We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential...but bedbugs are a deal breaker”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Hotel Essaouira
Ranked #192 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great potential...but bedbugs are a deal breaker”
Reviewed 30 June 2010

All of the reviews about location, service, decor are true. This is a typical budget hotel and I was looking forward to staying there. However, there were bed bugs. I stayed in their largest (and most expensive room, I might add) for one night, with a plan to move to a smaller room for the second. Luckily I awoke before getting eaten alive, but there was no way I was going to risk a second night. Maybe they aren't in all the rooms, which would explain the large number of positive reviews on this site.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    75
    13
    9
    10
See reviews for
20
50
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2010

All the traditional style hotels in Morocco are beautiful, but the atmosphere and value for money add to this to make this hostel an experience in itself. During our stays, many people were camped out on the roof terrace, looking over the city under the glow of the stars. Although we stayed in a twin room, we chatted to lots of these guests during breakfast on the terrace, or while having a coffee and taking in the city. It seemed that whether you stay here in a bed, or on the roof, you'll enjoy a really relaxed, friendly, comfortable and unique stay. I would definitely recommend this to any budget traveler. But it should be noted that if you haven't been to Marrakech before you will not be able to find this place alone!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KallyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Such a good hotel, after a disastorous night in another hostel, clean rooms, spacious, excellent staff and a brilliant price. You can see the High Atlas from the roof terrace which serves drinks and food at good prices. Really highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g808080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Very noisy in rooms on ground floor. We were woke early by people checking out early. Beautiful tiles throughout but this just adds to the echo of noisy neighbours! Room simple and small. Terrace pretty but a little crowded with rooftop guests. We stayed just one night before heading across the street to a quieter and cheaper riad.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinjodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We stayed in this hotel for about a week at the beginning of July. It was nicely decorated, traditional Moroccan style, and had a lot of character. We paid 30 dirham a night, which was about £2.35 to sleep on the roof, wouldn't of wanted a room - far too hot. The roof was great, big with cushions, lot of tables and chair and a small kitchen which served food all day and the most amazing orange juice. Met so many great people there, it was a good atmosphere, and right in the middle of the action. Bathrooms were fine, and a good washing facility for clothes. However there were bad parts of this stay. We met a few people on the roof that were staying in one of the rooms, and they were covered in bites - bed bugs in the rooms. Another down side was that there was no cover whatsoever on the roof, and it got ridiculously hot during the day, one of my friends got a nose bleed because of the heat. Also the roof did get a little overcrowded on a couple of nights, due to about 20 french (and very annoying) scouts taking over. Would recommend this place for like minded travellers who want to meet people, but not people who want an early night!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amythebackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2009

They didnt seem concerned and I have my foubts that they decontaminated the room. They suggested I brought them in but it was a definate infestation. I have about 40 bites

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABCDEF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2008

Hotel Essaouira is a great place to stay. The hotel is beautiful and excellent value for money. The rooms are simple but the courtyard and roof terrace with view and live sound from the Jemaa el Fna makes it perfect.

We where there in 2007 and you can only make a reservation by phone (we could only book two days in advance they would not take the booking earlier).

We arrived late in the evening and Marrakech can be quite a daunting place when you arrive for the first time but once you get used to the place it is fine and feels save.

A lot of the hotels in Marrakech will receive a commission when you book a excursion. We took the advice of our Trotters and booked an excursion at some hostel and Hotel Essaouira lost its commission. I could feel they where not exactly pleased with us.

So my conclusion it is a perfect place to stay when you want a simple, beautiful, reasonably priced and clean hotel

  • Liked — The interior and location
  • Disliked — Not able to make reservation two weeks before arrival
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PeB-Groningen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#335 of 500 in Marrakech
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#354 of 500 in Marrakech
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#206 of 500 in Marrakech
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#133 of 500 in Marrakech
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#306 of 500 in Marrakech
111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#217 of 500 in Marrakech
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Hotel Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hotel Essaouira

Property: Riad Hotel Essaouira
Address: Riad Zitoune Kedim 3, Derb Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Medina neighborhood in Marrakesh, 100 m from Palais de La Bahia, Riad Hôtel Essaouira features free WiFi throughout the property. Every room has a private bathroom equipped with a shower. You will find a 24-hour front desk at the property. The riad also provides car rental. Museum Dar Si Said is 201 m from Riad Hôtel Essaouira, and Cooking School is 300 m from the property. Menara Airport is 4 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad Hotel Essaouira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essaouira Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Essaouira Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing