We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and luxurious places to stay, with an excellent host and incredibly thoughtful staff”
Review of Jnane Tamsna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jnane Tamsna
Ranked #130 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed with Meryanne at Jnane Tamsna and it was one of the best hotel experiences for my boyfriend and I. We were looking for a quiet and relaxing weekend getaway and Jnane Tamsna was like a home away from home – peaceful, welcoming and indulgent. Arriving on our first night at a rather late hour, we were still warmly greeted by Meryanne herself and her beautiful Rhodesian Ridgeback, Diva. We ended up having most of our meals at the hotel itself as the food was delicious - it felt entirely home-cooked, fresh and hearty. There were a few guests around including a young family, and we ended up making friends with most of them. However, the hotel grounds were expansive and it did feel like there was no one there but us at the same time. There were plenty of places for you to lounge around and fall asleep in the sun or read a book.

The hotel staff were so accommodating and warm, and were excellent in arranging a host of activities for the guests, including an awesome camel ride around the land surrounding the hotel. I remember relaxing on one of the sun beds on the hotel roof and deciding to return to my room quickly to grab a book. When I had returned to the sun bed after 5 minutes of being away, one of the staff had discreetly placed some additional pillows on the sunbed for me. Another incredibly thoughtful gesture of their hospitality and generosity was when they offered to let us stay in our hotel room until it was time for us to leave for the airport for our return flight back to London, which was late in the evening.

The rooms did not have any locks on them but don't let this deter you - the hotel is so safe, staff are watchful and they also provide in-room security safes for your valuables. If anything, it added to the familiar and homely atmosphere of the hotel.

I’m not one to return to places I’ve stayed before, but I would return to Jnane Tamsna in a heartbeat to stay again with Meryanne and her lovely staff. We loved every minute of our time there.It was a luxurious hotel but more importantly, full of heart.

Mei and Paul, May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mtan7526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

We were recommended Jnane Tamsna but two separate friends and it ticked all the boxes. Meryanne is a very talented designer and has created a very special place allowing total privacy and peace but with the facilities of a hotel. We felt immediately at home. The gardens were beautiful and it was a joy to know that so much of what we ate was grown on site. It is the perfect antidote to the freneticness of Marrakech. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Meryanne Loupmartin and her amazing team I believe make the Tamsna the most delightful of places to stay in the Palmeraie. I've been several times, and my sister had a milestone birthday party here over a long weekend for 60 guests. The house organised a fabulous candlelit dinner by the pool with wines, champagnes and entertainment, and the next day a wonderful brunch under the trees. They organise trips to the Atlas mountains, overnight camping with the Berbers in the Sahara, mule rides up to the Toubkal and both camel and horse-riding in the Palmeraie. Marrakech is known as a party town, and the Tamsna is ideal for parties, family reunions, special events, and just for people that want to be able to visit Marrakech and the surroundings while staying in the peaceful, fragrant gardens of the Tamsna. Couldn't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinaiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed in the medina for a few days before going to Jnane Tamsna in the Palmeraire. It is a decadent and lovely place. Meryanne and Gary are present and very warm hosts, the food is wonderful and the rooms gorgeous. We loved our stay and its a nice break from the hustle and bustle of the Medina. We had no trouble going into the Medina for some shopping, although the cars they use charge much more than if you haggled the price yourself (this is the only negative I have about the place). They also booked some glorious hammam treatments for us. We would happily and often go back! Great for families and couples.

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous and personally designed by Meryanne, who has exquisite taste. Ours had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontrealLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Just 10 minutes from the bustle of the city, in Marrakech's Palmeraie, Jnane Tamsna offers the shade of it's palmtrees. Wonderful lush gardens, teracces. You feel emerged in the 'green'.
The interiors, a mix of african and mediteranian country blend, are of Meryanne elegant touch. Blissful cusine, fresh organic vegetables from the gardens, selected wines....I always leave from Jnane Tamsna with a peaceful mind and with an highly increased energy level. The owners Meryanne and Gary have truly created a marvellous hideaway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IST-YwP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Beautiful, peaceful hotel with great service. Will definitely be returning soon! Such lovely gardens, there are 4 or 5 swimming pools and often you end up having one all to yourself. Everything is made easy for you - transportation, food, sleep, room service etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

What an amazing place! Serene walled garden, 5 swimming pools, organic vegetables & fruit, superb loyal staff-Ibrahim and Samia to name just a few-nothing is too much trouble and everything is relaxed and laid back. Meryanne and Gary have created something very special indeed. There was even a Nightingale singing at 2am just outside our room-how amazing is that! We had a lovely meal after we arrived in the evening, the garden lighting creates a wonderfully different landscape, prepare to be relaxed and chill chill chill! There is a Maroc Global Music fest on 25 May-wish I could attend. Will def be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#46 of 502 in Marrakech
759 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dar Zemora
Dar Zemora
#81 of 502 in Marrakech
303 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#15 of 502 in Marrakech
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#45 of 502 in Marrakech
444 reviews
3.4 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#82 of 502 in Marrakech
410 reviews
3.9 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#51 of 502 in Marrakech
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jnane Tamsna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Tamsna

Address: Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40070, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £153 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jnane Tamsna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest creation of Meryanne Loum-Martin, Jnane Tamsna comprises three houses - Jnane House, Moussafir House and Dar Ylane - with a total of 17 bedrooms within a walled garden. The property is located in a protected palm grove with spectacular views. The houses blend traditional interior courtyard architecture with the space, light and vegetation typical of the Palmeraie. Jnane Tamsa offers a romantic way to discover Marrakech and understand why it has become a legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Jnane Tamsna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Tamsna Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing