We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surly staff, a bit worn and shabby”
Review of Hotel Kenzi Farah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Ranked #247 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here from 1st to 5th June 2012. As I should have probably expected the hotel is approx 90% French. There were probably a couple of english guests here. This is not a problem in itself as I love France and go regularly. However, the Moroccan staff speak mainly French and when dealing with us we found them to be surly to the point of rude, they could barely raise a smile (with the exception of the chamber maids who were lovely).
To specifics:- the room was very large but has definitely seen better days with creaking and very worn furniture and air-con and a fridge that barely function. We had requested a double bed and this one had twin beds. When asked if they had a double bed we were shown a room facing the main road!
There is a safe in the room but this is chargeable! When enquiring about this I was simply told it was 25 Dirham (dhl). This was discussed for a while and it appeared that this was about 2 euros. However, this turned out to be 25dhl per day! This is a typical example of the staff only just giving you an answer to a question without giving you a service. How hard would it have been to have explained this fully? There was also an episode with my wife in the breakfast room where a waiter just removed our milk jug and gave it to the table next to us who had requested some milk (we had yet to use it). I retrieved the jug explaining that we needed the milk. The waiter then returned and when my wife explained that she had not yet finished with the milk the waiter started ranting in French, snatched the jug from her hand and proceeded to flood her coffee with milk to the embarrassment of the table next to us. Five star service? I think not. In general we were treated with indifference which did not appear to be the case with the French guests where there was a fair deal of chatter and banter going on. Another example of this poor service was with the money exchange, when requesting smaller notes than 200dhl for taxi fates etc.. I was told that there were none, yet there were clearly smaller notes available as noted when the other guests were able to request them.
Other points to note, there seem to be a lot of pigeons at the hotel regularly flying down to the pool for a drink! Something I have never witnessed before.
For practical information. The hotel is located about a 15 minute walk to the main square. A taxi (use the small yellow ones, not the big Merc’s) will cost between 20-30dhl in the day and 30-40 dhl at night. You can easily exchange your money at the hotel, but they did not have any English money and wanted to give me Euros when trying to change it back, you can get it changed at the airport but keep your receipt from the hotel exchange as they want this, again the Hotel does not tell you this. I short, the pool and the grounds are very nice a sun bed is usually easy to get. The food is quite nice and the deserts are lovely, but be sure to get there early as the later you leave it the fewer options available and it will be nearly cold. The location is quite good being only a 15 minute walk from the square. The beds are comfortable and the room we had was very quite but was drab and dark. Not five star, would not go again and while it was not exactly Faulty Towers, it was not far off. I could never recommend this hotel. While it did not spoil our brake it did nothing to enhance it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BobnWorcesterPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,428)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kenzi Farah
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 2,428 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

i had a lovely stay at the Kenzi Farah hotel, it's not too far out from the old town (about a 10 minuite walk) so location is good. The pool area is lovely as is the hotel in general, but it is not 5 star, I'd say a 4 star. I was lucky enough to get a good rate so it was very good value for money.

Bad points - the pedicures in the salon were not good and very expensive and the Mojito cocktails by the pool taste weird.

Enjoy your stay.

.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacky172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This review is long overdue as I have only joined TripAdvisor but that doesn't affect my memory of this beautiful hotel.

Their customer service skills were outstanding; friendly, polite and courteous at all times. We had a lovely, clean room.

Food was great, whether you like your Italian pasta, European food or you want the real Moroccan experience.

It takes something a bit special for me to award 5*'s for a hotel, because I have had wonderful 5* experiences in my life and naturally, you have to compare.

The outdoor swimming pool is mediocre in size and appearance. A larger one with a feature to give it a 5* touch would do this hotel wonders. It's so hot in Marrakech who doesn't love a good swim!

Also if you're going to class yourselves as 5* I believe you should always have 1 feature of your hotel that everyone remembers you for, and with this hotel I can't think what that would be.

So all in all, 4*s :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Can't believe the previous reviews of this hotel. Our experience was not positive. The location is not that great in that it is a long walk to the medina/old town. While the area appears quite nice a guest who we met was mugged for her gold chain a little way from the hotel. During our stay the temperature was in excess of 40 degrees yet there was no air conditioning to speak of. Our fridge did not work (a common complaint apparently),wi fi,only in the lobby, was sporadic and there was a charge for using the room safe. Prices for any thing purchased at the hotel are high and we found the staff to be indifferent. Breakfast was OK although nothing special.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter_sue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

classified as 5* but some issues are like 3* budget hotel
garden and pool - 5/5
outdoor bar and pool service - 3/5
breakfast, lunch and dinner service - 3/5
Breakfast - 4/5
Tariff included meals - 3/5
Rooms 2/5
Good: pool, garden, 20~30min walking distance to Medina, room AC, LCD TV, free wi-fi, ATM inside hotel,
Worst: noisy rooms (avoid rooms 1001~1005 they placed over the kitchen), noisy and busy buffet, too many waiters doing nothing during meals, service during meals, room cleaning, not friendly awsering my questions at front desk,

Room Tip: if you can chose another best rated one go for it!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sousap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

5 star it's not but 4 star in a great location it is. High light was having great weather and getting to use the pool/area. The grounds a very nice, rooms basic and clean. It was lovely having the spa on site, however therapist's need more experience. We went as a group of 5 girls on a hen weekend, although you would think not the usual place for a hen weekend, we spent 3 nights in the local resturants/bars/clubs till the early hours. Location was perfect for us as we felt safe enough to walk back to the hotel. The medina during the day was a 20 min walk (beware when crossing the roads) we didn't go into the centre at night. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simone004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Reception staff very helpful on arrival as we didn't like the first or second room offered. They found a room on the third go that we loved with a lovely balcony over looking the pool. The gardens are well kept and although the pool is cold it is refreshing! The sun loungers are very comfy and pool staff are diligent. The food is good for fresh produce but can be samey. Tablecloths could be changed more frequently but the fresh orange at breakfast is lovely. Ask the head porter to get a taxi for you as he knows and agrees the best price for the journey and knows the taxi drivers will add money on to your journey if you are not savvy.
We went out in the evening as nothing much happened in the hotel. A street away just across from El Saadi hotel is a lovely bar with a roof top terrace that is worth a visit on Avenue El Kadissia. The tip we read on here about the little shop across the main road (Avenue Mohammed VI?) was very useful. Kosy Bar also well worth a visit as is the main square in the evening for experiencing the fun around the food areas. Cafe Arabe was recommended but very hard to find and didn't feel too safe late at night. We saved up for a visit to La Mamounia which was beautiful and had amazing gardens, wonderful in the evening for a drink.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
5.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.3 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#94 of 502 in Marrakech
5,097 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
#406 of 502 in Marrakech
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#374 of 502 in Marrakech
410 reviews
2.1 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#204 of 502 in Marrakech
765 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#444 of 502 in Marrakech
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kenzi Farah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kenzi Farah

Address: Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#140 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#160 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £53 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kenzi Farah 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic venue, typical of the Imperial City, a haven of peace set like a gem in a 3 hectors' private splendid park of luxuriant greenery and dappling hues and vivid colors, the mythical, iconic KENZI FARAH HOTEL is located in the very heart of the prime, trendy, cosmopolitan district "L'Hivernage".Completely renovated in 2011 and thanks to its privileged location, the KENZI FARAH HOTEL symbolizes and strikes the perfect balance between business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kenzi Farah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Farah Hotel Marrakech
Kenzi Farah Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing