We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Here one is treated to the rare fruits of the desert”
Review of Jnane Tamsna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jnane Tamsna
Ranked #159 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
1 review
“Here one is treated to the rare fruits of the desert”
Reviewed 12 September 2010

The combination of rural tranquility, Zen-like aesthetics and ecological initiatives makes for an almost utopian scenario.” Time out Guide, ‘‘Mrs. Loum-Martin was the first one to create a new type of tourism….she has contributed enormously to the style of Marrakech’’, The Wall Street Journal, ‘‘Meryanne Loum-Martin undoubtedly has the Midas touch. A-list celebrities flock to Jnane Tamsna like moths to a flame. It’s grand yet low-key, uber-stylish yet down-to-earth, and tranquil without ever being boring. How does she do it?’’ , Paula Hardy, Lonely Planet.....and I just can confirm all that saying. I have stayed in Jnane Tamsna several times, for business or for Yoga holidays and pure pleasure. Meryannne offers a lifestyle of serenity and well-being in the Palmeraie. Jnane Tamsna gives guests an atmosphere of being at home while providing the comfort and services of a luxury resort. The wide range of facilities and services as well as wonderful landscaped gardens, the fantastic cuisine and private chill-out corners make this ideal for indulgence. Here one is treated to the rare fruits of the desert.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inesstephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    16
    17
    14
    12
See reviews for
85
86
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SFO/LHR/ARL/CDG/RBA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We attended a friend's wedding at Jnane Tamsna in early May. The location is nothing short of gorgeous. The working gardens are a refreshing and environmentally conscious alternative to the golf courses, manicured lawns and inappopriate plants often found in luxury resorts in hot dry climates. Jnane Tamsna proves that you can achieve luxury and ecology at the same time!

While we did not stay the night, we did use a room to put our baby to sleep and were very, very impressed with the design, atmosphere, scale and peaceful feeling of the rooms and the public spaces. The staff were very helpful and friendly, accomodating our specific needs. As for the owner Meryanne, she is pure class. A welcoming and friendly hostess, and an inspiring woman of the world.

The wedding itself was largely organised by Jnane Tamsna, and was spectacular. It included a lovely small ceremony followed by traditional Moroccan drumming and dancing led by some local performers, a dinner fit for royalty and dancing under the stars until early the next morning. Despite the very, very late hour, Meryanne and her staff were available and helpful the whole time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K-F78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

I didn't actually stay at Jnan Tamsna, but my friends had a wedding and reception there. While it's a way outside of the medina (and don't get scared when the cab driver appears to be taking you to the middle of nowhere...) once we got there it was this beautiful oasis and the perfect place for a wedding!

The actual service was wonderful, appetizer / drink service was amazing. We walked to the reception area - and it was breathtaking. The food was absolutely amazing and I asked for seconds. The whole group partied the night away and it was such an amazing experience. If you're looking at a place in the Marrakech area for a wedding, this is definitely the place.

The staff also has a good relationship with the cab drivers and helped us negotiate a fair rate back to the medina!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeynieLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2010

I have stayed at Jnane Tamsna many times, on my own and with my children.
Waking up to bird song and a warm gentle breeze blowing through my curtains is, for me, total bliss.
The hotel is wonderfully stylish and Meryanne and her staff, are as kind, thoughtful and hospitable as could be.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fan088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

What a gorgeous place this is, absolutely stunning and beautiful! Gorgeous and very peaceful grounds.
The owner Meryanne was an amazing host. They made what was already a fabulous occasion very, very special. Fantastic!

Stayed May 2010
Helpful?
Thank Coffeehigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Jnane Tamsna is like no other place in Morocco. It has spectacular grounds that feel luxurious without feeling over-manicured. The houses are spaced far apart, so you feel like you have the gardens to yourself. The staff is spectacular: well-trained, polite, well-informed, and always ready to make the extra effort. The food is amazing, all from home-grown veggies! And the owner, Meryanne, is the ideal person for any event you wish to have in Morocco. We had our wedding in Jnane Tamsna in May of this year and left everything to Meryanne. The result was a perfectly organized event, tailored to all of our wishes, a flexible staff to help us with last minute changes, stunning flower arrangements, excellent food, and a feeling that we were constantly being taken care of. We could not recommend a place more highly.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamday007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

My overall impression of Jnane Tamsna is disappointment. I travelled with my family to Marrakesh for a wedding at Jnane Tamsna, eager to celebrate and meet up with others arriving from around the world. The quiet oasis on its website, is difficult to find with even taxi drivers having to repeatedly ask directions. Although the website directs you to the The Palmerie, Marrakesh, this is not accurate. Rather it is in the countryside without ready access to return transport.
Most disturbing was my interaction with the owner, Meryanne. Her defensive response to my enquiry on how to return to Marrakesh late at night was hurtful. She was unaccommodating and in my view, deceitful. In the end, she took no responsibility, instead passed it off to her employee who "handled it" with an overpriced taxi ride that appeared from nowhere after much deliberation. This is not the customer service you would expect from an establishment with starting prices of 250 euros per night.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reggie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.4 mi away
Ksar Char-Bagh
Ksar Char-Bagh
#109 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dar Zemora
Dar Zemora
#59 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#49 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#17 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa des Trois Golfs
Villa des Trois Golfs
#314 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#81 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jnane Tamsna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Tamsna

Property: Jnane Tamsna
Address: Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40070, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jnane Tamsna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest creation of Meryanne Loum-Martin, Jnane Tamsna comprises three houses - Jnane House, Moussafir House and Dar Ylane - with a total of 17 bedrooms within a walled garden. The property is located in a protected palm grove with spectacular views. The houses blend traditional interior courtyard architecture with the space, light and vegetation typical of the Palmeraie. Jnane Tamsa offers a romantic way to discover Marrakech and understand why it has become a legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Jnane Tamsna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Tamsna Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing