We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30 Min Brisk, Fraught Walk to Jemaa el Fna”
Review of Hotel Kenzi Farah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Ranked #237 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a solid 4-star, not 5-star hotel.

It takes 30 minutes at a brisk pace to walk to Jemaa el Fna (the fantastic market place). At a leisurely pace it takes 45 minutes. The worst parts are that many of the surrounding streets are not well lit (some seemingly not lit at all), and parts of the sidewalks are very uneven, so it's quite treacherous at night.

If you don't twist an ankle on the sidewalk, be prepared to get run over by traffic. To get to JeF from the hotel, there are a few major streets to cross, and they are breathtakingly scary. Woe to anyone who can't dodge and run.

(The Jemaa el Fna is absolutely worth the effort it takes to go at night; it becomes a magical place, and very different than what it's like in the daytime.)

The breakfast at the hotel is barely okay, definitely not special or something I looked forward to in the morning. It's mostly breads and fresh fruit. The bread and baked good are well made.
There's a pitiful omelet bar, with few toppings, a long line, and only one slow-pokey omelet chef. After a couple of omelets I hardly thought it worth the effort.

Spotty wi-fi.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 133travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKenziFarah, General Manager at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Greetings from Marrakech,

We would like to thank you for your comment and your constructive points.

Our Chef is now aware about the lack on the omelet bar and we should have an improvement very soon. Thank you for that.

Yes we changed and improved our breakfast. Also the new menu in Mediteros available for for guest with packages is now with no extra charges.

The indoor pool as you saw is now free and to go an extra mile, we made our "shoes shiner" free every morning.

Thank you once more and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 2,569 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Reception often had a queue of unhappy customers shouting at a useless manager.

Customers are allowed to smoke in the communal areas making the place fairly unpleasant.

Breakfast often short of cutlery, tables not cleared, long queues for some buffet items, terrible coffee.

In our 1st room the window latch was broken, the 2nd room was OK.

The basic gym and indoor pool costs €10ph! So obviously it was always empty.

A strictly no-frills experience. Definitely not a 4 or 5-star property.

Room Tip: Maybe a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexb917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKenziFarah, Manager at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Greetings from Marrakech,

We would like to thank you for your comment and your constructive points.

We are sorry that the hotel was not up to your expectations. I am happy to say that we fixed most of the breakfast remarks and the coffee was already changed.

A small correction to your comment, in fact we made the indoor pool free for the last few month, the gym is chargeable and we plan to make it free in the next few month.

Also the new menu in Mediteros available for for guest with packages is now with no extra charges.

Our very nice garden and open areas make the place very open and we usually do not have complains from non smokers.

Thank you once more and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel was just ok. This is a very big hotel with lots of rooms on 2 sides of the building. The rooms were not that good. The beds were just ok. The restaurant and breakfast was just ok very average. This is the biggest hotel in Marrakesh. The location is great. It is near everything and I do mean everything. That’s the only thing I liked about this place. Marrakesh is an amazing, live city, and I would visit again just not at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iDreemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKenziFarah, Manager at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Greetings from Marrakech,

We would like to thank you for your comment and your constructive points.

Yes we changed and improved our breakfast. Also the new menu in Mediteros available for for guest with packages is now with no extra charges.

The indoor pool as you saw is now free and to go an extra mile, we made our "shoes shiner" free every morning.

Thank you once more and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel looks good on the surface but needs a little TLC in the maintenance department. It's in the detail when you arrive at the plush hotel and this one has just managed to miss the Mark. Internet is quite sporadic, bathrooms with loose shower heads, taps that fall apart , card keys that forget to work properly. All in all however, the gardens and pool area are very grand , breakfast is excellent and the pastry/ dessert chef needs a gold medal as you cannot help but go back for seconds. Don't be put off , you can still enjoy your stay and explore Marakesh to your hearts content.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sigsearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was a few days at this hotel. Basic hotel, located 15 minutes walk to the Square, good service. Distant from restaurants, you need to take a taxi or walk 15 minutes to find restaurants and markets to buy bottled water. Dinner at the restaurant of the hotel is about $35 per person without drinks. Wi-Fi reception is bad and we even had a day where the whole hotel was without internet connection. Rooms have good size but very bad planned, for example, there is a door to access the bathroom that needs to be open or close to get go to bed.
Staff is very helpful and try to deal with all problems with a great smile that makes your day. Despite the problems I would stay there in my trips to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santiagozamudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel was basic and in need of maintenance. The staff were rude and incompetent. It took them 7 hours to check us into our room as they kept losing our details. No maps of the area were available, no trips or excursions were offered, our luggage was left in reception unattended until we took them to our rooms ourselves. Our rooms smelt of sewage. The maid kept leaving our room door open after cleaning. The maid also kept forgetting to empty our bins. Not once did we receive what we actually ordered from the menu in the hotel restaurant or bar. We got food poisoning from the hotel restaurant. The waiter asked to take our headphones as he wanted a nice pair for himself. We were surprised with an additional bill at the end of the stay for local taxes. The exchange rate for money was lower than other hotels in the area, we found out as they kept running out of currency to change, so we had to go to other hotels for this service.

The only good thing about this hotel was that swimming pool was lovely.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near above the buffet restaurant. They smell of sewage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna21London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is well located and equipped, staff is pleasant but its offer seems a bit too expensive, especially meals (dinner buffet-tpye approx. 25 Eur). Wifi Internet is free but very slow and unstable. Bt the pool outside and spa inside worth visiting and it is free.

Room Tip: Be aware of pickpockets outside, I have been stolen (grabbed of the pavement from a motorcycle) a mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomasBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
5.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.3 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#88 of 500 in Marrakech
5,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Farah Marrakech
Hotel Farah Marrakech
#452 of 500 in Marrakech
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#404 of 500 in Marrakech
440 reviews
5.9 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#168 of 500 in Marrakech
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kenzi Farah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kenzi Farah

Address: Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#133 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#151 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £48 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kenzi Farah 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic venue, typical of the Imperial City, a haven of peace set like a gem in a 3 hectors' private splendid park of luxuriant greenery and dappling hues and vivid colors, the mythical, iconic KENZI FARAH HOTEL is located in the very heart of the prime, trendy, cosmopolitan district "L'Hivernage".Completely renovated in 2011 and thanks to its privileged location, the KENZI FARAH HOTEL symbolizes and strikes the perfect balance between business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kenzi Farah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Farah Hotel Marrakech
Kenzi Farah Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing