We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply loved it!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
Ranked #28 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2007

We have just returned from a 4 day break, we were so thrilled with this Riad. We had a room with a private terrace that had a gate to the roof top pool. The room was beautiful, lots of little touches (morrocan slippers, candles, hand made soaps) and was spotlessly clean. Marrakech is so noisy and bustling it was a real pleasure to return to the tranquility of our Riad. The hotel arranged a day in the Atlas Mountins which is a must they are so beautiful. We paid for a taxi and then for a guide to take us on about a 4 hour walk in the mountains. They arranged for a donkey to meet us with a picnic lunch, which made us feel like royality. You can really appreciate how lucky you are when you see how the Berber people live, but they all seem so happy and very welcoming (the total cost of the trip was approx £120.00 but well worth it!). We ate at the Riad twice I had the same meal each time because it was so delicious. We also eat at Dar Moha and Bo Zin. Dar Moha is very traditional food which if you don't like Morrocan food this is not the place for you. Bo Zin had a good atmosphere, the service could have been better, my Husband had chicken kebabs which when arrived were raw inside, they did change them but without an appology which was a bit annoying.

We were very keen to leave a good tip for the staff on departure. They were all so curtiously and helpful. In the past we have added money to the bill to be split between the staff, in this case that do not have the facility to do this. We were told as we were leaving that there is an envelope in Reception but by this stage we had little currency left.

We went for a hamman at La Sultana which is a member of the SLH chain, this also looks good but I would still choose Villa Des Orangers every time. Can't wait to return!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NEnright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2007

We stayed for 2 nights prior to moving up to Kasbah Tamadot and were bowled over by this riad.

We had a suite in the courtyard which was delightful in every respect, from the total authenticity of the property, to the musicians playing outside our bedroom window in the late afternoon, and tiny details like oil burners in the bedrooms - no detail was left unturned yet it was totally unpretentious and the staff and service were exceptional.

I would recommend that you do not choose a big impersonal hotel if your planning to visit Marrakech, instead choose a riad, and if you choose Villa de Orangers, you will not be dissappointed.

Bromley, Kent

Stayed: April 2007
4  Thank insearchofsolitude67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2007

We returned this week from a 4 night stay at La Villa des Orangers. We stayed in room 3, a split level suite which was really beautiful and positioned on the main courtyard. The hotel is architecturally stunning and the decor was traditional with a contemporary twist. We couldnt fault a thing! Breakfast was fab, served on time, anywhere of your choice throughout the hotel. Whilst the lunch menu didnt change during our stay the wating staff were more than happy to rustle up the lunch of our choice on request.

All members of staff were totally professional and charming consistently.

When the sun begins to set on the main, larger pool downstairs, the sun is still shining on the roof top pool.

The position of the hotel is a huge bonus, only a 5 min walk to Djemaa El Fna which is a sight to see after sun down.

Its not a cheap hotel but its certainly worth every penny if you can afford it.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank juliemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2007

We stayed at the end of April for 3 nights in the Villa des Orangers, encouraged by the reviews on this website.

We had a fantastic stay. The hotel is very romantic, peaceful and beautifully done. The staff are superb - very helpful and friendly, yet very discreet.

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the main square with all the performers and the entrance to the souks. It's not on a pretty or a quiet street, but once you are inside the hotel it is a haven of tranquility.

We found the negative comments about the lunches in previous reviews unjust. The lunch is included in the price of your stay and was just right, we felt - very nicely done and a good size, for a lunch. You can have pudding and coffee or mint tea and pastries if you still have a hole to fill.

We booked a bedroom with a terrace which I highly recommend. The bedroom had a flight of stairs up to it's own private roof terrace on which there was a table and chairs where we breakfasted every morning, and a couple of sunloungers for relaxation. We had a private shower on this level too, so you could shower off before or after you took the plunge into the small rooftop pool which we accessed through a little gate off our terrace.
Heaven.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Antonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2007

Just back from 7 days at Villa des Orangers.

Excellent hotel, and just what you would expect of a Relais Château.

Perfect location – just 10 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, but quieter than the bustle of the main tourist area – a total haven from the chaos that is Marrakech.

Service is impeccable and faultless – there seem to be a plethora of staff around, but they are so discrete. They miraculously appear when you need something.

I had read negative reviews here that lunches were too simple – personally, I found them perfect – they offer 5 different choices, all light and tasty (and really quite generous portions). Breakfasts are sumptuous.

The key to the hotel is the discretion and staff – they are all faultless, from Khamel the concierge through the reception team, restaurant staff and cleaning staff.

The architecture is beautiful and the tranquillity of the hotel is exceptional given it’s location – remember, it is in the heart of a city so it is not 100% total calm!

The pools are an added plus. There is plenty of room to escape and one rarely sees other guests. There is a wonderful air of privacy when needed.

Standard room rates are very good value. The suites may seem expensive but are worth it for that total romantic escapism.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2007

This is a fabulous Riad - the service was unobtrusive but absolutely excellent; the quality of the rooms and public spaces superb. The meals were all top quality - from breakfasts served whereever required to gourmet evening meals that reflected local specialities.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2007
3  Thank jmcc1m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2007

My wife and I had the great pleasure of staying at this wonderful Riad for six nights.

We had researched Marrakech thorougly and had great hopes for a classic Riad with charm, wonderful rooms and superb food. Well, let me put things in context - the service, food and whole experience of this Riad was above the fantastic experience of the 7 star Burj al arab we stayed at a couple of months ago in Dubai.

The Riad itself was stunning inside, with amazing decor, but as with most hotels the staff and smaller things made for a great stay.

Highlights were: Staff that would cater to our every need in a wonderfully calm and serene manner. A Restaurant with delicious food
- many dishes not out of place in a michelin starred restaurant and in our experience the best in Marrakech. A delicious lunch included and eaten anywhere in the Riad. We had lunch at 3pm many days - "not a problem sir where would you like to eat, in our courtyard, delivered to your room, in a private lounge".

Simply woderful, we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank SamHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#24 of 500 in Marrakech
1,197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#43 of 500 in Marrakech
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
971 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#19 of 500 in Marrakech
2,100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#27 of 500 in Marrakech
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa des Orangers - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Orangers - Hotel

Address: 6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £336 - £579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa des Orangers - Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot of the Koutoubia mosque, with its matchless landmark minaret and only 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa el Fna square, the Villa des Orangers offers an exceptional location to explore the medina. The Villa des Orangers is an intimate haven of peace located near the bustling souks of Marrakech with 27 rooms and suites arranged on two levels around three verdant open-sky patios with water fountains surrounded by galleries of chiseled plaster and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your La Villa des Orangers - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Orangers Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Des Orangers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing