We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, serves for a quick stopover” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Oudaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Oudaya
Ranked #402 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
anywhere
Level Contributor
331 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Basic, serves for a quick stopover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

I stayed here 1 night just to take my next morning plane. The pool in the patio looked dirty. The rooms are small, but with a little balcony. The airco was banging all night. The hotel is in a quiet street of Mohammed V where several similar hotels are. I paid 45 euro for a double room but just wasnt into the mood of hassling around for something better since I had to leave early the next day anyway. The wireless didnt work.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PELOWELOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    141
    137
    68
    52
See reviews for
63
156
46
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

Firstly I am not one of these people who enjoys complaining about everything. However I do speak the truth.

The staff was rude rude rude! I appreciate that there is a culture difference/language barrier but manners are still manners. They didn't make any effort to help us when we asked for directions. The worst service is in the restuarant. The service was incredibly slow and when the waitress did bring our bottle of wine she just slammed it on the table without opening the cork. So we had to wait another ten minutes until we could grab another waiters attention for him to bring a bottle opener. There was also another incident when they wanted to sit another couple with us whilst we was having dinner. When me and my sister pointed out that we was not prepared to do this (as it was our mother's birthday and it was private) the waiter actually moved us and let the other couple sit there. As a result we walked out.

As far as room service goes. Several times we asked for ice to be delivered to our rooms which they agreed they would do. They never did. In the end we just gave up expecting any type of customer service.

Another important fact is that the restuarant is not air conditions which made it almost unbearable if you was sitting inside. They do not provide white wine, just rose and red. They food is also terrible. Do not waste any time eating there. There are other places to eat around the corner. One I strongly recommend (as does another reviewer) is Hotel Amalaya. This is air conditioned, good customer service, good wine, good food and a good price.

One thing to point out as well is that the hotel is mainly catered for German guests who are staying there via Thompson Holiday company. No real opportunity to chat to other people if you like that sort of thing.

Advise to any parents that are staying there. Around the pool is extremely slippery so be warn your children to be careful when walking around as I saw many people almost slide over when walking down the steps to the pool area.

Lastly (on the negative) you could hear many construction noises throughout the day. Hardly the right sound effect to help a relaxing atmosphere by the pool.

On a positive note I have to say that the rooms are air conditioned, they're cleaned well and they provide you with fresh towls each morning.

I would never stay there ever again, I wouldn't reccommend it other than to close it down!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashley_elliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
aldosmyhero
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

My wife & i stayed at this hotel as part of a twin centre holiday and we certainly wont be in a hurry to return. Anything we wanted/any query we had was to much trouble for these staff. (At one point when we were waitting on our transfer in reception, the receptionist actually followed a customer to keep up an argument)

It was very loud and breakfast was the most stale food i have ever eaten.

Location wise and cleanliness couldnt be better.

Worse of all though was the broken air condtioning, leaving us with a warm room that was well over 28oc and a broken shower that you had to hold in one hand whilst washing yourself with the other.

Pleaeont let this review put you off going to Marrakech or Morocco as the people here (apart from it seems at this hotel) are so warm and friendly and ready to welcome you with open arms.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aldosmyhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

Stayed her for 1 night en-route to Agadir. Room was OK - nothing special furnishing-wise but it was clean. About 20 mins walk from the Medina.

Reception staff were very friendly - let me have the room at 10am despite normal check-in not being until 2pm, although, it did seem very quiet!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

Marooned at this hotel for 24 long hours by Thomson due to Icelandic volcano episode. Rooms tiny, run down with broken air con and door latches, tiny hand-held shower head, worn decor and fittings. TV with 3 non-English channels. Huge, old, lumpy pillows. Not even a bottle of water in the room (can't drink tap water). Even the budget Riads provide you the means of drinking water on arrival. Also, no internet at all, not even pay for use. Amazing when every restaurant on the same street had free Wi-Fi.

Most notable point was the rudeness of staff - even the ones who made an attempt to be polite were unwilling to be of any help. The young female on the second reception desk (one reception desk on each side of the hotel) tried to make me keep going across to the other reception desk because she couldn't be bothered to call them to get answers to my (simple) questions - such as finding a phone number for the (elusive) Thomson rep or even the airport. "Do you have phone number for the airport?", "No","Can you find it for me please?", "No. You go to other reception", "Can you call the other reception and ask them for me?", "No. You go to the other reception". Meanwhile, I have all my baggage around me. I didn't really feel like going all the way to the other reception. It was also 7.30 in the morning and the flight home had been cancelled again. Did she have anything to actually do instead? No, she was just sitting there sending text messages. When I insisted again and again, she finally made the phone call after sighing loudly - and was able to give me 2 phone numbers within minutes (with bad grace). She goes down as the worst hotel receptionist I have ever encountered. And then the cleaner started to complain that she couldn't mop the floor because my bags were in the way. This is one example of several incidents. The other Brits who had been there for 4 days had given up even trying to get help from them.

Reception staff also insisted on displaying out of date flight information on the walls, even after we told them it was incorrect and misleading. Staff did not speak English, but were no more helpful to people who spoke French or Arabic with them.

Noisy pool area, frequented by European adults on Thomas Cook, Thomson and other package holidays, jumping in the pool with cigarettes in hand and splashing everyone else (apparently hilarious). The pool area got sun for some of the day but would be small if the hotel were full. Public area toilets had no toilet paper all day.

We were kicked out of our room at 1 pm. The flight was at 2145. They needed to clean the rooms, although there were only about 10 rooms associated with the delayed travellers and the hotel had already told us they were not fully booked the next day.

The proudly displayed Award said it all - 1997. In a city with so many lovely places to stay, don't stay here. It is run for the convenience of the staff. The circumstances of the stay were not the best, but this is not the side of Marrakshi hospitality you want to pay money to experience. Truly, an awful hotel - even for free.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

This was a nice simple hotel and we had no problems. We enjoyed our stay and found it good value.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

great place for a stay. 20 min walk to the centre, good eaterys next door (kaza pizza's) best tagines and very cheap. Hotel was very clean, got put in a room with single beds when requested a double, no problem changing thou, bed was massive !, stayed in oudaya 2 , no problems with building works , breakfast plentiful if a bit plain . pool was freezing only managed to dip toes in !, would visit again, friendly barman for the evening,drinks very reasonably priced

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maisie1468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#442 of 508 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.1 mi away
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
#363 of 508 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agdal Hotel
Agdal Hotel
#425 of 508 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moroccan House Hotel
Moroccan House Hotel
#324 of 508 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ibis Marrakech Palmeraie
Ibis Marrakech Palmeraie
#298 of 508 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Holiday Hotel
Imperial Holiday Hotel
#485 of 508 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oudaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oudaya

Property: Hotel Oudaya
Address: 147 Rue Mohamed El Bakkal | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #402 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oudaya 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Oudaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing