We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time a trade is not observed in Morocco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Hotel Essaouira
Ranked #191 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I've been in Morocco 3 times and this is one of the worst experiences ever!

We were 8 people. We asked for a room (where we could keep the luggage) and 8 places on the terrace, because we wanted to sleep outdoor and often this is possible in Morocco.
The man at the reception asked if two of us would have slept in the room and we said no. Of course we talked about the price, as always in Morocco, and we traded for what we asked. Usually on the terrace you can sleep on the sofa, or on a mattress on the floor, and this solution in cheaper.
On the terrace there were 8 places on some sofas, and we took them all, so we chose the most expensive solution.

Strangely, the man asked us to pay in advance and that's the first time this happened to me in Morocco: usually you pay the day you leave, since the host needs to prove he'll give you what you traded. We said it was strange, but we paid.

The last day in the afternoon, we saw there were two guys who put their luggage on the terrace and we asked them if they were going to sleep there in the night. They said yes. So we went at the reception to remind them we took all the 8 places on the sofas! They apologized and took them to another hotel.

A few hours later, when we went to sleep, a guy was sleeping on the terrace and there was no place enough for everyone. We went again to the reception to complain. After half an hour discussion, they gave us a mattress (that WE had to bring on the roof) to put of the floor.

The morning after we had to leave and we asked for a discount on the breakfast (that we still had to pay) for what happened the night before. They accused us that we changed our mind, that the night before we said "no problem" with the mattress, that we already had a discount when we paid (it's trade, not a discount, it's different), that the first day we said that two people would have slept in the room, that the terrace was open so they couldn't guarantee there were place on the sofa (then why did they apologize and send away those 2 guys in the afternoon?) and so on... They basically refused to give us a discount.

Now, I know Morocco traditions quite well and I know that:
1. not respecting a trade is a serious thing
2. both of the parts must be happy with the trade, and if something happens in between, everything must be fixed (for example with a discount)
3. lying is a bad thing for them (and that's what the guy did when he said that we asked for just 6 places on the roof, that the roof was open, etc...)
4. accusing someone of lying is really really bad, and they did it with us.

In Morocco they honor all this trade rules. This is the first time I see such a rude and disrespectful behavior.

I red some review talking about racist behavior. This doesn't surprise me, since during the discussion the man at the reception asked our nationalities. You should have seen his face!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vagamentale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

This is an old, somewhat rundown hotel. I got a large, airy room with private bath. The mattress was only slightly sloping towards the middle. A good centrally located stopover for someone on a modest budget.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jollycrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We were a group of 8 friends travelling on a budget. This place was a very good start for us. Very cheap, very close to Djemaa El Fna square, even charming if you're sporty and do not care about sharing a bathroom. The management let us have a pleasant terrace-breakfast at the near "Riad Mogador" which apparently is run by the same people. We had a very good time, we stayed here on our way back as well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCorso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I slept there for one night when we were waiting for our flight back from marrakesh and it is right what you seek when all you need is a place to stay. it was simple but clean, comfortable and very cheap. 70 dh is next to nothing in marrakesh and it is fairly easy to find and just a few minutes walking from the djemma el fna. if you are looking for a clean place and travel on low budget i can advise you consider staying there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VielUnterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I asked a room for the close riad but no room were available so the owner sent us to next block and offered a big room in Hotel Essaouira: at a first glance it was ok but during the night I was completely eaten by bed bugs. I would not recommend even to my enemies to spend a night in this Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiaraeffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed in this Hotel one week during christmas, and once i got used to the cold rooms, and the wc and shower in the hall, it Was great. Clean, great location, quiet, very cheap and friendly staff - especially the cleaning ladies. Other guest were nice too.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjoenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

every year we stay one or two nights in hotel essouira when we pass marrakech
nice rooms,great terrace,hot shower an very friendly ownerin the centre of the medina ,near "place jem el fna" where you can have breakfast
the whole family is big fan

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lieve9954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#217 of 501 in Marrakech
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#324 of 501 in Marrakech
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#115 of 501 in Marrakech
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#312 of 501 in Marrakech
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Hamdane & SPA
Riad Hamdane & SPA
#168 of 501 in Marrakech
315 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#79 of 501 in Marrakech
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Hotel Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hotel Essaouira

Address: Riad Zitoune Kedim 3, Derb Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £32 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Hotel Essaouira 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Medina neighborhood in Marrakesh, 100 m from Palais de La Bahia, Riad Hôtel Essaouira features free WiFi throughout the property. Every room has a private bathroom equipped with a shower. You will find a 24-hour front desk at the property. The riad also provides car rental. Museum Dar Si Said is 201 m from Riad Hôtel Essaouira, and Cooking School is 300 m from the property. Menara Airport is 4 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Hotel Essaouira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essaouira Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Essaouira Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing