We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From what I saw, the hotel needs total refurbishment as its caught in a time warp.”
Review of Hotel Oudaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Oudaya
Ranked #397 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Staffordshire Moorlands
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“From what I saw, the hotel needs total refurbishment as its caught in a time warp.”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The Hotel Oudaya in Marrakesh is centrally situated for exploring the city.

However, the room we were allocated was very disappointing. It smelled musty, looked out through filthy windows, onto a wall that had peeling plaster,. and the orange decoration cira l970 felt depressing. The wallpaper was marked and torn in places.

The room was cold and unwelcoming.

The bed was surprisingly comfortable, but the sheets were so old and thin, you could almost see through them. The towels were a greyish white, and the bath towels not large enough..

From what I saw, I think the hotel needs to close for total refurbishment.

I was glad we were only staying one night, and couldnt get out of the hotel quick enough - a view shared by my seven fellow travellers..

I would certainly not return, or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerryshut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    143
    145
    70
    52
See reviews for
64
159
52
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Hotel Oudaya is in a great location for most of the tourist spots. It's an easy half an hour walk to Djemaa El Fna and about 20 minutes from Jardin Majorelle. The rooms were always kept very clean and we had a nice view overlooking the pool. We did ask for a double bed but were given two singles. It tended to be a little noisy at night with music from a nearby bar but we managed to sleep through it quite easily each night to our surprise. We found the staff friendly and helpful and were given a very good map of the city.

However we were slightly let down when we bumped into a member of staff in town and he offered to show us the way and we found ourselves in a local berber shop which was great but there was a lot of pressure to buy something and we were asked to pay him a little money for his trouble. Anywhere else in Marrakech we would've expected this, but not by hotel staff.

Food and drink bought outside of the hotel are not allowed in officially however some staff turn a blind eye to it, just make sure it's not really visible.

Wifi is free but it was slow and was only available in the communal areas of the hotel. The safe is 20MAD a day and it will just fit a 13" Macbook Pro.

Room Tip: Oudaya Part 2 seems nicer than Part 1. We didn't see the rooms however. Hammans outside of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xenakis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I have just returned from staying there for 7 days. I would not recommend this hotel as the credibility and integrity in my opinion leaves a lot to be desired.

The staff are mainly unhelpful and are only after your money. Once they get your money their responsibility ends.

No one takes ownership or responsibility for anything and trying to access the Manager, or Acting Manager (boss or the person in charge) is a near impossibility. It appears to me that the customer facing staff all collude and getting beyond customer facing personnel to a higher level is akin to what is written about as the first attempt to scale Mount Everest - an extremely difficult task.

On the positive side my room was kept clean and warm and the food was ok.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monaghan, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel in Apr 13 for a night with my sister; check-in and check-out was very quick and smooth. The staffs are very friendly in the hotel. You are not allowed to take anything into the hotel not even take bottled water into your room you have to buy it in the hotel. Hotel is close to restaurants and shopping, it’s in the new town so it will take you 35mins walk to the Medina but is easy to do.

The hotel is basic but is very clean and has everything you want, it is like a maze trying to navigate through it but it has quaint touches throughout the hotel. The room was very clean, very comfortable; it was a small room and bathroom. The swimming pool was small in the centre of both the Oudaya 1 and Oudaya 11.

The restaurant had plenty of choice for dinner and breakfast and the food was ok. Food and drink were cheaper here than in Agadir.

Overall, this is a good hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mags200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

So the place is a little dated, a little daggy and needs a make over.

However we found our stay comfortable. The showers were hot, the bathroom clean, the wifi worked (in our room anyway!) the beds had good pillows, the room was made up everyday, the staff were pleasant and the breakfasts contained more than just bread.

The location is in the new town so it will take you 35 mins walk to the Medina but is easy to do.

We stayed here as part of a group. I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again but if you are reading this and your tour brings you here its an ok stay in Marrakesh :)

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 3 and the wifi worked in our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonniemccarthy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I think in it's past, this hotel may have been ok, but it's glory days are well and truly past.

The reception staff are rude and unhelpful. We even watched a full blown fight between two female staff members followed by one screaming at everyone else for the next 10 minutes (wifi is only in public areas so there is no escape). This was so unprofessional, even a two year old would be better behaved.

Rooms are ok in size but run down and shoddy. Our shower didn't have a proper attachment and sprayed everywhere. We came back one day and the towels were gone - they were returned when we asked though.

WIFI is slow. Breakfast is bad. Location is OK.

I'd highly recommend not staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Reasonable location due to short taxi trip to centre del Fna. Rooms pretty cramped but what do you expect on a group tour in a major centre. Major issue was the bathroom with totally inadequate shower head which could not/would not stay on the wall to be usable. Hence water went everywhere all over the bathroom and also penetrated through the shower curtain. Pretty inadequate overall.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Agdal Hotel
Agdal Hotel
#417 of 499 in Marrakech
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#437 of 499 in Marrakech
104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
#377 of 499 in Marrakech
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moroccan House Hotel
Moroccan House Hotel
#320 of 499 in Marrakech
581 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#454 of 499 in Marrakech
101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Imperial Plaza Hotel
Imperial Plaza Hotel
#420 of 499 in Marrakech
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oudaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oudaya

Property: Hotel Oudaya
Address: 147 Rue Mohamed El Bakkal | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oudaya 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Oudaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing