We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor hotel, rooms full of bed bugs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Hotel Essaouira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Hotel Essaouira
Ranked #211 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
London
1 review
“Very poor hotel, rooms full of bed bugs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

I asked a room for the close riad but no room were available so the owner sent us to next block and offered a big room in Hotel Essaouira: at a first glance it was ok but during the night I was completely eaten by bed bugs. I would not recommend even to my enemies to spend a night in this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chiaraeffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    66
    13
    9
    9
See reviews for
18
46
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed in this Hotel one week during christmas, and once i got used to the cold rooms, and the wc and shower in the hall, it Was great. Clean, great location, quiet, very cheap and friendly staff - especially the cleaning ladies. Other guest were nice too.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjoenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellezelles, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

every year we stay one or two nights in hotel essouira when we pass marrakech
nice rooms,great terrace,hot shower an very friendly ownerin the centre of the medina ,near "place jem el fna" where you can have breakfast
the whole family is big fan

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lieve9954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

What makes a great budget hotel if not good staff, good location and cleanliness? Essaouira tops all three of these categories. The hotel provided great comfort - and that for a price much lower than what you would pay elsewhere for the same thing.

Marrakech had overwhelmed us with its chaos; but when we got back to the hotel we knew we were so far away from that. The hotel is only three minutes away from Djemaa el-Fna; but it's so peaceful and calm. And that's such a treat in a place like Marrakech! The rooms are all situated around an indoor courtyard beautifully decorated with blue tiles. They are clean, the beds are large and comfortable. There is a lovely terrace, where you can see all of Marrakech and the Atlas Mountains. Breakfast is not included, but you can eat well for agreeable prices.

And, the staff. They were cool people, friendly as if we really were their friends - not as if we were foreigners whom they had to make content. Just after checking in we asked the receptionist where we could find food that would be cheap and good, preferably places for locals. He gave us the best tips, we were grateful to him after every meal at #14 in the Djemaa.

Let me summarize: Hotel Essaouira is the place for the happy traveller.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanemevde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

we stayed in here on our last day of our trip, selecting the hostel as a "last minute panic", but were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Although the rooms are very basic ( there is no electrical socket in the rooms or corridors, if you are thinking of charging up phones or cameras over-night) the building is very pretty; distributed like a riad with an inner patio, fountain and galleries where the rooms are located. On top there is a big roof-terrase with an "almost" view ;-) We were here in the winter, so it was quite cold, but I am sure in the summer the terasse is just exelent.
We needed to get up very early to catch the airport bus, which is conveniantly right around the corner from the hostel ( no. 19 running from 06.15 - till midnight I think, so no need to catch an overpriced taxi:-)
Even though the hostel is very close to the main square Jem el Fna, its on a side street with many other hostels, so it was pretty quiet. For one of the cheepies ( 10 Euros a night) its very worth it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank culturelinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

This is really no frills hotel, make sure you have ear plugs when planning to stay here.
No hot water whatsoever, filthy "toilet" and little shared so called "shower" with no place to hang anything even towel or your clothes....unfriendly stuff, thinny rooms..
But to stop with the moans - it is good value comparing to other 5€/per person deal hostels right next t Djemaa El Fna.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nika005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield Lake, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

Great value for money; clean enough everything considered and fine if you don't mind roughing it - value for money and good location definately. The hotel has a resident old british hippy type chap who is somewhat overpowering and pushy - but he can get you anything as long as he get's a cut. Not the most honest man around, beware of leaving anything on one of the roof top tables when you visit the loo! tthis man particularly ruined my stay with his constant attention seeking antics, and story telling that just didn't ring truel. Staff not particularly helpful, but overall ok for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetness-n-light
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#127 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#283 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#314 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#340 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#352 of 508 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#435 of 508 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Hotel Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hotel Essaouira

Property: Riad Hotel Essaouira
Address: Riad Zitoune Kedim 3, Derb Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Medina neighborhood in Marrakesh, 100 m from Palais de La Bahia, Riad Hôtel Essaouira features free WiFi throughout the property. Every room has a private bathroom equipped with a shower. You will find a 24-hour front desk at the property. The riad also provides car rental. Museum Dar Si Said is 201 m from Riad Hôtel Essaouira, and Cooking School is 300 m from the property. Menara Airport is 4 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Hotel Essaouira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essaouira Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Essaouira Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing