We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a makeover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
Ranked #119 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“In need of a makeover”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed at Es Saadi Gardens 1st February to 6th February 2013 as part of a business conference. The hotel provides a fairly elegant impression on arrival but it soon becomes apparent that the Es Saadi Gardens Hotel is in a little need of TLC/refurb. The room was spacious and comfortable although I would recommend you request a pool view room as the alternative is less than inspiring. The decor of the rooms was looking a little tired, but on the whole the room was clean and comfortable, including table, chairs and balcony. The breakfast for our group was provided in the nearby Es Saadi Palace Hotel which is a far grander prospect. The buliding is a lot more elegant and the quality of breakfast was very good (especially anything from the pastry chef, outstanding); however this was let down by the ability to be fully open at 7am as advertised. For those breakfasting at this time there was the need to contend with the room still being set up. Service in the hotel was generally very slow compred to a standard I am used to internationally, so a little patience is required when trying to catch the attention of a member of staff to order a drink or get a coffee at breakfast. My only real annoyance came on my final evening when I attempted to order room service. The room service menu stipulates that the full room service menu applies until 11pm; I was then a little surprised to be told at 6.30pm that the kitchen was closed and that I could only order a sandwich or cheese. I did then enquire as to why the information in the room was incorrect to which I never really received a credible answer. The saving grace for me was the hour or so I spent talking with Salima in the gift shop attached to the hotel. This is a little hidden, around the corner from the hotel's pool but Salima's shop is full of all the gifts and nic nacs you would expect too find elsewhere in Morrocco but without the hassle of having to be dragged kicking and screaming into the shop. Please pay her a visit if you are staying in the hotel and help support her families long running business. On the whole the hotel was fine, but for me if I was to return to Marrakech I would favour staying in a Riad.

Room Tip: Poolside, high level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    367
    173
    75
    54
See reviews for
174
442
82
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Efficient helpful staff, elegant surroundings, top quality food and all the amenities you would want from a 5 star hotel coupled with easy access to the Medina and its souks make this a great place to stay. Tri-lingual staff made a real difference. Breakfast is amazing. We got a special rate on a low season package and were in room facing the main street which was a bit noisy and management would do well to install double glazing. Otherwise pay extra and get a quieter room overlooking the pool. The concierge staff were really helpful with organising sight seeing trips, as well as the airport transfers which cost 150 dirhams each way.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool, not one facing east near the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steffen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Just returned from a week in the Gardens Hotel. NOT to be confused with the Palace.The reception staff are surley and there is absolutely no toutrist information in the Hotel. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, this means tat you have to purchase it at £4 per cup. Two small icecreams and two small beers came to £20. A gin/tonic and a scotch were £16.50.The restaurant was being refurbished and therefore meals were to be taken in The Palace next door which is like a Mausaleum. The cold buffet was good but the hot buffet was cold.
Housekeeping in the Gardens hotel was excellent with clean towels and bedlinen every day, but the fixtures and fitting are chipped and damged in the bathroomsand the hall carpets are stained.. The main square is about 25 minutes walk away but beware the local who sees you leave the Hotel and latches on pretending to be a member of staff willing to act as you guide. All they want to do is stear you to friends shops. The constant pestering in the Market area is to say the least very tedious.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Old fashioned type of hotel, but in a nice sort of way. Very clean. Staff friendly, although sometimes a little slow. Food was good overall. They have a great pastry/dessert chef. Location is very central. Gardens are lovely. If you can get a good deal I would recommend staying there. What you lose in international 5 star standards you get back in local charm.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campo Grande, MS
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

It's a old hotel,needing refurbish , but the staff is so careful ...at evening, the songs played in piano and violin make the place magic and special! You have access to a nice dance club and to the casino! Is close to everywhere ,and the breakfast has a lot of varieties ! It's a good hotel,not amazing!

Room Tip: Take in the building ,not in the villas in front of swimming pool...they are too dark!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuMatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

Es Saadi Gardens hotel is not to be confused with the Es Saadi Palace Hotel next door but nonetheless a good hotel. We stayed in Marrakech for 4 nights here and the 15 minute walk into the main market square was great. It's a fantastic base for exploring the city. The pools are great and the service was fantastic from all the staff. We ate the breakfast in the hotel every day and went over to the palace hotel for a really fantastic meal on the first night and were treated like royalty. We got a good deal on Expedia so we found it to be good value for money but would not pay the full daily rate that we found on the back of the doors.

The only slight issue we had was that the toilet sometimes smelt a little sulphurous but nothing that closing the door didn't solve.

Bearing in mind it is a hotel in North Africa people need to realize that 5 star there does not = a 5 star in LA or Dubai.

We always try to stay somewhere new if we go back to the same place so we would not stay here again but we would recommend it to friends as a base to spend a long weekend in Marrakech if they got a good deal like we did.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toscana, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I only used the Spa for half day and I really reccommend the place....The Hotel is a luxury spot in town and the Spa is very well kept...I enjoyed a beautiful spa package and the Hammam was super (thank you Hanan for your nice hospitality...), then the massage and then the manicure....of course, with a delicious mint tea!

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank SabToscana_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
4.8 mi away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#112 of 499 in Marrakech
908 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 499 in Marrakech
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel

Property: Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
Address: Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#66 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#157 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#190 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not far from the bustling Medina full of history, in the heart of the peaceful Hivernage and in a 8-hectare green park, the Es Saadi Hotel is at 10-minute walk from Jemaa el-Fna, facing the snow-capped Atlas Mountains. The hotel has a 400m² swimming pool, heated in winter, and an Oriental Spa. The 150 keys' hotel, mainly composed of elegantly decorated air-conditioned rooms with balconies overlooking the pool or surrounding area. Suites and bungalows at the pool are included. 2 restaurants and a piano bar are available to guests. They also have privileged access to other facilities of the Es Saadi Marrakech Resort that are the Casino with its famous restaurant L'Epicurien and its late-dinning concept and the night club, the Theatro. It offers free Wi-Fi. Marrakech-Menara Airport is at 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Prestigia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Saadi Marrakech
Hotel Es Saadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing