk to the Chef and tell him fish needs to be flaky and there is nothing wrong with a little seasoning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DansLeZone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I had dinner there with some friends and the food was simply fantastic.The atmoshpere is very relaxed and pleasant, the place and the fornitures very elegant. Staff members are nice and professional, although there is some room for improvement... The price is not low (actually, it is quite expensive, with a limited list of - expensive - wines only). But a place where I would love to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vialiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

As Tony suggests - what is inside is an interesting contrast to the street! I have been fortunate to stay in many outstanding hotels (through work) and the Villa ranks up there with any. We had split our visit to Morocco with a trip to the mountains in the middle of 2 stays here. The interior has been really well developed, sympathetic to the style and culture and yet comfortable. The rooms were really well finished too, although we had to resort to using the A/C and having the windows closed because of a dog barking several times through the night.

The staff were exceptional with the efficiency and friendliness throughout. Obviously, well led, managed and trained! The breakfast and lunch were good - and a plus was having them included in the package. Elements such as the free non-alcoholic drinks and launddry were also nice touches. Locatiion was good, within easy reach of the main square and also the Kasbah area - and a reasonable taxi ridde to the "new" town and Gueliz. (We had what we felt was a good deal with Karim who happily came whenever we wanted and called!)

My only negative would be about the price of the dinner - and wine! The quality was good but I do not want to have to pay about £120 - 140 each night for 2 of us. Surely it is possible to offer a set meal at around 300-350 DH and wine at a proportional rate. I do not object to paying the premium price now and again - but willl not be compelled to doing so. A shame, becuase the setting for dinner was great and Mohammed and his team were great.

Room Tip: If it is within your budget, have a suite with terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GraYemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This beautiful hotel proves the adage 'don't judge a book by it's cover.' Located on a not so pretty street the whole world changes once you go though the welcoming front gate. Exquisite decor throughout. Great attention to detail. Prompt and courteous service. Our room was a dream. Fabulous bathroom with voluminous rain shower. And the food!
Served poolside with a plethora of candle- lit lanterns. We dined out one night at the vaunted La Mamoulia. Over priced and over hyped. Save your money. Rushed back to dine at La Villa and couldn't have been happier to be home. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Tony3214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#22 of 500 in Marrakech
1,226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,351 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 500 in Marrakech
2,141 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#76 of 500 in Marrakech
2,170 reviews
3.6 mi away
Selman Marrakech
Selman Marrakech
#43 of 500 in Marrakech
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa des Orangers - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Orangers - Hotel

Address: 6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £288 - £703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa des Orangers - Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot of the Koutoubia mosque, with its matchless landmark minaret and only 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa el Fna square, the Villa des Orangers offers an exceptional location to explore the medina. The Villa des Orangers is an intimate haven of peace located near the bustling souks of Marrakech with 27 rooms and suites arranged on two levels around three verdant open-sky patios with water fountains surrounded by galleries of chiseled plaster and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Villa des Orangers - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Orangers Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Des Orangers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing