We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Jnane Temsna”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jnane Tamsna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jnane Tamsna
Ranked #182 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Jnane Temsna”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

In March 2014 we visited Marrakech and Jnane Temsna and we immediately fell in love with this gorgeous place. Being three women in our 40s travelling together for the first time we couldn't have picked a better place for strolling in the garden, relaxing by one of the pools, having delicious lunches under the trees and lots of laughs in the salon in front of the fireplace. If you're into the 'hippie' boheme atmosphere and a casual but sincere staff who would do anything to make your stay as pleasant as possible you need to visit Meryanne and Garys hideaway.
We would love to go back - anytime!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayAdler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    16
    17
    14
    12
See reviews for
84
83
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a lovely stay here, I would always come back. The owners are such a pleasure too. We always felt like we were very well looked after. Food is fresh and delicious, highly recommended. If you're after a relaxing place in the Palmerie, this is it

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I returned for the third year running with my family at half term. This place is our slice of heaven - if you are looking for total peace, incredible food, beautiful rooms and wonderful, kind staff then you will not be disappointed. If you want mini bars and kids clubs this place is not for you! We are always impressed at the most delicious food and the attentive whilst not obtrusive staff.When my 7 year old son was recently asked to describe his relaxation place, he immediately said 'jnane Tamsna' We can't wait for our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hattiedunlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We loved this trip to Marrakech and especially to Jnane Tamsna, because we were treated as home. The food was good and I enjoyed the delicious Moroccan Roseé with it, which is highly advisable.

Jnane Tamsna ("garden" in arabic) has a great North African garden, which is approx. 12 acres big. In it you will find the guest houses with five swimming pools. Jnane Tamsna is only 15 minutes away from the Medina and approximately 20 minutes from the airport. In one word: We enjoyed the country's and especially this house's hospitality and will definately return.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are mostly bigger, but also cost a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCT0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaptal9, Owner at Jnane Tamsna, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We are very happy that you liked your stay with us.. and that you took the time to express it in such kind words. We very much look forward to seeing you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Norwegian text under the English
Jnane Tamsa was a disappointment , the only thing I can say something positive about is the dog they have and the owners are also nice to talk to. An impressive garden with lots of beautiful plants , flowers and shrubs is also worth mentioning as a good thing, the rest is python . Stay far away.

Rooms
Expensive, dirty and lacking essential things. You should expect more of a room for 250 pounds .- per night compared to other hotels in the world to such sums are far more well-equipped and comfortable. I came to a room that lacked pillow , water and soap in the bathroom as well as toiletpaper!

Service .
The service is non existent! When you sit in the main area or by the fireplace or in any part of the hotel where you wuld expect attention, there is absolutely none!. Noone of the many employees will come and ask if you need anything. It is quite astonishing to wait over a hour, with staff that treats you like air and not wanting to check if you are all right .

When you ask for something it takes ages before it is served. Basic knowledge among employees is lacking as well. The only thing they manage to mix as a Gin Tonic, otherwise they have absolutely no knowledge of being able to make cocktails or other drinks something one would expect in a hotel that charge more than Ritz in London, or the Grand Hotel Stockholm two excelent hotels.

The absolute worst thing is that the staff is rude , unresponsive and becomes obnoxious when you point out that you would like something to drink, or points out that the taxi you ordered 45 minutes ago has not come yet , (because they forgot to order it) or when you wonder where the toiletpaper in the room is .

Breakfast
Breakfast is sad , the only bright spot is the fruit salad , the rest I can not bear even spending time writing about!

Food .
Food is not a highlight either.

Location
This place so remote form the city but of you would like to stay remote it is a good choice.

I would discourage any person to book this place as it is now , the price is not compared to what you actually get. There is a huge discrepancy between what you are envisaged and what you get. For the price they ask is this almost a fraud. This place has the qualities of a good B & B and the price should be 1/3 of what you pay today.

In defence of the place, it has enormous potential, and could easily become one of the best resorts in the Tatler list, but first they have to get the things which does not work properly going, and live up to the hype they have created.

Jnane Tamsa ble en stor skuffelse, det eneste jeg kan si noe positivt om er hunden de har og eierne som er veldig vellmenende og hyggelige, og en imponerende hage med mye flotte planter, blomster og busker, resten er pyton. Hold dere langt unna.

Rommene
Dyre, skitne, og mangler helt nødvendige ting. Et rom til 2500.- per natt sammenlignet med andre hoteller i verden som tar slike summer er langt mer velutrustet og komfortable. Jeg kom til et rom som manglet hodepute, vann på rommet og såpe på badet.

Service.
Servicen er ikke eksisterende! Når du sitter i hovedområdet, eller ved peisen er det absolutt ingen av de mange ansatte som kommer bort og spør om du trenger noe. Det er ganske spesiellt å sitte i over en time, med ansatte som behandler deg som luft og som ikke ønsker å servere deg. Når du ber om noe så tar det evigheter før det blir servert. I tileg tild ette så er kunnskapen hos de ansatte mangelfull. Det eneste de klarer å blande er en Gin Tonic, ellers har de over hodet ingen kunnskap om å kunne lage cocktails eller andre drinker noe man forventer på et hotell som tar seg bedre betalt en Ritz i London, eller Grand Hotell Stockholm.

Det absolutt værste er at betjeningen er frekk, svarer og blir motbydelige når du påpeker at du kunne tenke deg noe å drikke, eller påpeker at drosjen du bestilte for 45 minutter siden ikke har kommet, (fordi de har glemt å bestille den) eller når du lurer på hvor hodeputene på rommet er.

Frokost
Frokosten er stusselig, det eneste lyspunktet er fruktsalaten, resten orker jeg ikke engang å bruke tid på å skrive om!

Mat.
Maten er ikke noe høydepunkt heller.

Beliggenhet
Dette stedet er usentralt og ligger så utilgjengelig at det er betimelig å advare mot å bestille her.

Jeg vil fraråde enhver person å bestille dette stedet, prisen står seg ikke sammenlignet med hva du faktisk får. Det er et enormt avvik mellom det du blir forespeilt og det du får. For den prisen de forlanger er dette på grensen til svindel. Dette stedet har kvalitetene til et bra B&B og prisen burde derfor være 1/3 av det som i dag du betaler.

Til forsvar, stedet har enormt potensiale og kan på sikt hevde seg blandt verdens beste steder om de rydder opp i tøvet som foregår, det er dog et langt stykke igjen.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RovingNorwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Our family (parents and tween/teen daughters, from the US) had a wonderful, relaxing, healthful time at Jnane Tamsna. An amazing, beautiful place to unwind. We recommend it highly to families or couples.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screenname96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have been visiting Jnane Tamsna and it is always such a pleasure to return. It really feels like our home from home in Marrakech. Relaxed atmosphere, verdant gardens, delicious food, much of it grown in the organic gardens or on the owners' nearby farm. We have been alone and with our children, plus we held our unforgettable wedding there - what a party! In summer, spring, winter and autumn, it is always a relaxing time we spend there. Last week there was a lot of rain, which gave us a perfect excuse to curl up by the fire in our room or in the salon, and read and play backgammon. It was heavenly!

Room Tip: Each room is unique and all have their charms. In winter I recommend the ones with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bababouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.4 mi away
Ksar Char-Bagh
Ksar Char-Bagh
#110 of 494 in Marrakech
196 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dar Zemora
Dar Zemora
#68 of 494 in Marrakech
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#49 of 494 in Marrakech
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#14 of 494 in Marrakech
912 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#89 of 494 in Marrakech
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa des Trois Golfs
Villa des Trois Golfs
#335 of 494 in Marrakech
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jnane Tamsna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Tamsna

Property: Jnane Tamsna
Address: Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40070, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jnane Tamsna 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest creation of Meryanne Loum-Martin, Jnane Tamsna comprises three houses - Jnane House, Moussafir House and Dar Ylane - with a total of 17 bedrooms within a walled garden. The property is located in a protected palm grove with spectacular views. The houses blend traditional interior courtyard architecture with the space, light and vegetation typical of the Palmeraie. Jnane Tamsa offers a romantic way to discover Marrakech and understand why it has become a legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Jnane Tamsna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Tamsna Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing