We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and comfort foremost”
Review of Jnane Tamsna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jnane Tamsna
Ranked #133 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in Jnane Tamsna for 5 days following a brief 2 day stay in a Riyad in central Marrakech on the edge of the Souks (market) area. The contrast could not have been greater - the hustle and bustle and continuous motor bike traffic of the town were replaced with a quiet, serene, almost utopian area to relax in. We benefitted from having our own on-site villa with a pool with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks provided by the hosts whenever needed - what more could you want!

The breakfast, lunch and, if you wanted it, dinner were served outside in the courtyard area. The food was exceptional taste wise and of reasonable cost. The Moroccan wine I highly recommend. The service provided by the friendly waiters and the knowledgeable hotel staff could not be faulted.

We decided to eat at a couple of restaurants (La Fondouk & Pepperoni) in the city area on 4 of our nights and were not disappointed, great food. The only issue you have is negotiating the short distance from where the taxis drop you off to the restaurant down dimly lit, smelly alley ways with a variety of locals offering to show you the way for a few Direhm. Best to always keep small loose change with you just in case you get lost.

Back to the hotel which, although attractive with its surrounding gardens and typical Moroccan style architecture and layout was far removed from modern western hotels, which probably would offer more comforts, especially in dealing with the 40c+ temperature. Our villa was similar and though comfortable and clean it contained old fashioned furniture and fairly basic bathroom facilities.

Overall a nice place to escape to with excellent Moroccan hospitality, but maybe not so for those who expect the ultimate western style hotel environment. For instance there was not one TV to be found (and the World cup had just started) and no fitness centre - so just sit back in the beautiful sunshine and pour some more of the excellent Moroccan wine!

Room Tip: For the full escape take one of the villa rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Wonderful food. Friendly staff. Very relaxing. Could not have asked for more! Just outside of the city but with more expanse than your average Rhiad. It was like staying in someone's house with a beautiful menu, perfect swimming pools and a very friendly team. Go!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joshua D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel was probably very nice 15 years ago. New pools have been recently added and garden is very nice, but rooms are quite disappointing, also considering the price. Smelling bathrooms are not clean, showers coinciding with toilets in tiny dumpy rooms, and rooms generaly oldish and dusty. A feeling of a glory from the past with potentiality... Staff is nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rollebeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at Jnane Tamsna for 6 nights in May. We booked this holiday at short notice; in need of sun and relaxation, but also to take a break from our crazy work schedule in London. This wonderful place offers a real escape from the typical routine of conventional holiday destinations. Described as 'home away from home' it offers much more then a commercial hotel and that's why their service style may not be to everyone's satisfaction. You are left alone to make your own choices, but if needed, the assistance is there to offer more tailored program.
The meal times are very flexible so you are never under any pressure. The food itself is very healthy, so after few days you really get into some good eating habits.
We loved it so much that we are planning to go back for an extended weekends throughout the year with a next trip as early as next week!
Outstanding place (without any stuffiness) and the peaceful oasis make for a real special combination.
Without doubt one of my favourite holiday destinations!
Meryanne Loum-Martin has to be the best host in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IlonaPacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We just spent a week at Jnane Tamsna and were very disappointed with the service, attitude and inefficiency of the staff and facilities. We have 3 young children and were left to our own devices on arrival, after a 12 hour trip, while our temporary room was being set up (unbeknown to us) - we were never shown around Jnane Tamsna. A newly wed couple were then put between us and another family...very thoughtless. The complimentary laundry service was terrible...clothes were damaged, went missing and were returned wet. The room cleaners only replaced soap and towels when asked and we had to do without floor mats...a 'drain' was exposed in the wall which had an awful odor (apparently the reason we could not stay in the room on the first night). The breakfast presentation and offering never varied for the entire week - all it requires is a little effort...they even ran out of teaspoons. We ate out in town most days after very disappointing meals and realizing they are not very kid friendly or flexible with meals or times. Room service is basically non existent too. We had requested activities prior to traveling and had to follow up on these on arrival and plan most of our own outings and activities...we received different rates and the general attitude of the management was one of superiority. My suggestion is they need to go back to basics. Overall a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Jnane Tamsna for 5 nights in April. We were thoroughly impressed.

What makes this place unique is the wonderful, personal service offered by the lovely Samira and GiGi who were exemplary in ensuring we had everything we needed and their sincerity made us feel that we were staying somewhere special. A home away from home, is how Jnane is marketed and they come pretty close to achieving that.

The property offers a real escape from the madness of the medina. We particularly enjoyed breakfast in the garden listening to nothing but the sound of birds and watching the kids search for wild tortoises in the gardens. The croissants were excellent, by the way.

It is not quite perfect: service at mealtimes is often too slow and some requests fall by the wayside, but actually, this was never a real problem.

The main negative is the expense of taxis from the Palmeraie- it really adds up and this was our biggest expense during our stay. Eur30 for a 10min journey to and from a restaurant in the Palmeraie is not insignificant over the duration of 6 days.

I strongly recommend a visit, if not a night's stay at the breathtakingly beautiful Kasbah Bab Ourika in the Atlas Mountains, an hour's drive from the Medina. The stupendous view of the snow capped mountains had me lost for words...

We felt truly refreshed when I returned from Jnane Tamsna and we took home some perfect memories. We travel extensively and rarely return to the same place twice, but I would return to Jnane without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

It's an oasis. (Period)
We had one of the large rooms next to the second swimming pool, and everything was perfect. The gardens provided shade, the pool was in front of the room (ideal with kids) and the main house was a 1 min walk for breakfast or dinner. The only drawback: it's such a relaxing environment that you end up staying in much more than you'll have planned... And with €35 pp and €15 per kid for dinner plus lunch the costs are likely to be high. Taking that into cinsideration... A place in heaven can never be too expensive ;-)

Room Tip: The large room is big enough to add two beds for 2 kids. Ask for the large room next to the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.4 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#130 of 500 in Marrakech
142 reviews
3.7 mi away
Riad Fleur d'Orient
Riad Fleur d'Orient
#110 of 500 in Marrakech
145 reviews
1 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#100 of 500 in Marrakech
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#45 of 500 in Marrakech
767 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ryad Dyor
Ryad Dyor
#66 of 500 in Marrakech
303 reviews
3.9 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 500 in Marrakech
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jnane Tamsna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Tamsna

Address: Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40070, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £128 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jnane Tamsna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest creation of Meryanne Loum-Martin, Jnane Tamsna comprises three houses - Jnane House, Moussafir House and Dar Ylane - with a total of 17 bedrooms within a walled garden. The property is located in a protected palm grove with spectacular views. The houses blend traditional interior courtyard architecture with the space, light and vegetation typical of the Palmeraie. Jnane Tamsa offers a romantic way to discover Marrakech and understand why it has become a legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Jnane Tamsna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Tamsna Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing