We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at kenzi farah”
Review of Hotel Kenzi Farah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Ranked #240 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Marrakech, Morocco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staying at kenzi farah”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Arrived at hotel yesterday earlier than expected. Were greeted and found rooms immediately were not to our liking as had no balcony so we requested another as booked two rooms again was not satisfied but the lady in reception whom spoke fluent English was extremely helpful and found us some rooms that we were happy with staff are very friendly and welcoming if you don't ask you don't get as quite large family also requested info on sightseeing again referred to lady whom spoke very good English and tried to find the best prices for us. Kids are enjoying themselves has a basketball and football area so far so good are staying for ten days so will definitely update also lovely garden and grounds very relaxing.

Room Tip: It's best to ask for a room with balcony so you can sit out and chillax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muslimah4rmEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    688
    514
    284
    259
See reviews for
558
776
101
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waqles
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This hotel was considerably better than I had aniticipated. The room was large with two huge beds, a decent bathroom and nice view of the garden. There were welcome canapes which were good. The food in the main dining room was disappointing, typical chain hotel buffets with overcooked stews and dull salads. The pudding were much better and the breakfast fine with omelets to order and some rather unusual square pancakes( not like ours )
We travelled with Riviera travel which was exceedingly good value, The weather was superb and Morocco a joy to come to.

Room Tip: sk for a garden or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peko4540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed at the Kenzi Farah over new year for one week. Having stayed in several 5 star hotels in the world I would say this is more 3 to 4 stars.

We were greated on arrival and our bags taken, we then went to check in, we did not receive a lot of information. We were given a key and went to get our bags, they had disappeared! Two members of hotel staff could not find them (nor understand what we were saying) they were then found locked in a room (this was ten minutes after they had been taken from us).

Having checked in we then went to the room (No directions given to the lift) the sheets were dirty and the shaving point was hanging out of the wall with exposed wires. I called house keeping to get some fresh pillows but again they did not understand what I was saying and put the phone down on me! I went to reception and they moved us immediately. When we got to the new room everything was fine apart from there was no hot water, this was fixed straight away (although I had to go to reception to explain what was wrong as I didnt want the phone put down on me again). We ordered room service on NYE and it took 2 hours to get to our room. Most five star hotels provide free access to the indoor pool and gym facilities - do not expect that here. The pool area is very run down, it costs £10 for an hour and you are not allowed bath robes (not five star service).

The breakfast at the hotel was lovely, lots of selection and the location was also good (a peacefull escape from the hussle and bussle). Room service was reasonably priced and we ordered several times.

This hotel could be so much more than it is. I found the hotel dated and tatty, a lot of the staff unfriendly, rude and unable to understand basic conversations ( I am not one of these people who expect everyone to speak english but you should not market the hotel for english guests when basic requests cannot be understood).

If you are looking for places to go there is a lovely restaurant over the road called the Villa. Turn left out of the hotel and at the crossroads do another right and you will come onto a busy street, here you can find a small supermarket and little cafes (a lot cheaper than the hotel, a huge salad for £2.50). I would also recommend the hop on and off city site seeing bus, well worth it and the same price as a taxi!

Room Tip: Request a pool side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank donnalw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed at the Kenzi Farah and took part in the half marathon in January, flying there and back with British Midland. Flights excellent. Hotel is centrally located, staff very helpful and pleasant, beds comfortable, rooms clean and spacious with plenty of hot water, minibar, TV. There was a lovely warm swimming pool (indoor) and state-of-the-art gym, as well as an attractive outdoor pool surrounded by landscaped gardens. Breakfasts were served from very early to 11, evening meals with both hot and cold buffets as well as two themed restaurants which we didnt try. The food was good, in my opinion, especially if one arrived early. Provided a welcome break from the vibrant chaos that is the Central Square of Jamaa El Fna. Staff spoke English and French. I would definitely return there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed at the Kenzi Farah in Marrakech over Christmas and no, it is not a 5 star hotel by European standards but we got a great package at only £300 for a week including flights so we didn’t mind that the rooms were a bit scruffy in places. The pool side and gardens are really lovely – a great relief from the madness of the Medina and the hassle of the main square – but the bar is pretty expensive, so you are better off smuggling booze into your room, but don’t let the concierge see you – he told us off for carrying a six pack of still water in as ‘this is a five star hotel, you can drink the water’ – but the water comes out of the tap a light brown shade so not appealing to drink! To be fair, he did let us smuggle the water in by hiding it inside my boyfriend’s newly purchased jellabah so that other guests wouldn’t see. DON’T drink spirits in the hotel bar – a shot is around £10!

The bed was comfy and clean, the hotel room peaceful and plenty of hot water – on Christmas Day we were so exhausted after an early morning balloon flight that we ate in the hotel that evening – cannot recommend the hotel food at all, most of it was unidentifiable but we were so hungry we didn’t care. Breakfasts were good though – served up to a civilised 11am with one guy just cooking fresh omelettes constantly, it was well worth making the effort to get down to the buffet – even though it was pretty chaotic the staff tried hard to help as quickly as possible.

Top tips for first time visitors: 1) never pay the asking price for anything in the souk or medina – offer a quarter of what they want then work up from then 2) the helpful bloke who starts taking you to some sight or another will want money and you are likely to end up in his cousin’s shop on the way 3) brush up on your French – it will help massively 4) walk down the road to get a taxi – the drivers bump up the prices from outside the hotel 5) keep small change on you for tips – this is a tipping culture

And, this is a big one: if you eat from the stalls at Djeema La Fna, keep an eye out that they bring ONLY what you order – if they bring extra plates of stuff, send it away, unless you want to be massively overcharged as we were on our first time! If they hassle you, be firm but not rude and keep on walking.

Top places to go: a hamman, we went to Bains Les Marrakesh but there are other good ones; a drink as the sun goes down at the Kosy Bar; a day trip to Essasouria for lunch is also good – be brave and go to the fish market, pick your own freshly caught fish and then pay for it to be cooked and served with bread and salad – you will have the biggest fish lunch ever for around £5 for two – fantastic!

Enjoy – its an amazing city!!!

Room Tip: Get a pool side room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loumin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulham, London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We went to Marrakech for our first wedding anniversary. We travelled on a BMI flight which was a first for me and was absolutely brilliant, great airline and very fast flight time. Arrived Marrakech and had standard North Africa argument with taxi driver over fare. Got to Kenzi Farah, reception and grounds are really impressive, rooms are not. We moved 3 times and found a nice one at the back of the grounds looking out over the garden and pool. To be honest when in Marrakech the amount of time you actually spend inside your hotel room is limited and Kenzi Farah is amazingly well located for everything you would want to do. We went to Jemaa el Fnaa (big square) and ate street food and were overwhelmed by noise on our first night, battled the souks and drank tea and diet coke in the dry bars. The next 2 nights we went to Le Comptoir (amazing, chic, very well worth a visit and walking distance too). Final night we went to Maison MK, this was featured on Jaimie does Marrakech, hidden in the depths of the Medina. If you are a couple and want an amazing restaurant then 100% visit here - will take a lot of commitment to find it but when you do you won't regret. Love Marrakech, will definitely return but maybe once is enough at Kenzi Farah...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FulhamCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The above title sums it up really. The hotel looks good, has good facilities that could qualify as a 5 star. But the true test of a 5 star is not just about good window dressing. The toilets in main reception were always unclean, wifi very patchy, fixtures in the room were a bit tacky, rough toilet paper, extortionate price for small bottles of water (would be complimentary in other similar hotels) in the minibar.

It's in an area where there are no shops, eateries, bus routes. Just hotels everywhere. Naturally this then makes it a killing ground for taxis. To get into the main happening area like Jema Al Finaa, we paid anything from 15 to 40 dirhams depending on our or the taxi drivers stubbornness at the time..!!

Having said all the above, it is good looking, inside it has a certain grandeur, nice pool, well equipped spa, lots of staff milling about especially during breakfast time. Good buffet breakfast with variety of food. Had lunch once in the cafe next to the pool, was ok but quite pricey. Never had evening meal there because we always dined out at night.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank the_musafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
5.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.3 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#96 of 499 in Marrakech
4,918 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
#386 of 499 in Marrakech
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#197 of 499 in Marrakech
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#394 of 499 in Marrakech
398 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#442 of 499 in Marrakech
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kenzi Farah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kenzi Farah

Property: Hotel Kenzi Farah
Address: Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#133 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#156 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kenzi Farah 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic venue, typical of the Imperial City, a haven of peace set like a gem in a 3 hectors' private splendid park of luxuriant greenery and dappling hues and vivid colors, the mythical, iconic KENZI FARAH HOTEL is located in the very heart of the prime, trendy, cosmopolitan district "L'Hivernage".Completely renovated in 2011 and thanks to its privileged location, the KENZI FARAH HOTEL symbolizes and strikes the perfect balance between business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kenzi Farah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Farah Hotel Marrakech
Kenzi Farah Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing